Fiction

Into that Good Night

A Novel

Author: Levis Keltner

Publisher: Skyhorse Publishing Inc.

ISBN: 1628728485

Category: Fiction

Page: N.A

View: 5362

Doug Horolez is a talentless boy hopelessly in love with his only friend, E. Summerson. That’s the good news. When E.’s sister is murdered in the woods behind town, Doug, to prove his devotion, joins a group of local pariahs, led by a deathly ill and eerily charismatic boy, who urges them to dig for clues to solve the girl's mysterious death. But as cultish bonds deepen within the group, their activities become more reckless and vengeful. Doug must then find his voice and act according to his conscience before the price to be loved becomes unspeakable violence. Kelter has created is a coming-of-age novel and psychological thriller that investigates the recurrent mysteries of loss, loneliness, and the precarious desire to belong.
Biography & Autobiography

Into That Good Night

Author: Ron Rozelle

Publisher: Farrar, Straus and Giroux

ISBN: 1466895225

Category: Biography & Autobiography

Page: 181

View: 3217

When his father began to show signs of Alzheimer's disease, Rozelle watched the man's painful transformation into a dependent and ultimately foreign person. In this haunting memoir, Into That Good Night, Rozelle recreates and reclaims the past for his father, offering a son's gift that will echo for a long time to come. "The author's skillful and compassionate writing brings both the father of his childhood and the man who could not remember the names of his own children to life. Lester died of a stroke in 1992, but this serves, as his son intended, as a moving tribute." - Publishers Weekly
Religion

Go Gentle Into That Good Night

Author: Malcolm Boyd

Publisher: Genesis PressInc

ISBN: 9781885478481

Category: Religion

Page: 139

View: 4523

The priest and author shares views on dying and ponders a life and death continuum unfolding the mysteries of life and revealing the majesty and wonder of death
Literary Criticism

A Study Guide for Dylan Thomas's Do Not Go Gentle into That Good Night

Author: Gale, Cengage Learning

Publisher: Gale, Cengage Learning

ISBN: 1410336840

Category: Literary Criticism

Page: 15

View: 9626

A Study Guide for Dylan Thomas's "Do Not Go Gentle into That Good Night," excerpted from Gale's acclaimed Poetry for Students.This concise study guide includes plot summary; character analysis; author biography; study questions; historical context; suggestions for further reading; and much more. For any literature project, trust Poetry for Students for all of your research needs.
English drama

That Good Night

A Play

Author: N. J. Crisp

Publisher: N.A

ISBN: 9780573019135

Category: English drama

Page: 67

View: 7565

That Good Night

Author: Richard Probert

Publisher: Beaufort Books

ISBN: 9780825308918

Category:

Page: 276

View: 7156

Condemned to spend his "Golden Years" cooped up in Sunset Nursing Home, 84-year-old Charlie Lambert refuses this ending for himself. With the help of an old sailing buddy living in Maine, Charlie plans to go AWOL permanently, buy a boat, and hit the high seas, where he will live out the remainder of his life on his own terms. Nothing ever goes quite as planned, though, and as Charlie heads towards Maine on a 46-foot sailboat, he strikes up an unexpected romance with Abigail, a woman decades his junior. Things take a darker turn, though, when he discovers a former FBI agent-turned-insurance-investigator hot on his trail. Agent Roberts has been hired to find out what happened to Charlie: bring him back if he's alive, or determine he's dead so his estranged sons can collect on his life insurance policy. Roberts doesn't expect a fight from the old man, but that's just what he gets. Because Charlie has no intention of ever returning to Sunset, whether in handcuffs or a pine box. Funny, heart-warming, and heart-breaking, That Good Night tells the story of a man who, rather than rail against going "gentle into that good night," as Dylan Thomas wrote, instead wishes to simply sail into a sunset of his own choosing.
Family & Relationships

That Good Night

Ethicists, Euthanasia and End-of-life Care

Author: Tim Falconer

Publisher: Penguin Group Canada

ISBN: 9780670044559

Category: Family & Relationships

Page: 204

View: 782

"That Good Night" is for every Canadian worried about dying some day--or who loves someone who's getting close. Medical advances mean our demise will likely be a "negotiated" event, not simply nature taking its course. We may seek guidance from the professional ethicists now on staff at major hospitals, but even they have no obvious answers for the toughest question we'll ever face: how and when do you want to die? Tim Falconer once again transforms a complicated subject into a thoughtful, readable and engaging book, one that shows us what ethicists do while tackling the difficult dilemmas that precede the modern death. By sharing the compelling stories of those who've made hard choices, by considering living wills and by exploring the merits of assisted suicide and euthanasia, That Good Night untangles a topic that touches us all.
History

The Good Death

Author: Ann Neumann

Publisher: Beacon Press

ISBN: 0807076996

Category: History

Page: 248

View: 3736

"Following the death of her father, journalist and hospice volunteer Ann Neumann sets out to examine what it means to die well in the United States. If a good death exists, what does it look like? This question lies at the heart of Neumann's rigorously researched and intimately told journey along the ultimate borderland of American life: American death. From church basements to hospital wards to prison cells, Neumann charts the social, political, religious, and medical landscape to explore how we die today. The Good Death weaves personal accounts with a historical exploration of the movements and developments that have changed the ways we experience death. With the diligence of a journalist and the compassion of a caregiver, Neumann provides a portrait of death in the United States that is humane, beautifully written, and essential to our greater understanding of the future of end-of-life care"--
Comics & Graphic Novels

