Nature

Mississippi River Water Quality and the Clean Water Act

Progress, Challenges, and Opportunities

Author: National Research Council,Division on Earth and Life Studies,Water Science and Technology Board,Committee on the Mississippi River and the Clean Water Act

Publisher: National Academies Press

ISBN: 9780309177818

Category: Nature

Page: 252

View: 1167

The Mississippi River is, in many ways, the nation's best known and most important river system. Mississippi River water quality is of paramount importance for sustaining the many uses of the river including drinking water, recreational and commercial activities, and support for the river's ecosystems and the environmental goods and services they provide. The Clean Water Act, passed by Congress in 1972, is the cornerstone of surface water quality protection in the United States, employing regulatory and nonregulatory measures designed to reduce direct pollutant discharges into waterways. The Clean Water Act has reduced much pollution in the Mississippi River from "point sources" such as industries and water treatment plants, but problems stemming from urban runoff, agriculture, and other "non-point sources" have proven more difficult to address. This book concludes that too little coordination among the 10 states along the river has left the Mississippi River an "orphan" from a water quality monitoring and assessment perspective. Stronger leadership from the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) is needed to address these problems. Specifically, the EPA should establish a water quality data-sharing system for the length of the river, and work with the states to establish and achieve water quality standards. The Mississippi River corridor states also should be more proactive and cooperative in their water quality programs. For this effort, the EPA and the Mississippi River states should draw upon the lengthy experience of federal-interstate cooperation in managing water quality in the Chesapeake Bay.
Education

The Rise and Fall of an Urban School System

Detroit, 1907-81

Author: Jeffrey Mirel

Publisher: University of Michigan Press

ISBN: 9780472086498

Category: Education

Page: 490

View: 831

The updated edition of the difficulties faced by the Detroit public schools and the historical reasons that led to the present situation
History

Farmington

a pictorial history

Author: Lee S. Peel

Publisher: N.A

ISBN: N.A

Category: History

Page: 256

View: 9090

Education

Educational Assessment

Tests and Measurements in the Age of Accountability

Author: Robert J. Wright

Publisher: SAGE

ISBN: 1412949173

Category: Education

Page: 563

View: 2043

Educational Tests and Measurements in the Age of Accountability is a core text for use in a first level graduate course in educational measurement and testing. In addition to covering the topics traditionally found in core textbooks for this course, this text also provides coverage of contemporary topics (including national testing programs, international achievement comparisons, the value added assessment of schools and teachers, and the public policy debate on selective admissions vs. affirmative minority enrollment).
Political Science

Puerto Rican Politics in Urban America

Author: James Jennings,Monte Rivera

Publisher: VNR AG

ISBN: 9780313238017

Category: Political Science

Page: 166

View: 9114

History

Recollections of Early Texas

Memoirs of John Holland Jenkins

Author: John Holmes Jenkins, III

Publisher: University of Texas Press

ISBN: 0292788606

Category: History

Page: 347

View: 4371

A firsthand account of pioneer life in east Texas.
Juvenile Fiction

Presto and Zesto in Limboland

Author: Arthur Yorinks,Maurice Sendak

Publisher: Michael di Capua Books

ISBN: 9780062644657

Category: Juvenile Fiction

Page: 28

View: 393

Fans of Maurice Sendak's Caldecott Medal-winning Where the Wild Things Are will love Presto and Zesto in Limboland—a never-before-published picture book collaboration between Maurice Sendak and Arthur Yorinks, author of Caldecott Medal winner Hey, Al. This marvelous tale tells the story of two friends, Presto and Zesto, and how they find themselves lost in the magical, mysterious place called Limboland. Author Arthur Yorinks said: “Nearly twenty years ago, Maurice and I, inspired by our friendship, conceived this book about two friends making their way in a very mixed-up world.” The story indeed turns the world upside down and on its head as Presto and Zesto wander into the alternate universe of Limboland. And, in the best and most familiar Sendak and Yorinks tradition, the rest of the story is an attempt to find their way home past a jumbled cast of characters. This is the third collaboration between Yorinks and Sendak, following The Miami Giant (1995) and Mommy? (2006), and is an homage to their long-time friendship.
Drama

The Wisdom of Eve

Author: Mary Orr

Publisher: Dramatists Play Service Inc

ISBN: 9780822214298

Category: Drama

Page: 99

View: 8032

THE STORY: Adapted from the story by Mary Orr, on which the film All About Eve and the hit musical APPLAUSE were based. An engrossing and revealing inside story of life in New York's theatre world, told in terms of an unscrupulous ingenue'
Genesee County (Mich.)

History of Genesee County, Michigan

With Illustrations and Biographical Sketches of Its Prominent Men and Pioneers

Author: Franklin Ellis

Publisher: N.A

ISBN: N.A

Category: Genesee County (Mich.)

