Biography & Autobiography

A Mother's Choice

Author: Elle Halliwell

Publisher: Allen & Unwin

ISBN:

Category: Biography & Autobiography

Page: 256

View: 574

In May 2016 Elle Halliwell, the young, dynamic and hugely popular Daily Telegraph Fashion and Entertainment Reporter, was diagnosed with leukaemia. A few days later, just as she was telling friends and family about the grim diagnosis, she found out she was four weeks pregnant. She was faced with an impossible choice: either terminate her unborn baby and begin the treatment that gave her the best chance of survival, or continue with the pregnancy and delay effective intervention for her cancer, a course that could lead to her death. Elle chose her baby over herself, a mother's choice. Her memoir details her illness, her pregnancy, and against all the odds, the ultimate triumph of giving birth to her son in December 2016. Now on the road to recovery, and the mother of a beautiful boy, Elle has discovered a new passion for nutrition and healthy living. Her journey, hard and painful though it was, has made her more determined than ever to live well and enjoy life to the full for the sake of her family. A Mother's Choice is compelling, moving and inspiring.
Fiction

A Mother's Choice

Author: Val Wood

Publisher: Random House

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 480

View: 556

For ten years, Delia has had to fend for herself and her son Jack, and as a young unmarried mother, life has never been easy. Every new coat and pair of shoes was bought with what little money she could scrape together as a singer on the stage. But when the theatre work dries up, Delia faces a dilemma: continue the search for employment with no knowing whether she’ll find the stability and security her son needs, or return to the place that should be home . . . where only spite and hatred await them. Desperate now, a chance encounter suddenly presents a lifeline. But Delia is faced with an impossible, heart-wrenching choice. Can she bear to leave Jack behind, hoping another family will care for him? Will they ever be reunited? What else can a mother do to give her son the life he deserves? Val Wood's wonderful historical sagas are perfect for readers of Dilly Court, Maggie Hope and Rosie Goodwin.
Child development

A Mother's Choice

Author: Paul D. Meier

Publisher: Baker Publishing Group

ISBN:

Category: Child development

Page: 160

View: 360

Fiction

A Mother's Choice

Author: Kristin Noel Fischer

Publisher: Kristin Noel Fischer

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page:

View: 939

A Mother’s Choice: A Novel
Social Science

A Mother's Choice

Author: Barbara Ensor Cook

Publisher: Betterway Books

ISBN:

Category: Social Science

Page: 190

View: 609

Biography & Autobiography

The Color of Love

Author: Gene Cheek

Publisher: Lyons Press

ISBN:

Category: Biography & Autobiography

Page: 258

View: 664

The true story of a young man whose life and family were torn apart by a decision no mother should have to make.
Social Science

Motherhood and Choice

Author: Amrita Nandy

Publisher: Zubaan

ISBN:

Category: Social Science

Page: 395

View: 395

How can women live fully? If autonomy is critical for humans, why do women have little or no choice vis-à-vis motherhood? Do women know they have a choice, if they do? How 'free' are these choices in a context where the self is socially mired and deeply enmeshed into the familial? What are implications of motherhood on how human relatedness and belonging are defined? These questions underlie Amrita Nandy's remarkable research on motherhood as an institution, one that conflates 'woman' with 'mother' and 'personal' with 'political'. As the bedrock of human survival and an unchallenged norm of 'normal' female lives, motherhood expects and even compels women to be mothers—symbolic and corporeal. Even though the ideology of pronatalism and motherhood reinforce reproductive technology and vice versa, the care work of mothering suffers political neglect and economic devaluation. However, motherhood (and non-motherhood) is not just physiological. As the pivot to a web of heteronormative institutions (such as marriage and the family), motherhood bears an overwhelming and decisive influence on women's lives. Against the weight of traditional and contemporary histories, socio-political discourse and policies, this study explores how women, as embodiments of multiple identities, could live stigma-free, 'authentic' lives without having to abandon reproductive 'self'-determination. Published by Zubaan.
Medical

Cambridge Handbook of Psychology, Health and Medicine

Author: Andrew Baum

Publisher: Cambridge University Press

ISBN:

Category: Medical

Page: 660

View: 236

Health psychology is a rapidly expanding discipline combining psychology and clinical medicine. This important text collates international and interdisciplinary expertise to form a unique encyclopedic handbook to this field that will be valuable to medical practitioners as well as psychologists. To facilitate easy reference, the handbook's chapters are alphabetically organized with extensive crossreferencing. The first of three sections introduces the nonspecialist reader to broad areas of psychology relevant to the practice of medicine. The second and third sections examine behavioral factors in relation to practice by citing specific medical conditions. This book will prove to be an invaluable resource to all those with an interest in the psychological aspects of health care.