Special Exits

Author: Joyce Farmer

Publisher: Fantagraphics Books

ISBN: 1606997602

Category: Comics & Graphic Novels

Page: 209

View: 647

Joyce Farmer's memoir chronicles the decline of the author's parents' health, their relationship with one another and with their daughter, and how they cope with the day-to-day emotional fragility of the most taxing time of their lives. Joyce Farmer, best known for co-creating the Tits 'n Clits comics anthology in the 1970s, a feminist response to the rampant misogyny in underground comix, spent 11 years crafting Special Exits, a graphic memoir in the vein of Alison Bechdel's Fun Home or Harvey Pekar, Joyce Brabner, and Frank Stack's Our Cancer Year, about caring for her dying father and stepmother.
Juvenile Fiction

Good Night, World

Author: Willa Perlman

Publisher: Simon and Schuster

ISBN: 1442435194

Category: Juvenile Fiction

Page: 40

View: 9063

As the sun sets from east to west, this book takes children on a magical round-the-world journey to bid good night to the world’s natural wonders, from plants and animals to mountains, oceans, and wide desert plains. Willa Perlman’s soothing, lyrical text combines with Carolyn Fisher’s sweeping illustrations to paint a vivid picture of everything everywhere going to sleep—including an imaginative little boy.
Medical

Going Gentle Into That Good Night

A Practical and Informative Guide for Fulfilling the Circle of Life for Our Loved Ones with Dementias and Alzheimer?s Disease

Author: Sandra Ross

Publisher: CreateSpace

ISBN: 9781490323480

Category: Medical

Page: 144

View: 9866

This book is written to give practical and real-world help to those us responsible for the care of loved ones with dementias and Alzheimer's Disease. It's not like all those other books. Believe me, I found most of them to be a waste of my time because they were not hands-on and accessible and they didn't tell me the stuff I really needed to know and had to learn on my own. If you want a lot of theory, this is not the book for you. If you want to read one more book that talks about dementias and Alzheimer's Disease from a high-level and clinical standpoint, this book is not for you. But you want the succinct and practical experience and advice from somebody who's walked your shoes as when I cared for my mom, this book is for you. I wish there had been one like it when I was starting that journey. Fortunately, thanks to Mom's journey, I have a chance to pass what I learned on. This is part of paying it forward.
Social Science

That Good Night

Life and Medicine in the Eleventh Hour

Author: Sunita Puri

Publisher: Penguin

ISBN: 0735223335

Category: Social Science

Page: 320

View: 5058

A heart-wrenching and provocative memoir about how the essential parts of one young woman's early life--her mother's work as a surgeon and her spiritual practice--led her to become a doctor and to question the premise that medicine exists to prolong life at all costs. Dr. Sunita Puri's parents grew up in urban India, in extreme poverty. Yet they managed not only to reach America, but her mother become a renowned anesthesiologist too. As a young girl, Puri realized that the gulf between her parents' experiences and her own was nearly impossible to bridge, save for two elements: medicine and faith. Puri spent her childhood in nurse's lounges waiting for her mother to exit the OR, and also in deep conversation with her parents about the role of faith in shaping a compassionate life. As a young woman, Puri followed her mother into medicine. But as the years of her training passed, Puri began to question medicine's power. Were patients' lives being saved, or merely prolonged? What did doctors understand when patients use words like "warrior," "survive," "recover"? Eventually, Puri's questions led her to palliative care--a new field, one at work translating the border between medical intervention and quality of life care. By helping patients think through radical medical decisions, Puri balanced the pull of her family's faith and the incessant and sterile push of Western medicine. Written in gorgeous, evocative prose, That Good Night shares Puri's own stories along with her patients' to reveal a nuanced and optimistic portrait of medicine and hospitalization, arming readers with questions that will revolutionize the way we connect with our doctors.
JUVENILE NONFICTION

Good Night Stories for Rebel Girls 2

Author: Elena Favilli,Francesca Cavallo

Publisher: Goodnight Stories for Rebel Girls

ISBN: 9780997895827

Category: JUVENILE NONFICTION

Page: 224

View: 6667

"Good Night Stories For Rebel Girls 2" is the sequel to the sensational New York Times bestseller, and the most crowdfunded book of all times. The authors, Francesca Cavallo and Elena Favilli, will take you and your kids on an empowering journey through 100 new bedtime stories, featuring the adventures of extraordinary women from Nefertiti to Beyoncé. The unique narrative style of "Good Night Stories for Rebel Girls" transforms each biography into a fairy-tale, filling the readers with wonder and with a burning curiosity to know more about each hero. Good Night Stories for Rebel Girls 2 boasts a brand new graphic design, a glossary and 100 incredible new portraits created by the best female artists of our time. "This amazing book shows girls they can be anything they want." - Melinda Gates "Essential reading for girls and indeed boys; children who read this at bedtime are guaranteed some big and inspirational dreams." - Fiona Noble, The Guardian "The anti-princess book teaching girls to rebel." - Georgina Rannard, BBC News