Fiction

The Snowman

Author: Jo Nesbo

Publisher: Random House

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 576

View: 766

NOW A MAJOR FILM STARRING MICHAEL FASSBENDER 36 MILLION BOOKS SOLD WORLDWIDE Soon the first snow will come A young boy wakes to find his mother missing. Outside, he sees her favourite scarf – wrapped around the neck of a snowman. And then he will appear again Detective Harry Hole soon discovers that an alarming number of wives and mothers have gone missing over the years. And when the snow is gone... When a second woman disappears, Harry’s worst suspicion is confirmed: a serial killer is operating on his home turf. ...he will have taken someone else
History

The History of the Snowman

Author: Bob Eckstein

Publisher: Simon and Schuster

ISBN:

Category: History

Page: 240

View: 721

Who made the first snowman? Who first came up with the idea of placing snowballs on top of each other, and who decided they would use a carrot for a nose? Most puzzling of all: How can this mystery ever be solved, with all the evidence long since melted? The snowman appears everywhere on practically everything -- from knickknacks to greeting cards to seasonal sweaters we plan to return. Whenever we see big snowballs our first impulse is to deck them out with a top hat. Humorist and writer Bob Eckstein has long been fascinated by this ubiquitous symbol of wintertime fun -- and finally, for the first time, one of the world's most popular icons gets his due. A thoroughly entertaining exploration, The History of the Snowman travels back in time to shed light on the snowman's enigmatic past -- from the present day, in which the snowman reigns as the King of Kitsch, to the Dark Ages, with the creation of the very first snowman. Eckstein's curiosity began playfully enough, but soon snowballed into a (mostly) earnest quest of chasing Frosty around the world, into museums and libraries, and seeking out the advice of leading historians and scholars. The result is a riveting history that reaches back through centuries and across cultures -- sweeping from fifteenth-century Italian snowballs to eighteenth-century Russian ice sculptures to the regrettable "white-trash years" (1975-2000). The snowman is not just part of our childhood memories, but is an integral part of our world culture, appearing -- much like a frozen Forrest Gump -- alongside dignitaries and celebrities during momentous events. Again and again, the snowman pops up in rare prints, paintings, early movies, advertising and, over the past century, in every art form imaginable. And the jolly snowman -- ostensibly as pure as the driven snow -- also harbors a dark past full of political intrigue, sex, and violence. With more than two hundred illustrations and a special section of the best snowman cartoons, The History of the Snowman is a truly original winter classic -- smart, surprisingly enlightening, and quite simply the coolest book ever.
Juvenile Fiction

The Snowman

Author: Raymond Briggs

Publisher: Penguin UK

ISBN:

Category: Juvenile Fiction

Page: 32

View: 648

The Snowman audio ebook is based on the much-loved and iconic children's book, The Snowman, written by Raymond Briggs. This enchanting ebook tells the story of a small boy's magical friendship with a snowman one winter's night and is illustrated with beautiful images from the original Snowman film. On Christmas Eve 2012, the Snowman's 30th anniversary, the much-anticipated sequel, The Snowman and the Snowdog, was broadcast on Channel Four. Watched by 11 million people, it is set to become a family festive favourite for many years to come.
Juvenile Fiction

The Snowman

Author: Michael Morpurgo

Publisher: Penguin UK

ISBN:

Category: Juvenile Fiction

Page: 160

View: 246

Beloved children's author Michael Morpurgo has re-imagined Raymond Briggs' classic The Snowman for a new generation of readers. One December morning, James is thrilled to wake up to see snow falling. He spends the whole day making his perfect snowman; he has coal eyes, an old green hat and scarf and a tangerine nose... just like the snowman from his favourite story. That night, something magical happens- the Snowman comes to life! He and James take to the skies on a magical adventure where they meet someone very special. Inspired by the timeless tale, Michael Morpurgo and Robin Shaw have created the perfect Christmas story for the whole family.
Fiction

