Body, Mind & Spirit

The Art of Happiness - 10th Anniversary Edition

Author: The Dalai Lama

Publisher: Hachette UK

ISBN:

Category: Body, Mind & Spirit

Page: 352

View: 643

In this unique and important book, one of the world's great spiritual leaders offers his practical wisdom and advice on how we can overcome everyday human problems and achieve lasting happiness. The Art of Happiness is a highly accessible guide for a western audience, combining the Dalai Lama's eastern spiritual tradition with Dr Howard C. Cutler's western perspective. Covering all key areas of human experience, they apply the principles of Tibetan Buddhism to everyday problems and reveal how one can find balance and complete spiritual and mental freedom. For the many who wish to understand more about the Dalai Lama's approach to living, there has never been a book which brings his beliefs so vividly into the real world.
Body, Mind & Spirit

The Art of Comforting

Author: Val Walker

Publisher: Penguin

ISBN:

Category: Body, Mind & Spirit

Page: 320

View: 850

We live in an increasingly "virtual" world in which it can be tempting to skip making that true, human connection with someone in pain. Even though our thoughts might be with them, we lack the confidence to reach out, worrying that we will say or do the "wrong" thing. In this practical, step-by-step guide to what she calls "the art of comforting," Val Walker draws on numerous interviews with "Master Comforters" to guide readers in gently and gracefully breaking through the walls that those who are suffering often erect around themselves. Interviewees include inspiring individuals such as Alicia Rasin, who, as a victim's advocate for the city of Richmond, Virginia, has devoted her life to comforting grieving families devastated by homicide, gang violence, and other traumatic experiences; or Patricia Ellen, who, as a grief counselor and outreach director at the Center for Grieving Children in Portland, Maine, appears on site to support and comfort children, staff, and parents when a school is facing a death, violence, or other crises. All of us will, at one time or the other, be called upon to offer warmth and support to another human being who is suffering-this book will show you how to answer the call with an open heart.
Business & Economics

Buddhist Economics

Author: Clair Brown

Publisher: Bloomsbury Publishing USA

ISBN:

Category: Business & Economics

Page: 224

View: 647

In the tradition of E. F. Schumacher's Small Is Beautiful, renowned economist Clair Brown argues persuasively for a new economics built upon equality, sustainability, and right living. "Buddhist Economics will give guidance to all those who seek peace, fairness, and environmental sustainability." -Jeffrey Sachs, author of The Age of Sustainable Development. Traditional economics measures the ways in which we spend our income, but doesn't attribute worth to the crucial human interactions that give our lives meaning. Clair Brown, an economics professor at U.C. Berkeley and a practicing Buddhist, has developed a holistic model, one based on the notion that quality of life should be measured by more than national income. Brown advocates an approach to organizing the economy that embraces rather than skirts questions of values, sustainability, and equity. Complementing the award-winning work of Jeffrey Sachs and Bill McKibben, and the paradigm-breaking spirit of Amartya Sen, Robert Reich, and Thomas Piketty, Brown incorporates the Buddhist emphasis on interdependence, shared prosperity, and happiness into her vision for a sustainable and compassionate world. Buddhist economics leads us to think mindfully as we go about our daily activities, and offers a way to appreciate how our actions affect the well-being of those around us. By replacing the endless cycle of desire with more positive collective activities, we can make our lives more meaningful as well as happier. Inspired by the popular course Professor Brown teaches at U.C. Berkeley, Buddhist Economics represents an enlightened approach to our modern world infused with ancient wisdom, with benefits both personal and global, for generations to come.
Family & Relationships

Dancing with Fire

Author: John Amodeo

Publisher: Quest Books

ISBN:

Category: Family & Relationships

Page: 288

View: 638

Winner of the 2014 Silver Independent Publisher Book Award in the relationship category and winner of the Spirituality and Practice Award as one of the best spiritual books of 2013! The search for inner peace is often met with what seems like a conflicting path– the irresistible pull of love and connection with others to which we are drawn. Reconciling these opposites, John Amodeo shows how spirituality and vibrant relationships are identical. He says that Buddha’s concept of the root of suffering is misunderstood. It is not desire that causes suffering; desire is the fire that springs from the basic life force. Drawing upon the science of attachment theory, Amodeo illuminates how the root of our suffering is disconnection from ourselves and others, which is fueled by clinging to what doesn't serve us In a conversational tone, Amodeo presents relationship as sacred experience. He teaches how to welcome desire mindfully rather than suppress it and how to overcome fear of failure in relating. He also discusses meditation as self-intimacy and holding ourselves with loving-kindness. Lastly, he explores the role of community in spiritual awakening and the issue of whom to trust—our guru or ourselves?
Religion

Asian Religions

Author: Randall L. Nadeau

Publisher: John Wiley & Sons

ISBN:

Category: Religion

Page: 280

View: 471

This lively introduction offers a complete overview of the mainAsian religions, their traditions and contemporary relevance, andhow they are lived and practiced today. Provides readers with an all-embracing introduction toAsian religions, covering each of the main traditions in a stylethat is lively and distinctive Focuses on Asian religions as lived and practiced by realpeople, leading readers to a deeper understanding of Asianspiritualities and traditions, and their contemporaryrelevance Uses exercises, activities, and an appealing mixture ofexamples, such as novels, throughout the book, to both inform andengage readers Employs a comparative approach, highlighting the contrastsbetween Asian and Western modes of thinking and living Debates the influence of religion on real-world issuesincluding work, economic growth, the environment, human rights, andgender relations Written by an acclaimed scholar in this field, who is able todraw on his remarkable knowledge across all relevant religioustraditions
Self-Help

The Happiness Project Tenth Anniversary Edition

Author: Gretchen Rubin

Publisher: Harper

ISBN:

Category: Self-Help

Page: 416

View: 256

“This book made me happy in the first five pages.” —AJ Jacobs, author of The Year of Living Biblically: One Man's Humble Quest to Follow the Bible as Literally as Possible Award-winning author Gretchen Rubin is back with a bang, with The Happiness Project. The author of the bestselling 40 Ways to Look at Winston Churchill has produced a work that is “a cross between the Dalai Lama’s The Art of Happiness and Elizabeth Gilbert’s Eat, Pray, Love.” (Sonya Lyubomirsky, author of The How of Happiness: A Scientific Approach to Getting the Life You Want) In the vein of Julie and Julia, The Happiness Project describes one person’s year-long attempt to discover what leads to true contentment. Drawing at once on cutting-edge science, classical philosophy, and real-world applicability, Rubin has written an engaging, eminently relatable chronicle of transformation.
Book industries and trade

Quill & Quire

Author:

Publisher:

ISBN:

Category: Book industries and trade

Page:

View: 399