Atlantic Ocean

Atlantic

Author: Simon Winchester

Publisher: HarperCollins UK

ISBN:

Category: Atlantic Ocean

Page: 498

View: 636

This book is enhanced with content such as audio or video, resulting in a large file that may take longer to download than expected. The enhanced e-book contains:15 videos with the author throughout the enhanced e-book, taking readers into his home and where he writes as he describes his travels around the Atlantic *A Personal Photo Album of Simon's travels not included in the print book or e-book *A Video Glossary with definitions of over 60 words*31 Footnotes unique to the enhanced e-book *8 Inserts throughout the book found only in the enhanced version, including the history of Vikings, the evolution of humans, and more.
History

Atlantic LP

Author: Simon Winchester

Publisher: Harper Collins

ISBN:

Category: History

Page: 696

View: 511

Atlantic is a biography of a tremendous space that has been central to the ambitions of explorers, scientists, and warriors, and continues to affect our character, attitudes, and dreams. Poets to potentates, seers to sailors, fishermen to foresters—all have a relationship with this great body of gray and heaving sea. Winchester chronicles that relationship, making the Atlantic come vividly alive. More than a mere history, Atlantic is an unforgettable journey of unprecedented scope by one of the most gifted writers in the English language.
Sports & Recreation

The Atlantic Crossing Guide 7th edition

Author: Jane Russell

Publisher: Bloomsbury Publishing

ISBN:

Category: Sports & Recreation

Page: 288

View: 320

'I cannot imagine setting sail without it' SAIL 'A must for all aspiring ocean crossers' Yachting World We call it 'The Pond', yet the Atlantic Ocean covers one fifth of the surface of our planet and one third of its surface area of water. It is still a mighty big pond to cross! Realising the dream of an Atlantic crossing remains a challenge but the rewards are many and lifelong. The Atlantic Crossing Guide is well established as the standard reference for anyone planning an Atlantic voyage, whether via the trade wind route to the Caribbean or to Europe from the United States. The better prepared you are the greater your chances of success. Packed full of the collective wisdom of cruising sailors over four decades, this new edition has been updated to include advice on: PREPARATIONS · suitable boats, including considerations of hull integrity · equipment and maintenance · advances in navigation and communications systems · access to weather and routeing information · the balance of power input and usage · planning for hurricane season · risk management · crew harmony and health · provisioning PASSAGE PLANNING · Atlantic weather systems, including tropical waves and hurricanes · common routes and timings across the Atlantic · seasonal cruising along bordering coasts and within Atlantic island groups · fog and ice in the higher latitudes · key landfalls 'A fantastic amount of information' Yachting Monthly
Reference

The Arvon Book of Literary Non-Fiction

Author: Sally Cline

Publisher: A&C Black

ISBN:

Category: Reference

Page: 288

View: 532

The Arvon Book of Literary Non-Fiction is an essential guide to writing in a wide range of genres, from travel writing to feminist polemic and writing on nature, history, death, friendship and sexuality. Part 1 explores the full range of genres and asks the question: what is literary non-fiction? Part 2 includes tips by such bestselling literary non-fiction writers as: Lisa Appignanesi, Rosemary Bailey, Gillian Beer, Bidisha, Lizzie Collingham, William Dalrymple, Stevie Davies, Colin Grant, Rahila Gupta, Philip Hoare, Siri Hustvedt, Alice Kessler-Harris, Barry Lopez, Richard Mabey, Robert Macfarlane, Sara Maitland, Neil McKenna, Caroline Moorehead, Susie Orbach, Jennifer Potter, Susan Sellers, Dava Sobel, Diana Souhami, Dale Spender, Francis Spufford, Daniel Swift, Colin Thubron, Natasha Walter, Sara Wheeler and Simon Winchester. Part 3 offers practical advice - from planning and researching to writing a proposal and finding an agent or a publisher when your work is complete.
History

Red Atlantic

Author: Jace Weaver

Publisher: UNC Press Books

ISBN:

Category: History

Page: 360

View: 769

Red Atlantic: American Indigenes and the Making of the Modern World, 1000-1927
Nature

The Billfish Story

Author: Stan Ulanski

Publisher: University of Georgia Press

ISBN:

Category: Nature

Page: 196

View: 923

"A Wormsloe Foundation nature book"--Page 4 of jacket.
History

Atlantic (Enhanced Edition)

Author: Simon Winchester

Publisher: Harper Collins

ISBN:

Category: History

Page: 528

View: 407

"Variably genial, cautionary, lyrical, admonitory, terrifying, horrifying and inspiring…A lifetime of thought, travel, reading, imagination and memory inform this affecting account." —Kirkus Reviews (starred review) Blending history and anecdote, geography and reminiscence, science and exposition, New York Times bestselling author Simon Winchester tells the breathtaking saga of the Atlantic Ocean. A gifted storyteller and consummate historian, Winchester sets the great blue sea's epic narrative against the backdrop of mankind's intellectual evolution, telling not only the story of an ocean, but the story of civilization. Fans of Winchester's Krakatoa, The Man Who Loved China, and The Professor and the Madman will love this masterful, penetrating, and resonant tale of humanity finding its way across the ocean of history.
History

The Meaning of Everything

Author: Simon Winchester OBE

Publisher: OUP Oxford

ISBN:

Category: History

Page: 288

View: 235

'The greatest enterprise of its kind in history,' was the verdict of British prime minister Stanley Baldwin in June 1928 when The Oxford English Dictionary was finally published. With its 15,490 pages and nearly two million quotations, it was indeed a monumental achievement, gleaned from the efforts of hundreds of ordinary and extraordinary people who made it their mission to catalogue the English language in its entirety. In The Meaning of Everything, Simon Winchester celebrates this remarkable feat, and the fascinating characters who played such a vital part in its execution, from the colourful Frederick Furnivall, cheerful promoter of an all-female sculling crew, to James Murray, self-educated son of a draper, who spent half a century guiding the project towards fruition. Along the way we learn which dictionary editor became the inspiration for Kenneth Grahame's Ratty in The Wind in the Willows, and why Tolkien found it so hard to define 'walrus'. Written by the bestselling author of The Surgeon of Crowthorne and The Map That Changed the World, The Meaning of Everything is an enthralling account of the creation of the world's greatest dictionary.
History

The Meaning of Everything

Author: Simon Winchester

Publisher: Oxford University Press

ISBN:

Category: History

Page: 298

View: 208

"The greatest enterprise of its kind in history," was the verdict of British prime minister Stanley Baldwin in June 1928 when The Oxford English Dictionary was finally published. With its 15,490 pages and nearly two million quotations, it was indeed a monumental achievement, gleaned from the efforts of hundreds of ordinary and extraordinary people who made it their mission to catalogue the English language in its entirety. In The Meaning of Everything, Simon Winchester celebrates this remarkable feat, and the fascinating characters who played such a vital part in its execution, from the colourful Frederick Furnivall, cheerful promoter of an all-female sculling crew, to James Murray, self-educated son of a draper, who spent half a century guiding the project towards fruition. Along the way we learn which dictionary editor became the inspiration for Kenneth Grahame's Ratty in The Wind in the Willows, and why Tolkien found it so hard to define "walrus." Written by the bestselling author of The Surgeon of Crowthorne and The Map That Changed the World, The Meaning of Everything is an enthralling account of the creation of the world's greatest dictionary.