Fiction

Bears Behaving Badly

Author: MaryJanice Davidson

Publisher: Sourcebooks, Inc.

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 384

View: 558

We're not dating, we've never been dating, we're not going to hook up, no way, absolutely not...oh. Oops. My primary focus has always been taking care of were-babies in the interspecies foster care system. I am unapologetically a fierce mama bear shifter and I am completely united with my team behind protecting at-risk were-children. So I have no idea why the appealing scruffy bear shifter PI David Auberon keeps hanging around, asking for sweets, and being charming and flirty. I've certainly got no time for shy solitary bears who can't ask for what they want. But what am I to do when a hideous bad guy shows up and I need to rescue a were-baby, except call on the skills of the handsome and growly PI? And if dodging enemies puts us in a tight spot...well, I'm not against tight spots. Praise for MaryJanice Davidson: "Slow-burn sexual tension and playful paranormal elements make this hilarious, sizzling romance perfect for fans of Kresley Cole's Immortals After Dark series."—Publishers Weekly STARRED REVIEW "Davidson is in peak form in this hilarious, sexy, and heartfelt paranormal romance" —Booklist STARRED REVIEW
Humor

Bears Behaving Badly

Author: John McDonald

Publisher: Down East Books

ISBN:

Category: Humor

Page: 112

View: 122

Bears (particularly black bears) by nature are elusive and difficult to see in the wild; yet they are immensely popular, perhaps because they are surprisingly human-looking, though their dense fur and seemingly clumsy gait often lead them to be compared with shaggy, bumbling clowns. Well, the bears in this little gift book have had enough. They’re here to set the record straight. 75-100 color photos capture bears just doing their thing and being bears; and short, pithy phrases tell you just what these bears would say if they could only talk.
Fiction

A Wolf After My Own Heart

Author: MaryJanice Davidson

Publisher: Sourcebooks, Inc.

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 360

View: 432

Things are hot and getting hotter... Escape into this delicious shifter romance from bestselling author MaryJanice Davidson. Oz Adway is a rare breed: an accountant who wants to get dirty. He's a werewolf working for the Interspecies Placement Agency so it's not long before he gets the opportunity to break out of his boring, safe office job. He volunteers to find runaway bear cub Sally Smalls, recently orphaned by a plane crash. Piece of cake, right? Unfortunately, Sally's taken refuge with "ordinary" human Lila Kai. Lila has no idea what's going on, but she'll destroy anyone who tries to take the cub. Oz is not about to let a human jeopardize his daring career move, no matter how attractive he finds her. Lila knows something's different about the sexy weirdo who keeps popping up in the wrong place at the right time. She's determined to figure out what, regardless of the escalating threats to her safety and Oz's distracting hotness. She didn't move into a cursed house and take in a werebear just to run when things get complicated. Together, Oz and Lila will prevail! But only if they can keep their hands off each other... Put away your pocket protectors: This hilarious story includes a nerdy shifter accountant with a bad-boy side, a fiercely protective human heroine, and a baby bear cub who will make every reader sigh in cuteness. Fans of Shelly Laurenston and paranormal adventure won't want to miss the newest installment in the BeWere My Heart series! "This hilarious, sizzling romance [is] perfect for fans of Kresley Cole's Immortals After Dark series."—Publishers Weekly for Bears Behaving Badly "Davidson is in fine form with the over-the-top humor and outrageous situations that have made her a bestseller."—Booklist for Me, Myself, and Why
Education

Bears on Bears

Author: Ron Jackson Suresha

Publisher: Alyson Publications

ISBN:

Category: Education

Page: 351

View: 340

A candid examination of gay male subculture called 'bears' who, for the unitiated, are gay men who are defiantly uninterested in society's ideal of physical appearance. Instead, they celebrate the fact that they are often large, never shave their body hair, and don't give a damn about what fashions are in style. They often drive trucks as well. Challenging, thought-provoking, and often humourous, this is a penetrating study of an often marginalised gay culture - albeit one with a lot of members.
Nature

One of Us

Author: Barrie K Gilbert

Publisher: FriesenPress

ISBN:

Category: Nature

Page: 262

View: 320

Barrie Gilbert’s fascination with grizzly bears almost got him killed in Yellowstone National Park. He recovered, returned to fieldwork and devoted the next several decades to understanding and protecting these often-maligned giants. He has spent thousands of hours among wild grizzles in Yosemite and Yellowstone national parks, Alberta, coastal British Columbia, and along Brooks River in Alaska’s Katmai National Park, where hundreds of people gather to watch dozens of grizzlies feast on salmon. His research has centered on how bears respond to people and each other, with a focus on how to keep humans and bears safe. Drawn from his decades of experience, One of Us: A Biologist’s Walk Among Bears explodes myths that depict grizzlies as bloodthirsty beasts that “kill for pleasure” and reveals the intelligent, adaptable side of these astonishingly social animals. He also explains their pivotal role in maintaining and protecting their fragile ecosystems. Accordingly, Gilbert pulls no punches when outlining threats to bear conservation. Most importantly, this book extolls a new way of appreciating grizzly bears, the same way we regard wolves, whales, chimpanzees, and gorillas.
Business & Economics

Facing the Wild

Author: Chilla Bulbeck

Publisher: Routledge

ISBN:

