Fiction

A Scot in the Dark

Author: Sarah MacLean

Publisher: HarperCollins

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 400

View: 867

Lonesome Lily turned Scandalous Siren Miss Lillian Hargrove has lived much of her life alone in a gilded cage, longing for love and companionship. When an artist offers her pretty promises and begs her to pose for a scandalous portrait, Lily doesn’t hesitate . . . until the lying libertine leaves her in disgrace. With the painting now public, Lily has no choice but to turn to the one man who might save her from ruin. Highland Devil turned Halfhearted Duke The Duke of Warnick loathes all things English, none more so than the aristocracy. It does not matter that the imposing Scotsman has inherited one of the most venerable dukedoms in Britain—he wants nothing to do with it, especially when he discovers that the unwanted title comes with a troublesome ward, one who is far too old and far too beautiful to be his problem. Tartan Comes to Town Warnick arrives in London with a single goal: get the chit married and see her become someone else’s problem, then return to a normal, quiet life in Scotland. It’s the perfect plan, until Lily declares she’ll only marry for love . . . and the Scot finds that there is one thing in England he likes far too much . . .
Fiction

A Scot in the Dark

Author: Sarah MacLean

Publisher: Hachette UK

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 400

View: 333

'Smart, sexy, and always romantic' Julia Quinn, Sunday Times bestselling author of the Bridgerton series 'Fabulous' Eloisa James 'For a smart, witty and passionate historical romance, I recommend anything by Sarah MacLean' Lisa Kleypas The second in Sarah MacLean's sensational new Scandal & Scoundrels series . . . all the fun and guilty pleasure of celebrity gossip, with a Regency twist! Lonesome Lily turned Scandalous Siren Miss Lillian Harwood has lived much of her life alone in a gilded cage, longing for love and companionship. When an artist offers her pretty promises and begs her to pose for a scandalous portrait, Lily doesn't hesitate . . . until the lying libertine leaves her in disgrace. With the painting now public, Lily has no choice but to turn to the one man who might save her from ruin. Highland Devil turned Halfhearted Duke The Duke of Warnick loathes all things English, none more so than the aristocracy. It does not matter that the imposing Scotsman has inherited one of the most venerable dukedoms in Britain - he wants nothing to do with it, especially when he discovers that the unwanted title comes with a troublesome ward, one who is far too old and far too beautiful to be his problem. Tartan Comes to Town Warnick arrives in London with a single goal: get the chit married and see her become someone else's problem, then return to a normal, quiet life in Scotland. It's the perfect plan, until Lily declares she'll only marry for love . . . and the Scot finds that there is one thing in England he likes far too much . . . This is the second novel in the Regency romance Scandal & Scoundrels series by New York Time bestselling author Sarah MacLean - perfect for fans of Lisa Kleypas and Eloisa James Scandal & Scoundrel series: The Rogue Not Taken A Scot in the Dark The Day of the Duchess Praise for Sarah MacLean 'Sarah MacLean has reignited the romance genre with a bolder edge' The New Yorker 'Funny, smart, feminist and roastingly hot' BookRiot.com 'Do yourself a favor and discover the compelling magic of Sarah MacLean' Amanda Quick 'MacLean writes with an entirely unique blend of elegance and ferocity that bursts from every page' Entertainment Weekly 'Great chemistry, intelligence and sparkling humor' RT Book Reviews

A Scot's Dialect Dictionary

Author: William Grant

Publisher: Dalcassian Publishing Company

ISBN:

Category:

Page:

View: 842

A Scot's dialect dictionary, comprising the words in use from the latter part of the seventeenth century to the present day
Fiction

The Rogue Not Taken

Author: Sarah MacLean

Publisher: Hachette UK

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 432

View: 376

'Smart, sexy, and always romantic' Julia Quinn, Sunday Times bestselling author of the Bridgerton series 'Fabulous' Eloisa James 'For a smart, witty and passionate historical romance, I recommend anything by Sarah MacLean' Lisa Kleypas The first in Sarah MacLean's sensational new Scandal & Scoundrels series . . . all the fun and guilty pleasure of celebrity gossip, with a Regency twist! Lady Sophie's Society Splash! When Sophie, the least interesting of the Talbot sisters, lands her philandering brother-in-law backside-first in a goldfish pond, she shocks society and finds herself the target of very public aristocratic scorn, leaving her no choice but to flee, vowing to start a new life far from London . Unfortunately, the carriage in which she stows away isn't saving her from ruin . . . it's filled with it. Rogue's Reign of Ravishment! Kingscote, "King," the Marquess of Eversley, has never met a woman he couldn't charm, which results in a reputation far worse than the truth, a general sense that he's more pretty face than proper gentleman, and an irate summons home to the Scottish border. When King discovers stowaway Sophie, however, the journey becomes anything but boring! War? Or More? He thinks she's trying to trick him into marriage. She wouldn't have him if he were the last man on earth. But carriages bring close quarters, dark secrets, and unbearable temptation, making opposites altogether too attractive . . . This is the first novel in the Regency romance Scandal & Scoundrels series by New York Time bestselling author Sarah MacLean - perfect for fans of Lisa Kleypas and Eloisa James Scandal & Scoundrel series: The Rogue Not Taken A Scot in the Dark The Day of the Duchess Praise for Sarah MacLean 'Sarah MacLean has reignited the romance genre with a bolder edge' The New Yorker 'Funny, smart, feminist and roastingly hot' BookRiot.com 'Do yourself a favor and discover the compelling magic of Sarah MacLean' Amanda Quick 'MacLean writes with an entirely unique blend of elegance and ferocity that bursts from every page' Entertainment Weekly 'Great chemistry, intelligence and sparkling humor' RT Book Reviews
Fiction

