Mathematics

Innumeracy

Author: John Allen Paulos

Publisher: Penguin UK

ISBN:

Category: Mathematics

Page: 160

View: 491

Why do even well-educated people often understand so little about maths - or take a perverse pride in not being a 'numbers person'? In his now-classic book Innumeracy, John Allen Paulos answers questions such as: Why is following the stock market exactly like flipping a coin? How big is a trillion? How fast does human hair grow in mph? Can you calculate the chances that a party includes two people who have the same birthday? Paulos shows us that by arming yourself with some simple maths, you don't have to let numbers get the better of you.
Science

A Mathematician Plays The Stock Market

Author: John Allen Paulos

Publisher: Hachette UK

ISBN:

Category: Science

Page: 224

View: 353

In A Mathematician Plays the Stock Market best-selling author John Allen Paulos demonstrates what the tools of mathematics can tell us about the vagaries of the stock market. Employing his trademark stories, vignettes, paradoxes, and puzzles (and even a film treatment), Paulos addresses every thinking reader's curiosity about the market: Is it efficient? Is it rational? Is there anything to technical analysis, fundamental analysis, and other supposedly time-tested methods of picking stocks? How can one quantify risk? What are the most common scams? What light do fractals, network theory, and common psychological foibles shed on investor behavior? Are there any approaches to investing that truly outperform the major indexes? Can a deeper knowledge of mathematics help beat the odds?All of these questions are explored with the engaging erudition that made Paulos's A Mathematician Reads the Newspaper and Innumeracy favorites with both armchair mathematicians and readers who want to think like them. Paulos also shares the cautionary tale of his own long and disastrous love affair with WorldCom. In the tradition of Burton Malkiel's A Random Walk Down Wall Street and Jeremy Siegel's Stocks for the Long Run, this wry and illuminating book is for anyone, investor or not, who follows the markets-or knows someone who does.
Mathematics

Mathematics and Humor

Author: John Allen Paulos

Publisher: University of Chicago Press

ISBN:

Category: Mathematics

Page: 124

View: 344

John Allen Paulos cleverly scrutinizes the mathematical structures of jokes, puns, paradoxes, spoonerisms, riddles, and other forms of humor, drawing examples from such sources as Rabelais, Shakespeare, James Beattie, René Thom, Lewis Carroll, Arthur Koestler, W. C. Fields, and Woody Allen. "Jokes, paradoxes, riddles, and the art of non-sequitur are revealed with great perception and insight in this illuminating account of the relationship between humor and mathematics."—Joseph Williams, New York Times "'Leave your mind alone,' said a Thurber cartoon, and a really complete and convincing analysis of what humour is might spoil all jokes forever. This book avoids that danger. What it does. . .is describe broadly several kinds of mathematical theory and apply them to throw sidelights on how many kinds of jokes work."—New Scientist "Many scholars nowadays write seriously about the ludicrous. Some merely manage to be dull. A few—like Paulos—are brilliant in an odd endeavor."—Los Angeles Times Book Review

EXTRAORDINARY POPULAR DELUSIONS AND THE MADNESS OF CROWDS (HARRIMAN DEFINITIVE EDITION)

Author: Charles Mackay

Publisher: Harriman House Limited

ISBN:

Category:

Page: 588

View: 833

"Men, it has been well said, think in herds; it will be seen that they go mad in herds, while they only recover their senses slowly, and one by one..." Extraordinary Popular Delusions and the Madness of Crowds is the original guide to behavioural psychology - and how manias, follies and superstitions begin, spread and (eventually) pass. A hugely entertaining tour through financial scams and stock market bubbles, alchemical quests and prophecy wars, duelling bouts and relic hunts, the book is as insightful and memorable today as when it was first published almost 180 years ago. This edition comes with an exclusive foreword by Russell Napier, author of Anatomy of the Bear. Harriman Definitive Editions offer the best quality editions of the best financial books of all time. Beautifully typeset in new designs, accompanied by forewords by the best modern financial writers, printed and bound in high-quality hardcovers on acid-free paper - they are essential long-term additions to the portfolio of every investor and trader.
Education

What If Your ABCs Were Your 123s?

Author: Leslie Minton

Publisher: Corwin Press

ISBN:

Category: Education

Page: 120

View: 108

Includes teaching scenarios modeling the crossover of literacy and math strategies, and provides techniques to strengthen students' grasp of foundational concepts and advance their skills in reasoning and problem solving.
Medical

Medical Decision Making

Author: Alan Schwartz

Publisher: Cambridge University Press

ISBN:

Category: Medical

Page:

View: 824

Decision making is a key activity, perhaps the most important activity, in the practice of healthcare. Although physicians acquire a great deal of knowledge and specialised skills during their training and through their practice, it is in the exercise of clinical judgement and its application to individual patients that the outstanding physician is distinguished. This has become even more relevant as patients become increasingly welcomed as partners in a shared decision making process. This book translates the research and theory from the science of decision making into clinically useful tools and principles that can be applied by clinicians in the field. It considers issues of patient goals, uncertainty, judgement, choice, development of new information, and family and social concerns in healthcare. It helps to demystify decision theory by emphasizing concepts and clinical cases over mathematics and computation.
Mathematics

The Little Green Math Book

Author: Brandon Royal

Publisher: Maven Publishing

ISBN:

Category: Mathematics

Page: 284

View: 340

The Little Green Math Book helps readers build essential math and numeracy skills and is suitable for the everyday student, test-prep candidate, or working professional in need of a refresher course. The book's four chapters include: (1) Basic Numeracy Ingredients, (2) Wonderful Math Recipes, (3) Favorite Numeracy Dishes, and (4) Special Math Garnishments. Thirty principles of math highlight common themes among different types of problems and each problem is rated according to a three-tier system - one chili (mild), two chilies (hot), and three chilies (very hot).