Performing Arts

A Pound of Flesh

Author: Art Linson

Publisher: Grove Press

ISBN:

Category: Performing Arts

Page: 208

View: 474

The author, a Hollywood producer, describes how movies are made, sharing his experiences working with Robert De Niro, Brian De Palma, Sean Penn, and Sean Connery
SOCIAL SCIENCE

The Price for Their Pound of Flesh

Author: Daina Ramey Berry

Publisher: Beacon Press

ISBN:

Category: SOCIAL SCIENCE

Page: 262

View: 805

"Groundbreaking look at slaves as commodities through every phase of life, from birth to death and beyond, in early America The Price for Their Pound of Flesh is the first book to explore the economic value of enslaved people through every phase of their lives--including from before birth to after death--in the American domestic slave trades. Covering the full "life cycle" (including preconception, infancy, childhood, adolescence, adulthood, the senior years, and death), historian Daina Berry shows the lengths to which slaveholders would go to maximize profits. She draws from over ten years of research to explore how enslaved people responded to being appraised, bartered, and sold. By illuminating their lives, Berry ensures that the individuals she studies are regarded as people, not merely commodities. Analyzing the depth of this monetization of human property will change the way we think about slavery, reparations, capitalism, and nineteenth-century medical education"--
Fiction

A Pound of Flesh

Author: Sophie Jackson

Publisher: Simon and Schuster

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 448

View: 868

Committed to fulfilling her murdered father's dying wish to help those in need, Kat becomes a prison tutor and develops a strong attraction to her dangerously sexy student, but his role on the night her father died may force them apart forever.
Social Science

A Pound of Flesh

Author: Alexes Harris

Publisher: Russell Sage Foundation

ISBN:

Category: Social Science

Page: 264

View: 205

Over seven million Americans are either incarcerated, on probation, or on parole, with their criminal records often following them for life and affecting access to higher education, jobs, and housing. Court-ordered monetary sanctions that compel criminal defendants to pay fines, fees, surcharges, and restitution further inhibit their ability to reenter society. In A Pound of Flesh, sociologist Alexes Harris analyzes the rise of monetary sanctions in the criminal justice system and shows how they permanently penalize and marginalize the poor. She exposes the damaging effects of a little-understood component of criminal sentencing and shows how it further perpetuates racial and economic inequality. Harris draws from extensive sentencing data, legal documents, observations of court hearings, and interviews with defendants, judges, prosecutors, and other court officials. She documents how low-income defendants are affected by monetary sanctions, which include fees for public defenders and a variety of processing charges. Until these debts are paid in full, individuals remain under judicial supervision, subject to court summons, warrants, and jail stays. As a result of interest and surcharges that accumulate on unpaid financial penalties, these monetary sanctions often become insurmountable legal debts which many offenders carry for the remainder of their lives. Harris finds that such fiscal sentences, which are imposed disproportionately on low-income minorities, help create a permanent economic underclass and deepen social stratification. A Pound of Flesh delves into the court practices of five counties in Washington State to illustrate the ways in which subjective sentencing shapes the practice of monetary sanctions. Judges and court clerks hold a considerable degree of discretion in the sentencing and monitoring of monetary sanctions and rely on individual values—such as personal responsibility, meritocracy, and paternalism—to determine how much and when offenders should pay. Harris shows that monetary sanctions are imposed at different rates across jurisdictions, with little or no state government oversight. Local officials’ reliance on their own values and beliefs can also push offenders further into debt—for example, when judges charge defendants who lack the means to pay their fines with contempt of court and penalize them with additional fines or jail time. A Pound of Flesh provides a timely examination of how monetary sanctions permanently bind poor offenders to the judicial system. Harris concludes that in letting monetary sanctions go unchecked, we have created a two-tiered legal system that imposes additional burdens on already-marginalized groups.
Fiction

A Pound of Flesh

Author: Stephen K.

Publisher: Author House

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 294

View: 616

Initially set in post Gulf War Iraq, A Pound of Flesh tells the tale of a middle class family and their struggle to leave Iraq for the freedom of the West. Drawing upon real life events, the family: Karim (father), Zaffer (son) and Sami (daughter) eventually escape with Karim's concubine Qozay. The family end up in Manchester and struggle as asylum seeking foreigners in trying to adjust and make a new life in the UK. Zaffer and Sami are gifted students who enrol in medical school and sixth form college respectively. Karim and Qozay now together in a new and free society eventually get married, finally laying the memories of Karim's missing wife to rest. Eventually Karim with the aid of his cousin Ali who is already in the UK is presented with an opportunity to buy a takeaway business: The Chippy which is located in the heart of Moss Side. Although initially proud to be business owners, the daily grind sets in and they discover that the business is not without it's problems. They are tormented by a gang of drug dealing youths whose actions are progressively getting worse. Karim and Qozay lament about the irony that they have everything they wished for whilst in Iraq but are still not happy. Karim is forced to close The Chippy after a serious assault and while off ill and depressed, a twist of fate resurrects a perverse plan that Karim has harboured to alleviate his suffering. Getting his son and cousin on side, the trio put Karim's plan into action to combat their tormentors. Karim's miscreant solution to his problems eventually backfires in a twisted and unexpected fashion.
Fiction

