Fiction

Tales Around The Campfire

Author: Sciantel Crista

Publisher: BookRix

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 117

View: 124

HERE IS 5 SHORT STORIES TO ENTICE AND MAYBE EVEN BRING A BIT OF FRIGHT IN THE DARK... This is book 1 of 2. 1. Heaven's Narrow Path: Meet a little boy who had it all, but misfortune soon sends him on a quest he didn't sign up for and has him even questioning his own existence... 2. M.D: Mark Tanner is a really good physician but he has no bedside manner and he could learn a lot from his patient. But can he in time? 3. Forgiven: What would you do if a serial killer took everything from you but he got it all in turn. Forgiveness. 4. Someone Else's Child: This is about two teens who collide into each other's world and at first cannot stand one another, but soon they find they have more in common than they think... 5. The Spider's Tangled Web: We'd all like to have a dad who would love and accept us. But in Zake's life that just isn't the case. No matter how hard he tries his dad just will not even hardly acknowledge his son or let alone believe he has real potential.
Juvenile Fiction

The Curse of the Campfire Weenies

Author: David Lubar

Publisher: Macmillan

ISBN:

Category: Juvenile Fiction

Page: 208

View: 661

A boy discovers the answer to one of the great urban mysteries: why are pigeons always pooping in parks? A second-grade class learns why they should always be nice to their math teacher....An ancient predator uses the internet to search out its prey... A young girl and her little brother escape a campfire weenie only to encounter something even more terrifying: a troupe of Girl Scouts singing campfire songs. For this, his third collection of warped and creepy "weenie" tales, critically-acclaimed author and master of the macabre David Lubar traveled deep into the shadowy corners of his mind, looking for new ways to amuse and terrify his readers. And in the tradition of In the Land of the Lawn Weenies and Invasion of the Road Weenies, he reveals the inspiration behind each of the thirty-five stories at the end of the book. At the Publisher's request, this title is being sold without Digital Rights Management Software (DRM) applied.
Literary Criticism

The Facts on File Companion to the British Short Story

Author: Andrew Maunder

Publisher: Infobase Publishing

ISBN:

Category: Literary Criticism

Page: 545

View: 779

A comprehensive reference to short fiction from Great Britain, Ireland, and the British Commonwealth. With approximately 450 entries, this A-to-Z guide explores the literary contributions of such writers as Joseph Conrad, James Joyce, D H Lawrence, Rudyard Kipling, Oscar Wilde, Katherine Mansfield, Martin Amis, and others.
American poetry

Encyclopedia of the New York School Poets

Author: Terence Diggory

Publisher: Infobase Publishing

ISBN:

Category: American poetry

Page: 560

View: 301

An A-to-Z reference to writers of the New York School, including John Ashbery, who is often considered America's greatest living poet. Examines significant movements in literary history and its development through the years.
Fiction

Ancient Sorceries and Other Weird Stories

Author: Algernon Blackwood

Publisher: Penguin

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 400

View: 327

By turns bizarre, unsettling, spooky, and sublime, Ancient Sorceries and Other Weird Stories showcases nine incomparable stories from master conjuror Algernon Blackwood. Evoking the uncanny spiritual forces of Nature, Blackwood's writings all tread the nebulous borderland between fantasy, awe, wonder, and horror. Here Blackwood displays his best and most disturbing work-including "The Willows," which Lovecraft singled out as "the single finest weird tale in literature"; "The Wendigo"; "The Insanity of Jones"; and "Sand." For more than seventy years, Penguin has been the leading publisher of classic literature in the English-speaking world. With more than 1,700 titles, Penguin Classics represents a global bookshelf of the best works throughout history and across genres and disciplines. Readers trust the series to provide authoritative texts enhanced by introductions and notes by distinguished scholars and contemporary authors, as well as up-to-date translations by award-winning translators. From the Trade Paperback edition.
History

The 1906 San Francisco Earthquake and Fire

Author: Charles Morris

Publisher: Courier Dover Publications

ISBN:

Category: History

Page: 240

View: 787

Fifty-nine original full-page illustrations enhance these firsthand narratives, which trace the chain of events from the earthquake and fire to the plight of the homeless and the colossal task of rebuilding.

Love of Life, and Other Stories

Author: Jack London

Publisher:

ISBN:

Category:

Page: 80

View: 767

A collection of eight short stories from American author, journalist, and social activist Jack London. Written during his 'Klondike' period, the title story 'Love of Life' follows the trek of a prospector across the Canadian tundra. Contents: - Love of Life - The Story of Keesh - A Day's Lodging - Negore, The Coward - The Sun Dog Trail - The Unexpected - The White Man's Way - Brown Wolf John Griffith "Jack" London (born John Griffith Chaney, January 12, 1876 - November 22, 1916)was an American novelist, journalist, and social activist. A pioneer in the then-burgeoning world of commercial magazine fiction, he was one of the first fiction writers to obtain worldwide celebrity and a large fortune from his fiction alone. Some of his most famous works include The Call of the Wild and White Fang, both set in the Klondike Gold Rush, as well as the short stories "To Build a Fire," "An Odyssey of the North," and "Love of Life." He also wrote of the South Pacific in such stories as "The Pearls of Parlay" and "The Heathen," and of the San Francisco Bay area in The Sea Wolf. London was part of the radical literary group "The Crowd" in San Francisco and a passionate advocate of unionization, socialism, and the rights of workers. He wrote several powerful works dealing with these topics, such as his dystopian novel The Iron Heel, his non-fiction expose The People of the Abyss, and The War of the Classes"
Young Adult Fiction

The Curiosities

Author: Brenna Yovanoff

Publisher: Carolrhoda Lab ™

ISBN:

Category: Young Adult Fiction

Page: 304

View: 190

From acclaimed and New York Times best-selling YA authors Maggie Stiefvater, Tessa Gratton, and Brenna Yovanoff comes The Curiosities: A Collection of Stories. • A vampire locked in a cage in the basement, for good luck. • Bad guys, clever girls, and the various reasons why the guys have to stop breathing. • A world where fires never go out (with references to vanilla ice cream). These are but a few of the curiosities collected in this volume of short stories by three acclaimed practitioners of paranormal fiction. But The Curiosities is more than the stories. Since 2008, Maggie, Tessa, and Brenna have posted more than 250 works of short fiction to their website www.merryfates.com. Their goal was simple: create a space for experimentation and improvisation in their writing—all in public and without a backspace key. In that spirit, The Curiosities includes the stories and each author's comments, critiques, and kudos in the margins. Think of it as a guided tour of the creative processes of three acclaimed authors.
Fiction

A Round of Stories by the Christmas Fire

Author: Charles Dickens

Publisher: Hesperus Press

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 134

View: 261

Cosy-up on a cold winter’s night with a collection of festive tales from literary master Charles Dickens, re-issued just in time for Christmas. Published in its entirety for the first time since 1852, this Christmas number of Dickens’ periodical Household Words is a shining example of the varied thematic and narrative styles of Victorian storytelling. One of Dickens’ earliest collections of stories for the holiday season, A Round of Stories by the Christmas Fire offers tales of romance, theft, justice and heart-warming family reunions. Continuing the tradition of ghost stories for Christmas, some of the haunting tales are inspiring while others are chilling. The voices of this round include servants and employers alike - host and charwoman, mother and nursemaid - and some surprising ruminations on topics as diverse as disability and interracial love.