Fiction

Marked

Author: Benedict Jacka

Publisher: Hachette UK

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 384

View: 155

Alex Verus is tracking down dangerous magical items unleashed into the world by Dark Mages - however, when the Light Council decide they need his help in negotiating with the perpetrators, Alex must use all his cunning and magic to strike a deal. The ninth novel in the urban fantasy series which began with Fated - the Alex Verus novels are magic-filled fan favourites, perfect for readers of Jim Butcher and Ben Aaronovitch.
Fiction

Hidden

Author: Benedict Jacka

Publisher: Hachette UK

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 352

View: 327

NEVER LOOK BACK Alex Verus is a diviner who can see probable futures - a talent that's gotten him and his friends out of many a tough scrape. But what happens when someone doesn't want Alex's help? Alex's friend, the life mage Anne, distanced herself from him when she found out about his past as a Dark apprentice. Now she's in serious trouble, but wants nothing to do with him. Alex has to start wondering if Anne's problem is really with him - or if there's a secret she's trying to hide. On top of that, rumours are swirling around London that Alex's former master may be back in town. Alex has no idea what his agenda may be, or who it involves . . .
Fiction

Burned

Author: Benedict Jacka

Publisher: Hachette UK

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 416

View: 102

Alex Verus has a magic shop in Camden, London, and an uncanny ability to see the future. But suddenly everyone can see Alex's future. Because the Mage's Council of Great Britain just named him a traitor and ordered his death in seven days' time, and there's no way anyone can get out of that. Alex's friends - Luna and the other apprentices he's taken in - are tainted by association. They'll be marked for death too when the ruling comes into play, and Alex becomes locked in a race against time to save them. But with only seven days to work with, will he have time left over save his own skin?
Fiction

Fallen

Author: Benedict Jacka

Publisher: Ace

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 336

View: 340

For Mage Alex Verus, everything is on the line in the tenth urban fantasy novel from the national bestselling author of Marked. Once Alex Verus was a diviner trying to live quietly under the radar. Now he's a member of the Light Council who's found success, friends...and love. But it's come with a price--the Council is investigating him, and if they find out the truth, he'll lose everything. Meanwhile, Alex's old master, Richard Drakh, is waging a war against the Council, and he's preparing a move that will bring Alex and the life mage, Anne, under his control. Caught between Richard and the Council, Alex's time is running out. To protect those he cares for, Alex will have to become something different. Something darker...
Fiction

Fated

Author: Benedict Jacka

Publisher: Hachette UK

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 304

View: 313

The start of a compelling new urban fantasy series based in Camden, featuring Alex Verus - a mage with a dark past who can see the future . . . 'Harry Dresden would like Alex Verus tremendously - and be a little nervous around him. I just added Benedict Jacka to my must-read list. Fated is an excellent novel, a gorgeously realized world with a uniquely powerful, vulnerable protagonist. Books this good remind me why I got into the storytelling business in the first place' Jim Butcher, author of the Dresden Files Camden, North London. A tangled, mangled junction of train lines, roads and waterways. Where minor celebrities hang out with minor criminals and where tourists and moody teenagers mingle. In the heart of Camden, where rail meets road meets leyline, you might find the Arcana Emporium, run by one Alex Verus. He won't sell you a wand or mix you a potion, but if you know what you're looking for, he might just be able to help. That's if he's not too busy avoiding his would-be apprentice, foiling the Dark, outwitting the Light, and investigating a mysterious relic that has just turned up at the British Museum. The books in the Alex Verus series are as follows: Fated Cursed Taken Chosen Hidden Veiled Burned Bound Marked
Literary Collections

The Literary Career of Mark Akenside

Author: Robin Dix

Publisher: Fairleigh Dickinson Univ Press

ISBN:

Category: Literary Collections

Page: 410

View: 201

"This book offers the fullest critical account to date of the literary career of Mark Akenside (1721-1770). In the course of the discussion, Akenside's literary achievements and his contributions to the vibrant cultural scene of the mid-eighteenth century are amply demonstrated, as well as his intellectual originality, his inventive use of source material, and his influence on poets and philosophers in the late eighteenth century and the Romantic period."--Publisher's website.
Fiction

Cursed

Author: Benedict Jacka

Publisher: Penguin

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 304

View: 325

Benedict Jacka's acclaimed Alex Verus series continues with Cursed. Since his second sight made him infamous for defeating powerful dark mages, Alex has been keeping his head down. But now he's discovered the resurgence of a forbidden ritual. Someone is harvesting the life-force of magical creatures—destroying them in the process. And draining humans is next on the agenda. Hired to investigate, Alex realizes that not everyone on the Council wants him delving any deeper. Struggling to distinguish ally from enemy, he finds himself the target of those who would risk their own sanity for power...
Literary Criticism

The One vs. the Many

Author: Alex Woloch

Publisher: Princeton University Press

ISBN:

Category: Literary Criticism

Page: 408

View: 514

Does a novel focus on one life or many? Alex Woloch uses this simple question to develop a powerful new theory of the realist novel, based on how narratives distribute limited attention among a crowded field of characters. His argument has important implications for both literary studies and narrative theory. Characterization has long been a troubled and neglected problem within literary theory. Through close readings of such novels as Pride and Prejudice, Great Expectations, and Le Père Goriot, Woloch demonstrates that the representation of any character takes place within a shifting field of narrative attention and obscurity. Each individual--whether the central figure or a radically subordinated one--emerges as a character only through his or her distinct and contingent space within the narrative as a whole. The "character-space," as Woloch defines it, marks the dramatic interaction between an implied person and his or her delimited position within a narrative structure. The organization of, and clashes between, many character-spaces within a single narrative totality is essential to the novel's very achievement and concerns, striking at issues central to narrative poetics, the aesthetics of realism, and the dynamics of literary representation. Woloch's discussion of character-space allows for a different history of the novel and a new definition of characterization itself. By making the implied person indispensable to our understanding of literary form, this book offers a forward-looking avenue for contemporary narrative theory.