A Pound of Flesh

Author: Robert Sims

Publisher: Publish Green

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 240

View: 966

Sister Kate, an ex-nun, is the owner of Holy Spirits, a run-down bar in Key West where two retired Michigan lawmen hang out in "A Pound of Flesh." Their worlds change drastically when a twisted wild man from the cops' past breaks out of prison and heads south bent on absolute revenge! Suntans and boat drinks will have to wait while the nightmare from another time litters the emerald waters with bodies as his calling card to lure them out. Ricochet across the islands with the crew of Holy Spirits to a finish that is out of control!
Fiction

A Pound Of Flesh

Author: Alex Gray

Publisher: Hachette UK

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 352

View: 700

In the depths of a freezing winter, Glasgow finds itself at the mercy of not one, but two serial killers. This is Detective Inspector Lorimer's worst nightmare and beyond anything he's faced in his years on the force. Can he find a link between the brutal slaying of prostitutes in the back streets of the city and the methodical killing of several unconnected businessmen? When the latest victim turns out to be a prominent Scottish politician, the media's spotlight is shone on Lorimer's investigation. Psychologist and criminal profiler Solly Brightman is called in to help solve the cases, but his help may be futile as they realise that someone on the inside is leaking confidential police information. Meanwhile two killers haunt the snowy streets and Lorimer must act fast, before they strike again... Evoking the gritty truth of Glasgow like no other writer, Alex Gray has created in Lorimer the most dynamic Scottish detective since Rebus.
Fiction

Mrs. Pargeter's Pound of Flesh

Author: Simon Brett

Publisher: Severn House Publishers Ltd

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 264

View: 394

While she has never felt the need to change her figure, Mrs Pargeter is happy enough to accompany her friend Kim to a health farm. Until, in the night, she sees a body being wheeled out. What Mrs Pargeter doesn’t realise is that this suspicious death will set her on a trail of detection which will bring her into direct conflict with her late husband’s business associates.
Fiction

A Measure of Love: A Pound of Flesh Book 3

Author: Sophie Jackson

Publisher: Hachette UK

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 384

View: 471

A Measure of Love is the fifth title in the A Pound of Flesh series from fan-fiction superstar Sophie Jackson. From the fanfic phenomenon whose debut A Pound of Flesh had over 4.5 million reads. Fans of Samantha Young, Jodi Ellen Malpas, Jamie McGuire, Katy Evans and Prison Break will find Sophie Jackson's powerful love stories utterly addictive and unforgettable. Can true love heal the deepest scars? Riley Moore: Ex-con Riley Moore never forgot the pain of losing his first love. But he doesn't hesitate to return to Michigan when his family needs him - even though it's inevitable he'll see the girl who broke his heart. Lexie Pierce: Lexie has a secret she's hidden from Riley for five years. As much as she wants to reconnect with him, she doesn't know if he will ever be able to forgive her when he finds out. Yet when they meet again, memories of their love burn as brightly as ever, despite the pain they both suffered. Can they finally overcome the sorrow of the past and share their life together? Loyalty. Redemption. All-consuming love against the odds. Prepare to fall for the powerful storytelling of Sophie Jackson. Check out the whole A Pound of Flesh series: A Pound of Flesh, Love and Always, An Ounce of Hope, Fate and Forever and A Measure of Love.
Fiction

Love and Always: A Pound of Flesh Novella 1.5

Author: Sophie Jackson

Publisher: Hachette UK

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 192

View: 550

Love and Always is the second title in the A Pound of Flesh series from fan-fiction superstar Sophie Jackson. Fans of Samantha Young, Jodi Ellen Malpas, Jamie McGuire, Katy Evans and Prison Break will find Sophie Jackson's powerful love stories utterly addictive and unforgettable. Carter and Kat's story of love and redemption continues in Love and Always - a novella in the sensational A Pound of Flesh series. Theirs was a love that broke every rule. But the searing attraction between Wes Carter and Kat Lane was instant and impossible to deny. Against all the odds, this all-consuming love between prison tutor Kat and her dangerous, brooding student flourished and healed the deep scars borne by each of them. But as they face real life together and share the news of their engagement with those closest to them, Kat and Carter realise that they will still have to fight for their love if it is to survive forever and...always. Loyalty, redemption and all-consuming love against the odds. Check out the whole A Pound of Flesh series: A Pound of Flesh, Love and Always, An Ounce of Hope, Fate and Forever and A Measure of Love.