Category: Business & Economics

Page: 336

View: 513

What do wild animals mean to humans? Will they survive both rampant habitat loss and extinction caused by human encroachment and, as ecotourists, our enthusiasm for them? With ecotourism now the fastest growing segment of tourism, and encounters with wild animals - be it swimming with dolphins, going on safari or bird watching - ever more popular, these are critical questions. Yet until now little has been known about why people crave encounters with wild animals and the meaning for the ecotourism industry, conservation efforts and society at large. Facing the Wild is the first serious empirical examination of why people seek out animals in their natural environment, what the desire for this experience tells us about the meanings of animals, nature, authenticity and wilderness in contemporary industrialized societies, and whether visitors change their environmental perspectives and behaviour, as the custodians of wildlife parks would like them to. The book explores the contradictions and ambivalence that so many people experience in the presence of 'wild nature' - in loving it we may diminish it and in the act of wanting to see it we may destroy it. Ultimately the book makes a case for 'respectful stewardship' of a 'hybrid nature' and provides insight for both practitioners and ecotourists alike.
Fiction

Beast Behaving Badly

Author: Shelly Laurenston

Publisher: Kensington Publishing Corp.

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 400

View: 543

Some men just have more to offer. Like hard-muscled, shape-shifting Bo Novikov--part polar bear, part lion, pure alpha. . . Ten years after Blayne Thorpe first encountered Bo Novikov, she still can't get the smooth-talking shifter out of her head. Now he's shadowing her in New York--all seven-plus feet of him--determined to protect her from stalkers who want to use her in shifter dogfights. Even if he has to drag her off to an isolated Maine town where the only neighbors are other bears almost as crazy as he is. . . Let sleeping dogs lie. Bo knows it's good advice, but he can't leave Blayne be. Blame it on her sweet sexiness--or his hunch that there's more to this little wolfdog than meets the eye. Blayne has depths he hasn't yet begun to fathom--much as he'd like to. She may insist Bo's nothing but a pain in her delectable behind, but polar bears have patience in spades. Soon she'll realize how good they can be together. And when she does, animal instinct tells him it'll be worth the wait. . . "Non-stop laughter, snark, and witty banter." –SmexyBooks Praise for the novels of Shelly Laurenston "Delicious, sexy and wicked fun!" --New York Times bestselling author Gena Showalter on Bear Meets Girl
Actor (Film and stage)

Behaving Badly

Author: Cliff Goodwin

Publisher: Virgin Books Limited

ISBN:

Category: Actor (Film and stage)

Page: 268

View: 388

Richard Harris has never been an easy person to get along with. As a teenager he spent three years in bed, diagnosed by his doctor with tuberculosis, which he concealed from his parents. When he left home, his father told him, For God's sake, go. He arrived in London in 1953, to train as an actor, with just u21 in his pocket."
Pets

Dogs Behaving Badly

Author: Nicholas Dodman

Publisher: Bantam

ISBN:

Category: Pets

Page: 304

View: 407

A humorous, down-to-earth dog-owner's guide offers easy-to-follow "cures" for a host of common canine behavioral problems, from loud barking to aggression. Reprint.
Religion

Gods Behaving Badly

Author: Pete Ward

Publisher:

ISBN:

Category: Religion

Page: 163

View: 811

Gods Behaving Badly examines the blurred boundary between popular culture and religionùone that has given way to an often confounding fusion of the sacred and the profane. Flipping through pages of tabloid media and looking underneath the veil of Hollywood's glamour, Pete Ward exposes how, in its consumer life, Western society elevates celebrity to the theological and, in so doing, creates a new para-religion. Inevitably, whether despised or extolled, individual celebrities evoke public moral judgment, creating fertile ground for theological innovation. --
Education

University Students Behaving Badly

Author: Deborah Lee

Publisher: Trentham Books Limited

ISBN:

Category: Education

Page: 144

View: 151

Reveals the problem of unacceptable student conduct towards academics in the UK. This book focuses on gender relations. It is intended for academics and university managers and other readers in North America, Europe and Australia.
Child rearing

Parents

Author:

Publisher:

ISBN:

Category: Child rearing

Page:

View: 877

Nature

Do (not) Feed the Bears

Author: Alice Wondrak Biel

Publisher: University Press of Kansas

ISBN:

Category: Nature

Page: 186

View: 530

The story of Yellowstone Park and its wildlife, particularly bears, is intrinsically intertwined with tourists. Since the park's inception, people have traveled there to view Old Faithful and see a bear. When national parks were new, feeding grizzly and black bears was part of the charm. But once roadside feedings were de rigueur for tourists, the exchanges turned out to be detrimental to both wildlife and humans. The animals became dependent on a foreign, unhealthy food source, and people were getting mauled. Over the course of her clarifying history, Biel writes with conviction about the influence of various park superintendents, bear-management strategies, and changing ecopolitical influences, particularly the economic impact of the tourist trade. Years of training the public to regard bears as neither cute nor cuddly but as wild animals magnificent in their own right and deserving respect appear to have improved the welfare of wildlife in the park. Yet each generation must be educated anew, and Biel's book is a valuable contribution to that effort. --Pamela Crossland Copyright 2006 Booklist.