Never Tempt a Scot

Author: Lauren Smith

Publisher: Lauren Smith

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 476

View: 636

Scottish rogue Brodie Kincade has never met a woman he couldn’t seduce, but he’s about to meet his match in sweet-tempered but often overlooked Lydia Hunt, a young Englishwoman he mistakes for her scheming sister who hopes to snatch him up for a husband. Quiet, sweet-tempered Lydia Hunt knows she’s not her father’s favorite daughter. That honor belongs to her prettier younger sister, Portia, who has a talent for getting into trouble. When Lydia discovers that her father and sister have had a very angry Scottish rogue kidnapped in order to convince him to marry Portia, Lydia knows she must help the man escape. Yet she never imagined that the devastatingly handsome Scotsman would mistake her for Portia and abduct her as revenge and flee to Scotland. Brodie Kincade is a heartbreaker who has vowed never to marry after a traumatic childhood that left him afraid of becoming like his father. When he’s kidnapped by a pretty young Englishwoman with marriage on her mind, he turns the tables on his captor and absconds with her to Scotland, planning to ruin her reputation as revenge. But the beautiful, thoughtful, and irresistible lass he finds in his company seems very different from the brassy girl who kidnapped him. Soon, he’s risking his heart as he begins to wonder if he’s kidnapped the wrong woman . . .
Humor

Do I Feel Better Yet?

Author: Madeleine Trebenski

Publisher: Chronicle Books

ISBN:

Category: Humor

Page: 240

View: 879

If you've ever dared to express dissatisfaction with the state of your life, you've inevitably received a variety of helpful suggestions: "Have you tried meditation? Exercise? A cult? An exercise cult?" In Do I Feel Better Yet?, Madeleine Trebenski explores more than 45 so-called solutions suggested to her in the name of self-care. In a playful and at times sardonic chronicle of the elusive promises of multistep skin-care routines, gratitude journaling, scented candles, and more, Trebenski perfectly captures what it's like to live in a time when homemade kombucha and weighted blankets are said to single-handedly solve all our problems. These essays will make you laugh, make you feel less alone, and maybe make you feel better—even if just for a little while.
Fiction

HR: A Scot in The Dark

Author: Sarah Maclean

Publisher: Elex Media Komputindo

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 486

View: 724

Miss Lillian Hargrove telah menjalani sebagian besar hidupnya sendirian di sangkar emas, merindukan cinta dan persahabatan. Itulah sebabnya, janji manis seorang seniman membuat Lillian tanpa pikir panjang bersedia berpose tidak senonoh untuknya. Namun, ketika lukisan itu ternyata dipamerkan untuk umum, Lily berada dalam pilihan yang sulit. Nasibnya berada di ujung tanduk. Duke of Warnick membenci semua hal tentang Inggris. Sekalipun secara tak terduga ia mewarisi salah satu gelar duke paling terhormat di Inggris, Warnick tidak ingin berurusan dengan semua itu. Namun, seorang anak asuh yang menjadi tanggung jawab gelar itu memaksanya untuk berurusan dengan Lilian Hargrove, yang sayangnya terlalu dewasa dan terlalu cantik. Warnick tiba di London dengan satu tujuan: membuat anak asuhnya itu menikah dan membiarkan wanita itu menjadi masalah bagi orang lain. Sungguh rencana yang sempurna, sampai Lily menyatakan bahwa dirinya hanya mau menikah karena cinta. Akankah si Skotlandia ini mendapati satu hal di Inggris yang sangat disukainya?
Fiction

Beware a Scot's Revenge

Author: Sabrina Jeffries

Publisher: Simon and Schuster

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 384

View: 379

"Someone's going to call your bluff someday, Venetia -- you'd better hope it's not a handsome man." -- Mrs. Charlotte Harris, headmistress Lady Venetia Campbell's visit to her childhood home in Scotland takes a dramatic turn when she's kidnapped at pistol point by her father's sworn enemy. Sir Lachlan Ross is widely feared in his guise as The Scottish Scourge, but Venetia remembers her former neighbor as a handsome youth whose attentions she craved. Now a wickedly sexy man, Lachlan's appeal is even more intoxicating...and much more dangerous. Though Lachlan tries to treat her as his foe, his scorching kisses tell another story. And despite his plan to use her as a weapon against her father, Venetia is determined that Lachlan's lust for revenge will be trumped by an even more powerful desire....