Girl Interrupted: Comparison of Book and Movie

Author: Nadine Klemens

Publisher: GRIN Verlag

ISBN:

Category:

Page: 36

View: 589

Seminar paper from the year 2002 in the subject American Studies - Literature, grade: 1,3 (A), Technical University of Braunschweig (English Seminar), course: HS Film and Literature, 3 entries in the bibliography, language: English, abstract: "You spent nearly two years in a loony bin! Why in the world were you there? I can't believe it!' Translation: If you're crazy, then I'm crazy, and I'm not, so the whole thing must have been a mistake (125)." How do we know whether someone is insane or sane? Susanna Kaysen's account Girl, Interrupted is told to us through the eyes of a girl who is diagnosed with a borderline personality disorder- can we believe the things she is telling us, or are her memories distorted by her mental illness? The unreliability of the first-person-narrator is not only a question when dealing with the book, but it is also an interesting aspect to consider when taking a closer look at the cinematic version of Girl, Interrupted. In order to analyze how Kaysen's literary work was adapted, I will first shortly introduce the book and the movie. Then I will compare the two works with regard to narrative perspective, plot and time frame, characters, and cultural background.
Biography & Autobiography

Girl, Interrupted

Author: Susanna Kaysen

Publisher: Vintage

ISBN:

Category: Biography & Autobiography

Page: 192

View: 99

In 1967, after a session with a psychiatrist she'd never seen before, eighteen-year-old Susanna Kaysen was put in a taxi and sent to McLean Hospital. She spent most of the next two years in the ward for teenage girls in a psychiatric hospital as renowned for its famous clientele—Sylvia Plath, Robert Lowell, James Taylor, and Ray Charles—as for its progressive methods of treating those who could afford its sanctuary. Kaysen's memoir encompasses horror and razor-edged perception while providing vivid portraits of her fellow patients and their keepers. It is a brilliant evocation of a "parallel universe" set within the kaleidoscopically shifting landscape of the late sixties. Girl, Interrupted is a clear-sighted, unflinching document that gives lasting and specific dimension to our definitions of sane and insane, mental illness and recovery.
Biography & Autobiography

Gotham Girl Interrupted

Author: Alisa Kennedy Jones

Publisher: Charlesbridge Publishing

ISBN:

Category: Biography & Autobiography

Page: 224

View: 292

For readers of Nora Ephron, Tina Fey and Jenny Lawson, Gotham Girl Interrupted offers a hilarious, heartfelt, and fiercely candid memoir about life as a hapless writer, single parent, impassioned city girl, and epileptic. "Smart, harrowing, heart-warming, and very funny." --James Patterson Smart stand-up comedy about the power of falling down, Gotham Girl Interrupted is loaded with brash truths and laugh-out-loud moments about the epileptic age and culture in which we all live. It's also a dispatch from the frontlines of neurodiversity. Above all, it's about the battle for becoming who you are supposed to be and finding your tribe--no matter how much flopping around on the ground and wetting yourself you have to do to get there. With wit and humility, Alisa Kennedy Jones chronicles her experiences after a diagnosis of ecstatic epilepsy (also suffered by Dostoevsky, Van Gogh, Da Vinci and Agatha Christie). Beginning with the first in a series of terrifying yet beautiful grand mal seizures, which she likens to "swallowing a bolt of lightning," each seizure leaves her with what Zen Buddhists sometimes refer to as a "beginner's mind"--a vast, open expanse of headspace, coupled with a creative euphoria. It's a state that renders you less encumbered by everything you've already learned, but also challenged by having to relearn some of the more basic aspects of daily life.
Performing Arts

Girl, Interrupted

Author: James Mangold

Publisher:

ISBN:

Category: Performing Arts

Page: 167

View: 169

"Set in the changing world of the 1960s, the motion picture Girl Interrupted is the searing story of Susanna, a young woman who finds herself at a mental institution for troubled young women. Susanna's 'short rest', prescribed by a psychiatrist she had met just once, becomes a strange journey into Alice's Wonderland, as she spends nearly a year both struggling and flirting with the thin line between 'normal' and 'crazy'. Susanna soon realizes how hard it is to get out once she's been committed, and ultimately she has to choose between the world of those who belong on the inside - such as the seductive and dangerous Lisa - and those who can engage with the reality of the outside world." "This volume includes storyboards and a discussion by the film's director James Mangold about the film-making process by which this screenplay by James Mangold and Lisa Loomer and Anna Hamilton Phelan was transferred to the screen."--BOOK JACKET.Title Summary field provided by Blackwell North America, Inc. All Rights Reserved

Walking the Line - Girl, Interrupted on Her Way from Adolescence to Womanhood at a Borderline to a Parallel Universe

Author: Theresa Rass

Publisher: GRIN Verlag

ISBN:

Category:

Page: 32

View: 618

Seminar paper from the year 2008 in the subject American Studies - Literature, grade: 2, University of Innsbruck (Institut fur Amerikastudien), course: On the Edge of Sanity: Mental Illness and Disordered Behavior in American Literature, language: English, abstract: In her autobiographical novel Girl, Interrupted Susanna Kaysen deals with the probably most difficult and influential period in her life. At the end of the 1960s, when she was eighteen, she was committed to a mental institution after a half-hearted suicide attempt and diagnosed with Borderline Personality Disorder. She spent two years at McLean, where also famous persons like Sylvia Plath, Anne Sexton, Robert Lowell and Ray Charles have been in treatment. This paper will be trying to point out the difficulties with which people, especially women, were confronted in the 1960s, when they were different in some way and how this could result in being caught in a kind of parallel universe or, even worse, being stuck in between two worlds and not knowing were they belong."
Biography & Autobiography

Girl Interrupted

Author: Mary Ann Watson

Publisher: Xlibris Corporation

ISBN:

Category: Biography & Autobiography

Page: 84

View: 729

It all started with two youngsters. The one wanted the girl; the girl didnt wanted him. He pursued her so bad I believe she gave up. Im talking about my parents. I guess it must have been like that. There's so little information I have. I know they were living together, and then she thought that was not for her. And boom, thats when she realized she was pregnant with me and she stuck around. The rest is just my part of the storythe part I lived and I remember, which is painful with a lot of sorrow to get me to the place I am now, the place I shouldnt be though it is where I am forever.
Biography & Autobiography

I Wanna Know Who I Am

Author: Rosella Simmons Edwards

Publisher: iUniverse

ISBN:

Category: Biography & Autobiography

Page: 74

View: 287

Literary Criticism

Depression and Narrative

Author: Hilary Clark

Publisher: SUNY Press

ISBN:

Category: Literary Criticism

Page: 274

View: 926

How the story of depression gets told in print, on screen, and online.

Girl Interrupted

Author: Takayla S. Wheatley

Publisher: Createspace Independent Publishing Platform

ISBN:

Category:

Page: 80

View: 133

A girl's story of turning tragedy and pain, into a triumphant win. In order to overcome, you must first overcome yourself. Born in the city of Chicago, IL, Takayla became her own worse enemy and her biggest critic. Battling a 15 year fight with Depression, low self-esteem, suicidal thoughts and pure misery, Takayla managed to turn her tragedy into triumph. Follow this Girl Interrupted as she tells her story of strength, survival and the power of God.