Juvenile Fiction

Millions

Author: Frank Cottrell Boyce

Publisher: Pan Macmillan

ISBN: 9780330450843

Category: Juvenile Fiction

Page: 265

View: 6938

After their mother dies, two brothers find a huge amount of money which they must spend quickly before England switches to the new European currency, but they disagree on what to do with it.
Antiques & Collectibles

Magazines for the Millions

Gender and Commerce in the Ladies' Home Journal and the Saturday Evening Post, 1880-1910

Author: Helen Damon-Moore

Publisher: SUNY Press

ISBN: 9780791420577

Category: Antiques & Collectibles

Page: 263

View: 4565

Argues that the two popular women's magazines were pivotal in the combining of gender and commercialism at the turn of the century, and that publishers and advertisers conspired to create both a gendered commercial discourse and a commercial gender discourse for both men and women. Annotation copyright Book News, Inc. Portland, Or.
Education

Euro Millions - Das Buch der Lotto Geheimnisse

Entdecken Sie Strategien um ständig im Euro Millions zu gewinnen

Author: Franz Müller

Publisher: Gold Lotto Verlag

ISBN: 3961125643

Category: Education

Page: 53

View: 9375

Bei den fünf Buchstaben L-O-T-T-O wird bei der Mehrheit der Menschen in vielen Sprachen eine Hoffnung wachgerufen: Der Traum von Reichtum, Glück und vor allem der Traum davon, nicht mehr arbeiten zu müssen. In Deutschland hat die nach dem Zweiten Weltkrieg neu ins Leben gerufene staatliche Lotterie im Laufe der Jahrzehnte mittlerweile rund 1.500 Lotto-Millionäre hervorgebracht; doch hat es sich rückblickend auf die weitere Lebensgeschichte der Lotto-Millionäre für manche als fatal erwiesen, sofort nach dem Erhalt eines Lottogewinns den Job zu kündigen – die größte aller Hoffnungen, die an einem Lottogewinn hängt, ist somit tatsächlich eine Illusion. Die Leere und Sinnsuche, die durch Übermut entsteht, kann also nicht durch den Kauf eines Lamborghinis, Maseratis oder Porsches, von einem Penthouse in London, Barcelona, am New Yorker Central Park und evtl. der Anschaffung einer eigenen Yacht, wenn man den Jackpot geknackt hat, gefüllt werden. Viel Geld führt also nicht gleich zu einem besseren Leben – wohl aber zu einem sehr viel Geldsorgen-freieren Leben. Es ist sehr befreiend und beruhigend, nicht mehr daran denken zu müssen, wie man Wohnungsmiete oder Kredite und Rechnungen begleicht, falls es mit dem Job mal nicht mehr so gut läuft. Deshalb wird es Sie sicherlich interessieren zu erfahren, dass Sie in diesem Ebook viel Hintergrundwissen über das deutsche Lotto und über die europäische Variante, die EuroMillions, vermittelt bekommen. Sie erfahren, welche unterschiedlichen Varianten und Erfolgsquoten es im Lotto gibt und wie Sie in Zukunft erfolgreicher Lotto spielen – Immer den Jackpot vor Augen.

Millionen

Author: Frank Cottrell Boyce

Publisher: N.A

ISBN: 9783551359964

Category:

Page: 253

View: 5670

Fiction

Omnipotence for the Millions

Author: Brook Ziporyn

Publisher: iUniverse

ISBN: 0595184146

Category: Fiction

Page: 253

View: 3088

Omnipotence for the Millions is best described as a weeping man's bedroom farce, a tale of infuriatingly ineluctable agape and abortive misanthropy, of a love-hate triangle of rivalrous comrades and wives, of human intersubjectivity conceived as a world wherein everyone is constantly enacting exasperatingly ambiguous atrocities on everyone else and everyone's kind of pissed off about it probably but nobody's quite sure. It is the story of a certain Mr. Smithers and his close associate and rival Mr. Smith, and their unfortunate intertwining in the fast-paced back-slappingly fulfilling industry of late night self-help infomercial production. Smithers’ mercy-begging detestation of his putative buddy is, it would seem, no match for the latter's obliviously cheerful ability to just not get it. At various points Smithers is called upon to serve not only as Smith's best friend, his employer, his wife’s lover, his business partner and his archrival, but also as his teacher (in a formal classroom setting) and as his valet. The two men, like all two men, are tacitly struggling for the same quantum of virtual space--job, money, status, women, existential authenticity, all of which are in limited supply. And yet, by dint of some sadistically neutral cosmic conspiracy, they're forced to stand around talking to each other all the time. The subject of this book, broadly speaking, is that old-time sideshow favorite formerly known as The Human Condition, in this case construed as an elaboration of what's so bad about ever having to be in the same room with anyone else.
Communication

Media for the Millions

The Process of Mass Communication

Author: Robert C. O'Hara

Publisher: N.A

ISBN: N.A

Category: Communication

Page: 421

View: 5441

Juvenile Fiction

Max and the Millions

Author: Ross Montgomery

Publisher: Wendy Lamb Books

ISBN: 1524718866

Category: Juvenile Fiction

Page: 272

View: 2317

In the vein of The Borrowers and The Indian in the Cupboard, this is an imaginative, irresistible, and incredible exploration into what happens when one boy discovers a kingdom of tiny people. The day before summer vacation, Max's closest friend at boarding school disappears, leaving behind his amazing model collection and a handful of sand on his bedroom floor. Like Max, the eccentric janitor Mr. Darrow is a genius at building tiny models. Eight weeks later, Max finds that the sand has magically transformed into a whole desert kingdom--filled with millions of tiny people! Max wears hearing aids, and they allow him to hear the ant-sized people. There's a boy named Luke who's about to become king. But when Max appears, he plunges their world into chaos. Luckily, Luke has two strong allies: Ivy, a fearless girl, and Luke's trusty steed--a flea. While Max and his new friend Sasha fight to protect the Floor from their evil headmaster, Luke must fight to save it from being destroyed by all-out war.
Music

