Humor

The Wit & Wisdom of Tyrion Lannister

Author: George R. R. Martin

Publisher: Bantam

ISBN:

Category: Humor

Page: 192

View: 543

The perfect gift for fans of George R. R. Martin’s A Song of Ice and Fire novels and HBO’s Game of Thrones: a collection of wicked one-liners from the incomparable Imp of Casterly Rock, fully illustrated by Jonty Clark! “My mind is my weapon. My brother has his sword, King Robert has his warhammer, and I have my mind . . . and a mind needs books as a sword needs a whetstone if it is to keep its edge.” The jealous masses of the Seven Kingdoms may call him Halfman, but none have ever accused Tyrion Lannister of being a halfwit. His golden tongue has saved his skin slightly more often than it has landed him in mortal peril. Now, this special illustrated volume preserves his most essential knowledge for future generations, featuring time-tested guidance on such varied subjects as . . . The art of persuasion “The best lies are seasoned with a bit of truth.” Fine dining “A little honest loathing can be refreshing, like a tart wine after too much sweet.” The fair sex “The young ones smell much better, but the old ones know more tricks.” Royal politics “Crowns do queer things to the heads beneath them.” Common ailments “A sword through the bowels. A sure cure for constipation.” At once charming, insightful, and ruthlessly irreverent, The Wit & Wisdom of Tyrion Lannister is short on pretense and overflowing with finely crafted gems—just like the man himself.
Reference

e-Pedia: Game of Thrones (season 6)

Author: Wikipedia Contributors

Publisher: e-Pedia

ISBN:

Category: Reference

Page: 6107

View: 599

This carefully crafted ebook is formatted for your eReader with a functional and detailed table of contents. The sixth season of the fantasy drama television series Game of Thrones premiered on HBO on April 24, 2016, and concluded on June 26, 2016. It consists of ten episodes, each of approximately 50–60 minutes, largely of original content not found in George R. R. Martin's A Song of Ice and Fire series. Some material is adapted from the upcoming sixth novel The Winds of Winter and the fourth and fifth novels, A Feast for Crows and A Dance with Dragons. The series was adapted for television by David Benioff and D. B. Weiss. HBO ordered the season on April 8, 2014, together with the fifth season, which began filming in July 2015 primarily in Northern Ireland, Spain, Croatia, Iceland and Canada. Each episode cost over $10 million. This book has been derived from Wikipedia: it contains the entire text of the title Wikipedia article + the entire text of all the 593 related (linked) Wikipedia articles to the title article. This book does not contain illustrations. e-Pedia (an imprint of e-artnow) charges for the convenience service of formatting these e-books for your eReader. We donate a part of our net income after taxes to the Wikimedia Foundation from the sales of all books based on Wikipedia content.
Philosophy

The Ultimate Game of Thrones and Philosophy

Author: Eric J. Silverman

Publisher: Open Court

ISBN:

Category: Philosophy

Page: 288

View: 262

The Ultimate Game of Thrones and Philosophy treats fans to dozens of new essays by experts who examine philosophical questions raised by the Game of Thrones story. This ultimate analysis provides the most comprehensive discussion to date and engages the Game of Thrones universe through the end of Season Six of the HBO series. Ned Stark, Tyrion Lannister, Jon Snow, Joffrey, Cersei, Brienne, Arya, Stannis, and many other characters are used to apply the traditional philosophical questions that everyone faces. How should political leaders be chosen in Westeros and beyond? Is power merely an illusion? Is it immoral to enjoy overly violent and sexual stories like Game of Thrones? How should morally ambiguous individuals such as Jamie Lannister: The Kingslayer and Savior of King’s Landing be evaluated? Can anyone be trusted in a society like Westeros? What rules should govern sexual relationships in a world of love, incest, rape, and arranged marriage? How does disability shape identity for individuals like Tyrion, Bran, and others? How would one know whether there is a God in the Game of Thrones universe and what he is like?
Fiction

The Mammoth Book of Best New SF 27

Author: Gardner Dozois

Publisher: Hachette UK

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 784

View: 772

For decades now Gardner Dozois has been presenting his annual selection of the very best of recently published SF stories, both by undisputed masters of the genre and by outstanding up-and-coming writers. It has been voted Year’s Best Anthology by the readers of Locus magazine an unparalleled eighteen times and remains the definitive anthology for both diehard sci-fi fans and newcomers to the genre. Without fail, Dozois pinpoints the previous year’s most exciting and ambitious science fiction, showcasing truly exceptional contemporary writing. This year’s collection is better than ever, comprising 33 fantastic stories by writers of the calibre of Robert Reed, Aliette de Bodard, Alastair Reynolds, Carrie Vaughn, Ian R. MacLeod and Jay Lake. The Mammoth Book of Best New SF 27 includes, as ever, Dozois’s extensive recommended reading guide and his illuminating and incisive summation of the year in science fiction. Praise for previous editions: 'This annual compilation of the previous year's best short stories and novellas, together with a comprehensive summation of the state of the genre and an extensive "honourable mentions" list, has become an institution over the past three decades.' Guardian 'Quantity as well as quality . . . every piece is a treasure.' The Times 'For more than a quarter century, Gardner Dozois's Mammoth Book of Best New SF has defined the field. It is the most important anthology, not only annually, but overall.' Charles N. Brown, publisher of Locus 'New authors rub shoulders with old hands, and strong work from relative novices Hannu Rajaniemi and Lavie Tidhar suggest that SF's future is as bright as ever.' Financial Times ‘The most respected editor in the field.’ George R. R. Martin
Fiction

The Year's Best Science Fiction: Thirty-First Annual Collection

Author: Gardner Dozois

Publisher: St. Martin's Griffin

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 752

View: 594

In the new millennium, what secrets lay beyond the far reaches of the universe? What mysteries belie the truths we once held to be self evident? The world of science fiction has long been a porthole into the realities of tomorrow, blurring the line between life and art. Now, in The Year's Best Science Fiction: Thirty-First Annual Collection the very best SF authors explore ideas of a new world in the year's best short stories. This venerable collection brings together award winning authors and masters of the field such as Robert Reed, Alastair Reynolds, Damien Broderick, Elizabeth Bear, Paul McAuley and John Barnes. And with an extensive recommended reading guide and a summation of the year in science fiction, this annual compilation has become the definitive must-read anthology for all science fiction fans and readers interested in breaking into the genre.