The Snowman Capers of Finneus Bleek

Author: Kevin Watts

Publisher: WestBowPress

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 76

View: 259

The battle begins as Finneus, a grade three genius, has had enough. Derek, a grade six bully, has been picking on him for years, and now it is time for Finneus to get even. Will he be able to design a creation to make Derek believe he is losing his mind, or does God have a greater purpose for his talent? This is a passionate, suspenseful, and amusing story of a boy that will learn that his intelligence is not enough to change what he is going through with Derek. He will have to stretch and grow in other ways to become the person God wants him to bethe boy named Finneus Bleek.
Fiction

The Pope & the Snowman

Author: Roger Coleman

Publisher: AuthorHouse

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 108

View: 345

In the tradition of The Little Prince, The Pope and the Snowman is a book that can be read on several levels. For adults, it is a story tracing the pope's loss of faith and his search to recover a sense of compassion and purpose. For children, it is a story in which the pope is given the opportunity to become a child again, rediscovering joy and hope in the faces of the children he meets. In the end, with the help of the the snowman and the children of Rome, the pope makes a personal commitment with far reaching consequences. The Pope and the Snowman includes 22 illustrations by Richard Becker, a free-lance illustrator and former designer with Hallmark Cards. A limited number of signed copies in the hardcover edition are available for $24.95 as a benefit for Operation Breakthrough, an organization providing a safe and loving educational environment for Kansas City, Missouri children living in poverty. Call 1-800-237-1922 or e-mail Roger Coleman at [email protected] to order. All credit cards accepted.
Readers

The Snowman

Author: Jill Eggleton

Publisher:

ISBN:

Category: Readers

Page: 16

View: 734

Simon the Snowman

Author: Jill Eisnaugle

Publisher: Lulu.com

ISBN:

Category:

Page: 32

View: 160

It is nearly Christmas and the Wells family had just moved to their small town. Eight-year-old Nicholas was lonely and in need of a friend. He would soon learn that the good friend we need is as close as our front yard.
Fiction

When the Snowman Melts

Author: Vivian Home

Publisher: Xlibris Corporation

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 117

View: 490

Marcus Garvey Walker is smart, savvy, handsome, black and a partner in one of San Franciscos most prestigious law firms, Rheinhold, Marks and Walker. Marcus is married to Elizabeth, a successful and attractive TV news anchor. Their symphonious aligned life is suddenly interrupted when Marcus best friend Larry confides to him that he is HIV-positive. Larry drops the news like a nuclear warhead and doesnt explain it even when Marcus pushes him. This revelation by Larry causes Marcus to teeter. Although he loves Elizabeth, he hasnt exactly been the perfect husband. Almost...but...The but...is what causes everything to take on a new life of its own. He knows that he and Elizabeth must talk. He is reluctant since Larrys wife and Elizabeth are also friends. Then things get worse. Elizabeths friend and co-worker discovers her husband has been shot and killed upon her return home. The murdered husband is a political giant in San Franciscos politics. The case is high profile. At first, detectives lean on the friend as a suspect until it is learned that she was at a barbecue given by Marcus and Elizabeth at the time of the murder. Macbeth Chen and Jorge Ramirez, two of SFPDs ace detectives are assigned to the case with marching orders to solve this case yesterday. Their investigation take them to several false leads in the Castro district. All roads turn out to be dead ends. Then one day in court on a totally unrelated case, Chen spots a man in court wearing the same identical jade Buddha diamond encrusted pin that the murdered man had been wearing. He soon learns the mans identity and is hot on his trail. When the man realizes this, he drives to a deserted industrial area not caring that Chen and Ramirez are following him. When they cautiously approach the car, they learn that the man has shot himself in the temple and is dead. The man turns out to be Larry, Marcus best friend. Now Marcus is hit squarely in the face with everything, he and Elizabeth finally talk. Elizabeth is devastated with what she learns. In a rage she leaves Marcus. Alone and in pain, Marcus tries to sought all that has happened. He is determined that he will win her back at all cost. Just when he is consumed with how he is going to win her back, a familiar key opens the lock.
Juvenile Fiction

Frosty the Snowman

Author: Kenny Loggins

Publisher: Charlesbridge

ISBN:

Category: Juvenile Fiction

Page: 28

View: 266

An enchanting interpretation of the magical wintertime song, including a special recording by Kenny Loggins. Featuring spectacular art by Wade Zahares, and the CD, with the title song and two others, the picture book will captivate young readers.