Fiction

A Family Scandal

Author: Kitty Neale

Publisher: HarperCollins UK

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 352

View: 304

**A gritty and emotional family drama, from the Sunday Times bestseller. Perfect for fans of Nadine Dorries and Katie Flynn.**
Fiction

A Family Scandal

Author: Zoe Miller

Publisher: Hachette UK

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 400

View: 120

The Rock Star It is twenty years since rock musician Zach Anderson mysteriously plunged to his death in a lake. When media interest in the incident is suddenly re-ignited, hidden tensions fracture the glamorous facade of the Morgan family, totally changing their lives. The Sisters Twenty years after this tragedy, the Morgan sisters Ellie, Miranda and their half-sister Lucy, Zach Anderson's love child, find themselves in the harsh glare of the media spotlight once more. When their mother falls seriously ill, the sisters are forced to return to Dublin. They must confront each other as well as their greatest fears. But what secrets are they hiding? Will their love for one another hold them together or tear them apart?
Fiction

The Family Scandal Series

Author: Endia Andras

Publisher: Lulu Press, Inc

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page:

View: 557

SHORT STORIES: Mariyah Jacobs (Riyah), an outspoken teenager, suspects her older sister of having an affair. When she finds out who the other person is, she quickly exposes the both of them to her family. From there things begin to fall apart as the situation becomes more complicated. Riyah's mother (Terri), the glue that holds the family together, is forced to try to put her family back together but soon finds out that she is the only one interested in doing so. Will Terri ever be able to put her family back together or will thing continue to get worse?

Scandal In The Family

Author: Errol Samuel

Publisher:

ISBN:

Category:

Page: 206

View: 536

Bee loses her mother when she is ten years old and is fostered by a missionary family, living in Grenada. Two years later, when Bee is just twelve, the family discovers she is pregnant. The revelation that it might be a family member is so disturbing; the shame it would bring on their family is so terrifying, they ship Bee off to England. Bee ends up in a hostel, where she gives birth to a son, and learns to survive in a foreign country, when she is just a girl herself. At eighteen, Bee meets Errol, and finds the kind of love which will stand the test of time. But she will have many rivers to cross. When she takes her niece into her home, what ensues will provoke Errol to infidelity and evoke secrets from Bee's past, which she has tried so hard to bury. The deception that follows will unsettle her family, test her unwavering faith in God and affect generations to come.
Biography & Autobiography

Dancing at Ciro's

Author: Sheila Weller

Publisher: St. Martin's Griffin

ISBN:

Category: Biography & Autobiography

Page: 288

View: 852

"Poignant memoir of a not-so-typical New York Jewish family’s experiences in the midcentury Hollywood demimonde ... Equal parts emotional tissue-party and shrewd cultural history." - Kirkus Reviews In 1958, young Sheila Weller was living a charmed life with her family in Beverly Hills. Her father was a brilliant brain surgeon. Her mother was a movie-magazine writer whose brother owned Hollywood's most dazzling nightclub, Ciro's. Then her world exploded after she witnessed her uncle's brutal attempt to kill her father. In Dancing at Ciro's, Weller has written a deeply felt memoir of her family's life contrasted with those most glamorous days of Hollywood's forties and fifties. While vividly describing Lana Turner's, Frank Sinatra's, and Sammy Davis Jr.'s evenings--and breakdowns--at Ciro's, Weller casts a keen eye on her own family's turmoil and loss.
History

The Family Legacy of Henry Clay

Author: Lindsey Apple

Publisher: University Press of Kentucky

ISBN:

Category: History

Page: 364

View: 986

Known as the Great Compromiser, Henry Clay earned his title by addressing sectional tensions over slavery and forestalling civil war in the United States. Today he is still regarded as one of the most important political figures in American history. As Speaker of the House of Representatives and secretary of state, Clay left an indelible mark on American politics at a time when the country's solidarity was threatened by inner turmoil, and scholars have thoroughly chronicled his political achievements. However, little attention has been paid to his extensive family legacy. In The Family Legacy of Henry Clay: In the Shadow of a Kentucky Patriarch, Lindsey Apple explores the personal history of this famed American and examines the impact of his legacy on future generations of Clays. Apple's study delves into the family's struggles with physical and emotional problems such as depression and alcoholism. The book also analyzes the role of financial stress as the family fought to reestablish its fortune in the years after the Civil War. Apple's extensively researched volume illuminates a little-discussed aspect of Clay's life and heritage, and highlights the achievements and contributions of one of Kentucky's most distinguished families.

