Literary Collections

Selected Writings and Speeches of Marcus Garvey

Author: Marcus Garvey

Publisher: Courier Corporation

ISBN:

Category: Literary Collections

Page: 224

View: 302

This anthology contains some of the African-American rights advocate's most noted writings and speeches, among them "Declaration of the Rights of the Negro Peoples of the World" and "Africa for the Africans."
Juvenile Nonfiction

Marcus Garvey

Author: Brenda Haugen

Publisher: Capstone

ISBN:

Category: Juvenile Nonfiction

Page: 112

View: 616

Examines the life of a black leader who started a "Back-to-Africa" movement in the United States, believing blacks would never receive justice in countries with a white majority.
History

Acting White

Author: Ron Christie

Publisher: Macmillan

ISBN:

Category: History

Page: 304

View: 342

In the tradition of Randall Kennedy's Nigger and Shelby Steele's The Content of Our Character, Acting White demonstrates how the charge that any African-American who is successful, well mannered, or well educated is "acting white," is a slur that continues to haunt blacks. Ron Christie traces the complex history of the phrase, from Uncle Tom's Cabin to the tensions between Martin Luther King, Jr., and Malcolm X to Bill Cosby's controversial NAACP speech in 2004. The author also writes candidly of being challenged by black students for his "acting white," and also of being labeled a race traitor in Congress by daring to be Republican. This lucid chronicle reveals how this prevalent put-down sets back much of the hard-earned progress for all blacks in American society. Deftly argued and determinedly controversial, this book is certain to spur thoughtful discussion for years to come.
Juvenile Nonfiction

I’ve Been Racially Profiled. Now What?

Author: Alexandra Hanson-Harding

Publisher: The Rosen Publishing Group, Inc

ISBN:

Category: Juvenile Nonfiction

Page: 112

View: 110

This volume explains what racial profiling is, who is likely to be targeted, and how to deal with the police if you are singled out. Readers will learn about the racial bias in the American justice and prison systems, as well as how to stay out of the school-to-prison pipeline.
History

Encyclopedia of American Immigration: Galvan v. Press

Author: Carl Leon Bankston

Publisher: Salem PressInc

ISBN:

Category: History

Page: 1232

View: 547

This three-volume set covers the full breadth of American immigration history in 525 alphabetically arranged and easy-to-understand articles. Designed and written to be understood by high school students and college undergraduates Encyclopedia of American Immigration offers a clear and innovative approach to immigration history that can also be used by advanced students and scholars. The goal of the set is to address all questions about immigration that students might reasonably be expected to ask: Where immigrants have come from and why; how they have adapted to their new homeland; how they have contributed to American culture and society; how government policies toward them have changed; and how American immigration history has fit into worldwide migration patterns. - Publisher.
Biography & Autobiography

American Heroes: Hank Aaron ; Ralph Abernathy ; Abigail Adams ; John Adams ; Samuel Adams ; Jane Addams ; Muhammad Ali ; Maya Angelou ; Susan B. Anthony ; Neil Armstrong ; Robert Ballard ; Benjamin Banneker, Clara Barton ; Alexander Graham Bell ; Mary McLeod Bethune ; Black Hawk ; Daniel Boone ; Omar Nelson Bradley ; Louis D. Brandeis ; Joseph Brant ; William J. Brennan ; John Brown ; Olympia Brown ; Ralph Bunche ; Richard Byrd ; Frances Xavier Cabrini ; Rachel Carson ; Jimmy Carter ; George Washington Carver ; Mary Ann Shadd Cary ; Carrie Chapman Catt ; Wilt Chamberlain ; Cesar Chavez ; Shirley Chisholm ; Hilary Rodham Clinton ; Ty Cobb ; Bessie Coleman ; Bill Cosby ; Crazy Horse ; David Crockett ; Walter Cronkite ; Clarence Darrow ; Dorothy Day ; Eugene V. Debs ; Stephen Decatur ; Jack Dempsey ; Joe DiMaggio ; Walt Disney ; Dorothea Dix ; Jimmy Doolittle ; Helen Gahagan Douglas ; William O. Douglas ; Frederick Douglass ; W.E.B. DuBois ; Amelia Earhart ; Mary Baker Eddy ; Marian Wright Edelman ; Thomas Alva Edison ; Albert Einstein ; Dwight D. Eisenhower ; Chris Evert ; Louis Farrakhan ; Betty Ford ; Benjamin Franklin ; John C. Fremont ; Betty Friedan ; William Lloyd Garrison ; Marcus Garvey ; Bill Gates ; Lou Gehrig ; Geronimo

Author: Salem Press

Publisher: Magill's Choice

ISBN:

Category: Biography & Autobiography

Page: 1078

View: 884

Offers more than two hundred biographical essays on American men and women who have made significant contributions to American history and society.
History

Encyclopedia of American Immigration: Paper sons

Author: Carl Leon Bankston

Publisher: Salem PressInc

ISBN:

Category: History

Page: 1232

View: 785

This three-volume set covers the full breadth of American immigration history in 525 alphabetically arranged and easy-to-understand articles. Designed and written to be understood by high school students and college undergraduates Encyclopedia of American Immigration offers a clear and innovative approach to immigration history that can also be used by advanced students and scholars. The goal of the set is to address all questions about immigration that students might reasonably be expected to ask: Where immigrants have come from and why; how they have adapted to their new homeland; how they have contributed to American culture and society; how government policies toward them have changed; and how American immigration history has fit into worldwide migration patterns. - Publisher.