Page: 446

View: 382

Juvenile Fiction

Biggest Flirts

Author: Jennifer Echols

Publisher: Simon and Schuster

ISBN: 1442474475

Category: Juvenile Fiction

Page: 336

View: 9505

Tia and Will’s lives get flipped upside down when they’re voted Yearbook’s Biggest Flirts in this sassy novel from the author of Endless Summer and The One That I Want. Tia just wants to have fun. She’s worked hard to earn her reputation as the life of the party, and she’s ready for a carefree senior year of hanging out with friends and hooking up with cute boys. And her first order of business? New guy Will. She can’t get enough of his Midwestern accent and laidback swagger. As the sparks start to fly, Will wants to get serious. Tia’s seen how caring too much has left her sisters heartbroken, and she isn’t interested in commitment. But pushing Will away drives him into the arms of another girl. Tia tells herself it’s no big deal…until the yearbook elections are announced. Getting voted Biggest Flirts with Will is, well, awkward. They may just be friends, but their chemistry is beginning to jeopardize Will’s new relationship—and causing Tia to reconsider her true feelings. What started as a lighthearted fling is about to get very complicated…
History

Inside Greenwich Village

A New York City Neighborhood, 1898-1918

Author: Gerald W. McFarland

Publisher: Univ of Massachusetts Press

ISBN: 9781558495029

Category: History

Page: 272

View: 1878

A vibrant portrait of a celebrated urban enclave at the turn of the twentieth century.
Juvenile Nonfiction

Warriors Don't Cry

Author: Melba Beals

Publisher: Simon and Schuster

ISBN: 1416948821

Category: Juvenile Nonfiction

Page: 240

View: 8268

The author describes the threats and emotional abuse she endured from white student and adults along with her fears of endangering her family as she commited to being one of the first African American students to integrate Central High School in Little Rock, Arkansas in 1957.

Arnold Flaten, Sculptor

Author: Arnold Flaten

Publisher: Augsburg Fortress Publishing

ISBN: N.A

Category:

Page: 128

View: 478

History

Orangeburg 1968

A Place and Time Remembered

Author: Sonny DuBose,Cecil Williams

Publisher: N.A

ISBN: 9780944514337

Category: History

Page: 246

View: 8970

Between 1965 and 1968, racial unrest was sparked when Orangeburg's black residents tried to integrate the All-Star Bowling Lanes, a "White-Only" facility located only a few blocks from South Carolina State College and Claflin College. Through his impeccable eye for detail and stunning portraits of reality, Cecil J. Williams and Sonny DuBose capture the tumultuous circumstances of one of South Carolina's greatest sorrows. This collection of stories, interviews and photographs revolves around a tragic event on February 8, 1968, when an all-white throng of state police unleashed massive gunfire into a crowd of about 150 students near the edge of the South Carolina State College campus. Three students were killed, and 27 were injured. Orangeburg 1968 is one of the most comprehensive books ever published about the Orangeburg Massacre. Many observers and surviving eyewitnesses reveal their stories in the unprecedented collection of historical interviews and photographs. Retold in the survivors' own words and Williams's pictures, this book remains a tribute to the lives of the students who suffered, fought, and died to reclaim their rights and freedom.
Family & Relationships

The Gift of Failure

How the Best Parents Learn to Let Go So Their Children Can Succeed

Author: Jessica Lahey

Publisher: Harper Collins

ISBN: 0062299247

Category: Family & Relationships

Page: 304

View: 8177

NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER In the tradition of Paul Tough’s How Children Succeed and Wendy Mogel’s The Blessing of a Skinned Knee, this groundbreaking manifesto focuses on the critical school years when parents must learn to allow their children to experience the disappointment and frustration that occur from life’s inevitable problems so that they can grow up to be successful, resilient, and self-reliant adults. Modern parenting is defined by an unprecedented level of overprotectiveness: parents who rush to school at the whim of a phone call to deliver forgotten assignments, who challenge teachers on report card disappointments, mastermind children’s friendships, and interfere on the playing field. As teacher and writer Jessica Lahey explains, even though these parents see themselves as being highly responsive to their children’s well being, they aren’t giving them the chance to experience failure—or the opportunity to learn to solve their own problems. Overparenting has the potential to ruin a child’s confidence and undermine their education, Lahey reminds us. Teachers don’t just teach reading, writing, and arithmetic. They teach responsibility, organization, manners, restraint, and foresight—important life skills children carry with them long after they leave the classroom. Providing a path toward solutions, Lahey lays out a blueprint with targeted advice for handling homework, report cards, social dynamics, and sports. Most importantly, she sets forth a plan to help parents learn to step back and embrace their children’s failures. Hard-hitting yet warm and wise, The Gift of Failure is essential reading for parents, educators, and psychologists nationwide who want to help children succeed.
History

Marriage and death newspaper notices, Wayne County, Michigan, 1809-1868

newspaper notices from Michigan newspapers at the Michigan Historical Collections, Bentley Historical Library, University of Michigan

Author: Marguerite Novy Lambert,James N. Jackson

Publisher: Detroit Society for Genealogical

ISBN: N.A

Category: History

Page: 144

View: 2223