A Music for the Millions

Antebellum Democratic Attitudes and the Birth of American Popular Music

Author: Nicholas E. Tawa

Publisher: N.A

ISBN: N.A

Category: Music

Page: 211

View: 2975

Social Science

The Ford Foundation

The Men and the Millions

Author: Dwight MacDonald

Publisher: Transaction Publishers

ISBN: 9781412836883

Category: Social Science

Page: 186

View: 4679

Fiction

Millions

Dollar Series 5

Author: Pepper Winters

Publisher: Pepper Winters

ISBN: N.A

Category: Fiction

Page: 300

View: 867

“Love had been given and taken and now…it had been stolen. No one steals from a thief—especially from me—and I will defend what’s mine until my dying breath. It’s not a question of what I’m willing to sacrifice but who to deserve her…” Once upon a time, I stupidly believed if I could make Elder fall for me, everything would be perfect. Now, I’m missing, and he’s hunting, and everything is far from our happily ever after. He gave me his heart, and I gave him my promise, but true love isn’t sacred to others. War is coming, disaster is brewing, and I’m not going down without a fight. Elder is mine. I am his. And no one can keep us apart. The fifth and final book in the USA Today Bestselling Romance
Fiction

Erzähl ihnen von Schlachten, Königen und Elefanten

Author: Mathias Enard

Publisher: ebook Berlin Verlag

ISBN: 382707505X

Category: Fiction

Page: 176

View: 8674

"Das Erdbeben von 1509 wird die Fundamente der Brücke Michelangelos zerstören. Enard zeichnet ein gelungenes Künstlerporträt und füllt dabei die wenigen Wochen aus, die in der Biografie des Künstlers weiße Flecken geblieben waren."(3Sat) Eine wunderbare Parabel über die Religions- und Zivilisationskonflikte, eine Parabel von ungebrochener Aktualität: den Bruch zwischen diesen zwei Welten hat es nicht immer gegeben, und es muss ihn, vielleicht, nicht für immer geben.
History

China's Millions

Author: Austin

Publisher: Wm. B. Eerdmans Publishing

ISBN: 0802829759

Category: History

Page: 506

View: 8574

Banner-carrying Salvation Army marchers, stone-silent Quakers, jumpy Midwestern revivalists, closed-fellowship Brethren, and Prayer-book Anglicans all made up the mixed multitude sent to the Middle Kingdom by the China Inland Mission (CIM). In China's Millions, the newest volume of the acclaimed Studies in the History of Christian Missions series, veteran historian Alvyn Austin crafts a compelling narrative of the sprawling history of the China Inland Mission. Austin explores two questions: How did British evangelicalism feed into American fundamentalism, eventually becoming global Protestantism, and how did evangelical Christianity become Chinese? Along the way he introduces readers to a remarkable array of sights, from the visionary, charismatic sect-leader Pastor Hsi, to the wordless book, a missionary teaching device that fit perfectly with Chinese color cosmology, to the opium-soaked aftermath of the North China Famine of 1877-79. Clear, readable, and well researched, China's Millions digs deeply into the Chinese and Western past to tell a story that no one would think to tell, the strange yet hopeful result of two cultures colliding.
Reference

Charms, Spells, and Curses for the Millions

Author: V. J. Banis

Publisher: Wildside Press LLC

ISBN: 1434492427

Category: Reference

Page: 156

View: 7900

This book is a how-to-do-it of black and white magic, and a how-it-is-done record, showing the magic at work of other times, peoples, places. Within these pages, you'll find special sections on methods of healing, matters of love, the divining arts, how to deal with demons, how to alter the form, how to gain wealth and importance, how to use talismans and how to use magic to create mischief. Here are charms that will chill your bones, answer your most intimate questions, and draw you deeper into the lore of magic than you've ever been before.
Social Science

Food enough or starvation for millions

Author: Douglas Ensminger

Publisher: N.A

ISBN: N.A

Category: Social Science

Page: 562

View: 5205

Case studies; Population and family plannig; Energy and climate; Food and agricultural development; Rural development; Lessons from the past.
History

'Millions Like Us'?

British Culture in the Second World War

Author: Nick Hayes,Jeff Hill

Publisher: Liverpool University Press

ISBN: 9780853237631

Category: History

Page: 342

View: 2714

This collection of essays brings together the latest historical research on cultural production and reception during the Second World War. Its starting point is how this war was presented to, and understood by, contemporaries and how they differentiated it from earlier conflicts. Although this was particularly noticeable in the construction of ideas of inclusiveness and commonality where ‘the people’ pulled together to secure victory and a socially equitable peace, the essays also seek to explore the diversity of institutional and personal experiences. Essays look at major national institutions and industries such as the recently formed BBC, the culturally diverse and rapidly expanding commercial press, and the British film industry. The collection explores the role of the individual agent, with studies on established writers and composers, and how each related to the collective rationales of wartime.