Scandal in the Family

Author: Nancy Miller

Publisher: Createspace Independent Publishing Platform

ISBN:

Category:

Page: 210

View: 354

Danisha is a middle-grade African-Canadian girl whose strict grandmother reveals (through her failing memory) an exotic past life. As Gram's memory drifts, she thinks she is a jazz singer in a Detroit lounge in the 1940's, a time when mixed relationships were frowned on and gangsters ruled the music scene. When Danisha's father tells her he thinks there's a scandal in his mother's life, Danisha sets out to solve the mystery. Parallels between her own life and her grandmother's come together; an unhealthy attraction to bad boys, an amazing singing talent and a stubbornness that prevents Danisha from telling the truth.
Fiction

Heir to Scandal

Author: Andrea Laurence

Publisher: Harlequin

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 192

View: 530

"Yes, you have a son." The past is about to catch up with Congressman Xander Langston…in more ways than one. While his reelection campaign is in full swing, unidentified remains surface on his family's farm and scandal ensues. Yet, when he returns home, it's his reunion with Rose Pierce that's consuming all his waking thoughts. His high school sweetheart has blossomed into a radiant beauty. The thrill of first love that Xander had once dismissed is proving to be a more enduring proposition. But Rose has a secret, too—will it put a stop to their second chance and derail his career for good? Be sure to read other scandalous stories from the Secrets of Eden series by Andrea Laurence, only from Harlequin® Desire! UNDENIABLE DEMANDS A BEAUTY UNCOVERED HER SECRET HUSBAND
Fiction

Scandal in Skibbereen

Author: Sheila Connolly

Publisher: Penguin

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 304

View: 145

As the new owner of Sullivan’s Pub in County Cork, Ireland, Maura Donovan gets an earful of all the village gossip. But uncovering the truth about some local rumors may close her down for good in this mystery in the County Cork series. Bostonian Maura is beginning to feel settled in her new Irish home, just in time for summer tourist season to bring fresh business to her pub. But the first traveler to arrive is thirsty for more than just a pint of Guinness. Althea Melville is hot on the trail of a long-lost Van Dyck painting. Maura agrees to help Althea meet with the residents at the local manor house, the most likely location of the missing art. But when the manor’s gardener is found murdered, Maura wonders what Althea’s real motives are. Now, to solve the secret of the lost portrait and catch a killer, Maura will have to practice her Irish gift of gab and hunt down some local history—before someone else is out of the picture...
Fiction

Scandal

Author: Heather Cullman

Publisher: Open Road Media

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 352

View: 328

When a man searching for his brother uncovers a secret that could destroy a powerful nobleman’s life, he is offered the man’s daughter in exchange for his silence—but could their marriage of convenience turn into a love more powerful than the secrets keeping them apart? When Gideon Harwood returns to his home in Regency-era England after a trip to India makes him an immensely rich man, he is driven by two unrelenting quests: to raise his station in life for the sake of his young sisters and to find his missing brother. What he uncovers is a damning secret about Lord Stanwell, one of London’s most powerful noblemen. Desperate to avoid a ruinous scandal, Lord Stanwell buys Gideon’s silence by offering the one thing that will guarantee Gideon’s entry into the beau monde’s inner sanctum: his daughter, Julia. Now in her third insufferable social season, beautiful Lady Julia Barham has yet to meet a man deserving of her devotion. Rumors swirl about the towering, immensely wealthy Gideon Harwood, but he is a commoner, beneath her consideration—and yet, as she learns, he is to be her husband. Julia comes to find that Gideon awakens passion in her that she didn’t know she had. But dangerous secrets lie between them. Can they overcome the sins of the past and surrender to a once-in-a-lifetime love?