Biography & Autobiography

Travelling Light

Author: Alastair Sawday

Publisher: Hachette UK

ISBN:

Category: Biography & Autobiography

Page: 320

View: 590

A charming and beautifully written account of the pleasures of slow travel - for readers of Patrick Leigh Fermor, Colin Thubron and Eric Newby. 'Lawrence Sterne once suggested that we travel for one of just three reasons: imbecility of mind, infirmity of body or inevitable necessity. One might add to Sterne's little list: envy, curiosity - or just too much bloody rain at home. Escape, in other words.' Campaigner, publisher and wanderer Alastair Sawday has spent his life travelling. En route he has unearthed a multitude of stories - stories of people ploughing their own furrows, of travellers' tales, stories from the 'front line' of his publishing , ruminations and reflections about places, people and ideas. In this deeply charming, erudite and spirited book, he shares his experiences and explores the value of travel. 'The richer our imaginations, the richer our travel experience. We British do things one way and the Spaniards another; there are unlimited ways of doing everything. Kindness is found in unexpected places, as is eccentricity. Eccentrics are an endangered species and need as much protection as does the house sparrow.' Travelling Light is a gradual awakening to the fragility of everything we love through contemplative, consciously slow journeying. Every visit uncovers difference - from France profonde to the darker side of Sicily, and to the woodland, flora, fauna, views and silence of rural Britain. Alastair Sawday gives voice to those of us who have climbed no mountains, discovered no rivers, created no great institutions, powered no legislation, changed very little - but who yearn to understand the world and make sense of its infinite variety.

Popular Mechanics

Author:

Publisher:

ISBN:

Category:

Page: 312

View: 930

Popular Mechanics inspires, instructs and influences readers to help them master the modern world. Whether it’s practical DIY home-improvement tips, gadgets and digital technology, information on the newest cars or the latest breakthroughs in science -- PM is the ultimate guide to our high-tech lifestyle.
History

History and Families, Anderson County, Kentucky

Author:

Publisher: Turner Publishing Company

ISBN:

Category: History

Page: 188

View: 127

(From the foreword) This Family History of Anderson County preserves the proud heritage of our county and communities as well as many of our churches, businesses, organizations and families. Our intent is to record a picture of the people, organizations and activities for future generations.
Travel

Able to Travel

Author: Alison Walsh

Publisher: Rough Guides Limited

ISBN:

Category: Travel

Page: 603

View: 977

Practical advice for travelers with disabilities is accompanied by stories from disabled travelers relating their experiences
Kukatja (Australian people)

Flight of the kingfisher

Author: Monica Furlong

Publisher:

ISBN:

Category: Kukatja (Australian people)

Page: 178

View: 728