Fiction

First Emperor: Tales from the jade room

Author: Conrad Squires

Publisher: Marshall Cavendish International Asia Pte Ltd

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 299

View: 236

What do you do when the dragon wakes up? You don’t run for cover… you read this book cover to cover. Because this dragon is friendly! The book you hold tells a big story. A Chinese farmer breaks his shovel on the head of a fierce warrior. Experts then find an 8,000-man clay army underground. And if that isn’t enough, the Emperor’s tomb yields up a hidden treasure of ancient documents. In First Emperor: Tales from the Jade Room, you travel 2,000 years on a flying dragon and witness the founding of China. You see spies, intrigue, adventures, conquests, demons and dragons. Your willing hosts are the Emperor’s ‘trusted’ servants, the eunuchs. They saw it all - the sacred and the sordid, and are eager to tell you exactly what happened to the man the world calls First Emperor, the richest, most powerful mortal of all time, and the main character in one of the great reads of our time! So come in. Your story is waiting!
Fiction

Jade Empire

Author: S.J.A. Turney

Publisher: Canelo

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 400

View: 960

Empires rise... and empires fall. Can the Empire survive its most awesome challenge yet? Aram of the Inda, a scattered people, has seen his lands pillaged, his sons taken and his empire crushed by the all-powerful Jade Empire. Its numberless armies have crushed the disunited Inda, swarming in from the East. But to the West lies another power, the Empire, ruled by mad Emperor Bassianus. And something powerful is stirring in the wild mountains... Power abhors a vacuum, and the Inda lands are now fair game. The stage is set for a showdown of cataclysmic proportions. Aram and his sons Jai, Dev and Ravi will find themselves at the heart of events that will shake empires to their very foundations. Who will survive this game of conquest? This epochal clash of titans is the blood-curdling conclusion to S.J.A Turney’s Tales of the Empire. Perfect for fans of Simon Scarrow, Ben Kane and Gordon Doherty.
Games

The Book of Games

Author:

Publisher: Book of Games

ISBN:

Category: Games

Page: 448

View: 846

A feast for the eyes with literally thousands of vivid, high-resolution screen shots, this book provides a comprehensive visual tour through the world of PC and video gaming. Sorted by genre, 150 of the most exciting current software titles are reviewed with information of interest to players, parents, and industry professionals. Each game is featured in a two-page spread that includes detailed game summary, analysis, and strategy, nine representative in-game screen shots, games with similar skill and strategy requirements, appropriate age range, ESRB content ratings, complete technological specifications, and more. Feature stories are included throughout the book, covering game-related topics such as multiplayer online gaming, games in movies, and the future of gaming. The book also includes useful reference tools such as an illustrated glossary, an overview of game publishers, and information on current and upcoming hardware platforms such as Sony's new PS3 and Nintendo's Wii.
Fiction

Tales from the New Republic: Star Wars Legends

Author: Peter Schweighofer

Publisher: Del Rey

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 432

View: 363

Written by some of today's leading science fiction writers, these tales sweep us into a world where the only laws are cunning, force, and power -- and only the bravest, craziest, and deadliest dare to tread. Here mercs and smugglers, gangsters and warriors fight toe to toe, side by side, and behind each other's backs in the backwaters of a universe ripped apart by war. . . . On Zelos II a man and a woman are held prisoner in a dark cell, each fighting in their own way for survival at the hands of Imperial captors -- and a chance for escape that could cost one of them their life. On the tortured landscape of Ryloth, Fenig Nabon awaits a ship of women warriors to complete a dangerous deal: the smuggling of a troupe of dancers to the homeworld of the Hutts -- only to get more than she bargained for. And in a stunning new novella written especially for this collection by Hugo Award-winning, New York Times bestselling author Timothy Zahn and Michael A. Stackpole, Senator Garm Bel Iblis, believed dead at the hands of an Imperial assassin, teams up with Hal Horn in a duel against the Empire's most dangerous agent. At stake are the plans for a terrifying new weapon called the Death Star -- and the fate of both the Empire and the New Republic. Features a bonus section following the novel that includes a primer on the Star Wars expanded universe, and over half a dozen excerpts from some of the most popular Star Wars books of the last thirty years!
Art

Chinese Jade Throughout Ages

Author: Stanley Charles Nott

Publisher: Tuttle Publishing

ISBN:

Category: Art

Page: 365

View: 308

This classic guide to Chinese jade is of great interest to art collectors and casual readers alike. First published in 1936 and since then a collector's item of increasing rarity, Chinese Jade Throughout the Ages comprises a review of the characteristics, decorations, folklore, and symbolism of this esteemed mineral that has always held a proud place among gems of the world. The book presents a full descriptive account of the significance and meaning of the carvings produced in this prize stone by Chinese craftsmen from the earliest times, through the Chou and succeeding dynasties, down to the twentieth century. The text is illustrated with a magnificent series of more than 350 reproductions in color, black and white, and line drawings of choice pieces selected from the chief Asian, European, and American collections. In addition the Chinese art history book explains no only the wealth of symbolic designs used in the decoration of jade but also a large number of the marks and devices by which collectors identify the origin and the date of valued pieces.
Fiction

Tales of the Empire Omnibus

Author: S.J.A. Turney

Publisher: Canelo

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 1200

View: 395

The bestselling historical fantasy series, now collected in a special omnibus edition Epic military campaigns, the strong bonds of brothers in arms and the struggle for justice in a world where emperors are overthrown, destinies challenged and war is constant... All six novels in this explosive and unputdownable series are included. Readers of Simon Scarrow, Conn Iggulden and George R.R. Martin will love S.J.A. Turney. The Tales of the Empire series: Interregnum Ironroot Dark Empress Insurgency Invasion Jade Empire
Comic books, strips, etc

The Official Overstreet Comic Book Price Guide, 31st Edition

Author: Robert M. Overstreet

Publisher: House of Collectibles

ISBN:

Category: Comic books, strips, etc

Page: 983

View: 397

"The Official Overstreet Comic Book Price Guide" offers a complete record of existing comic books from the 1800s to the present, indexed, illustrated, and priced according to condition. of color photos. 1,500 b&w photos.
Comics & Graphic Novels

Mara Jade

Author: Timothy Zahn

Publisher: Dark Horse Books

ISBN:

Category: Comics & Graphic Novels

Page: 144

View: 275

With her liege, the emperor, dead at the hands of Luke Skywalker and Darth Vader, master assassin Mara Jade will stop at nothing to complete her final mission: assassinate the leader of the Black Nebula crime syndicate. Original.
Best books

The Best Books

Author: William Swan Sonnenschein

Publisher:

ISBN:

Category: Best books

Page: 1009

View: 841