Genealogy

Searching for Your Ancestors

The how and why of Genealogy

Author: Gilbert Harry Doane

Publisher: N.A

ISBN: N.A

Category: Genealogy

Page: 212

View: 2893

Genealogy.
History

FAMILY TREE BK

Author: William Alexander Smith,W. Thomas Smith

Publisher: Wentworth Press

ISBN: 9781362143604

Category: History

Page: 326

View: 4537

This work has been selected by scholars as being culturally important, and is part of the knowledge base of civilization as we know it. This work was reproduced from the original artifact, and remains as true to the original work as possible. Therefore, you will see the original copyright references, library stamps (as most of these works have been housed in our most important libraries around the world), and other notations in the work. This work is in the public domain in the United States of America, and possibly other nations. Within the United States, you may freely copy and distribute this work, as no entity (individual or corporate) has a copyright on the body of the work. As a reproduction of a historical artifact, this work may contain missing or blurred pages, poor pictures, errant marks, etc. Scholars believe, and we concur, that this work is important enough to be preserved, reproduced, and made generally available to the public. We appreciate your support of the preservation process, and thank you for being an important part of keeping this knowledge alive and relevant.

Sapiens

A Brief History of Humankind

Author: Yuval Noah Harari

Publisher: Signal

ISBN: 9780771038518

Category:

Page: 464

View: 9212

Destined to become a modern classic in the vein of Guns, Germs, and Steel, Sapiens is a lively, groundbreaking history of humankind told from a unique perspective. 100,000 years ago, at least six species of human inhabited the earth. Today there is just one. Us. Homo Sapiens. How did our species succeed in the battle for dominance? Why did our foraging ancestors come together to create cities and kingdoms? How did we come to believe in gods, nations, and human rights; to trust money, books, and laws; and to be enslaved by bureaucracy, timetables, and consumerism? And what will our world be like in the millennia to come? In Sapiens, Dr. Yuval Noah Harari spans the whole of human history, from the very first humans to walk the earth to the radical -- and sometimes devastating -- breakthroughs of the Cognitive, Agricultural, and Scientific Revolutions. Drawing on insights from biology, anthropology, palaeontology, and economics, he explores how the currents of history have shaped our human societies, the animals and plants around us, and even our personalities. Have we become happier as history has unfolded? Can we ever free our behaviour from the heritage of our ancestors? And what, if anything, can we do to influence the course of the centuries to come? Bold, wide-ranging and provocative, Sapiens challenges everything we thought we knew about being human: our thoughts, our actions, our power...and our future.
Economic history

The Economist

Author: N.A

Publisher: N.A

ISBN: N.A

Category: Economic history

Page: N.A

View: 8999

Library science

Buyer's Guide

1999-2000

Author: William White

Publisher: N.A

ISBN: N.A

Category: Library science

Page: N.A

View: 7979

Europe

European Nobility and Heraldry

A Comparative Study of the Titles of Nobility and Their Heraldic Exterior Ornaments for Each Country, with Historical Notes

Author: John Harvey Pinches

Publisher: N.A

ISBN: N.A

Category: Europe

Page: 323

View: 2780

History and description of heraldry, titles, terminology and rules of inheritance for the nobility of the countries of the United Kingdom, France, the Low Countries, Germany, Russia, Italy, Scandinavia, Austria, Moravia, Portugal, Spain, Switzerland, Poland, Hungary, Czechoslovakia. Includes ecclesiastical offices and emblems.
Business & Economics

Genetic non-discrimination

hearing before the Subcommittee on Health of the Committee on Ways and Means, U.S. House of Representatives, One Hundred Tenth Congress, first session, March 14, 2007

Author: United States. Congress. House. Committee on Ways and Means. Subcommittee on Health

Publisher: N.A

ISBN: N.A

Category: Business & Economics

Page: 86

View: 4294

True Crime

In My Father's House

A New View of How Crime Runs in the Family

Author: Fox Butterfield

Publisher: Knopf

ISBN: 0525521631

Category: True Crime

Page: 288

View: 6050

From the Pulitzer Prize-winning New York Times journalist: a pathbreaking examination of our huge crime and incarceration problem that looks at the influence of the family--specifically one Oregon family with a generations-long legacy of lawlessness. The United States currently holds the distinction of housing nearly one-quarter of the world's prison population. But our reliance on mass incarceration, Fox Butterfield argues, misses the intractable reality: As few as 5 percent of families account for half of all crime, and only 10 percent account for two-thirds. In introducing us to the Bogle family, the author invites us to understand crime in this eye-opening new light. He chronicles the malignant legacy of criminality passed from parents to children, grandchildren, and even great-grandchildren. Examining the long history of the Bogles, a white family, Butterfield offers a revelatory look at criminality that forces us to disentangle race from our ideas about crime and, in doing so, strikes at the heart of our deepest stereotypes. And he makes clear how these new insights are leading to fundamentally different efforts at reform. With his empathic insight and profound knowledge of criminology, Butterfield offers us both the indelible tale of one family's transgressions and tribulations, and an entirely new way to understand crime in America.
Law

Congressional Record

Proceedings and Debates of the ... Congress

Author: United States. Congress

Publisher: N.A

ISBN: N.A

Category: Law

Page: N.A

View: 1979

History

Genealogy for Beginners

Author: Karin Proudfoot,Arthur J. Willis

Publisher: N.A

ISBN: 9781860772689

Category: History

Page: 160

View: 3120

Ancestry-tracing is fun; it brings history to life and it gives a greater sense of personal identity. Our ancestors become real people; they may have been ordinary, blue-blooded or famous, but whatever they were the search itself is rewarding. Tracing a family history and gradually constructing one's own unique pedigree is an absorbing hobby, a never-ending detective investigation. This book tells the beginner exactly how to set about it: how to collect information from living relatives, how to make full use of all existing clues and traditions, how and where to find written records and what information they can be expected to provide as well as the likely problems that may be encountered and possible ways to solve them. Many books have been written for the would-be genealogist but none has ever equalled the success or popularity of Arthur Willis's Genealogy for Beginners. Since it was first published in 1955, this readable little guide has introduced far more ancesty-tracers to the subject than any other. Now it has been completely revised and re-written by Karin Proudfoot, so that it is once more the most up-to-date book on the subject and the best buy for the beginner of today.
Libraries

Library Journal

Author: N.A

Publisher: N.A

ISBN: N.A

Category: Libraries

Page: N.A

View: 5388

Includes, beginning Sept. 15, 1954 (and on the 15th of each month, Sept.-May) a special section: School library journal, ISSN 0000-0035, (called Junior libraries, 1954-May 1961). Also issued separately.
Reference

WRITING YOUR FAMILY HISTORY

A Practical Guide

Author: Deborah Cass

Publisher: Crowood

ISBN: 1847974422

Category: Reference

Page: 128

View: 3801

Ever wished to see your family history in print, or imagined future generations poring over old photographs and anecdotes in a book? Writing Your Family History helps family historians realize the full potential of the names, dates and facts that they have researched to compile a detailed family history that will be preserved for future generations. Topics covered include: Exploring sources for material; Gathering information; Recording family anecdotes; Making use of limited material; Using local and social history; Studying family dynamics; Planning your story; How to begin your story; Presenting and publishing your story.