Drama

Collected Verse Plays

Author: Nicholas Hagger

Publisher: O Books

ISBN:

Category: Drama

Page: 906

View: 995

Features such plays as: The Warlords, The Tragedy of Prince Tudor, and The Rise of Oliver Cromwell. The Warlords focuses on the fortunes of General Montgomery after D-Day, and his conflict with Eisenhower. The Rise of Oliver Cromwell explores the reasons for Cromwell's extraordinary rise to dictatorship.
Art

Collected Verse Plays

Author: Richard Eberhart

Publisher: Chapel Hill : University of North Carolina Press

ISBN:

Category: Art

Page: 167

View: 864

These plays are the most original work in the field in recent years. They constitute a signal contribution to contemporary verse drama. Rich with a wide range of dramatic mood and characterization, from witty repartee to solemn high-drama, they are new evidence of a major American poet. Originally published in 1962. A UNC Press Enduring Edition -- UNC Press Enduring Editions use the latest in digital technology to make available again books from our distinguished backlist that were previously out of print. These editions are published unaltered from the original, and are presented in affordable paperback formats, bringing readers both historical and cultural value.

Collected Verse Plays (Classic Reprint)

Author: Richard Eberhart

Publisher: Forgotten Books

ISBN:

Category:

Page: 184

View: 454

Excerpt from Collected Verse Plays About the Publisher Forgotten Books publishes hundreds of thousands of rare and classic books. Find more at www.forgottenbooks.com This book is a reproduction of an important historical work. Forgotten Books uses state-of-the-art technology to digitally reconstruct the work, preserving the original format whilst repairing imperfections present in the aged copy. In rare cases, an imperfection in the original, such as a blemish or missing page, may be replicated in our edition. We do, however, repair the vast majority of imperfections successfully; any imperfections that remain are intentionally left to preserve the state of such historical works.
Literary Criticism

The Complete Poems and Plays of T. S. Eliot

Author: T.S. Eliot

Publisher: Faber & Faber

ISBN:

Category: Literary Criticism

Page: 608

View: 287

Poet, dramatist, critic and editor, T. S. Eliot was one of the defining figures of twentieth-century poetry. This edition of The Complete Poems and Plays, published for the first time in paperback, includes all of his verse and work for the stage, from Prufrock and Other Observations (1917) to Four Quartets (1943), and includes such literary landmarks as The Waste Land, Old Possum's Book of Practical Cats and Murder in the Cathedral. 'Each year Eliot's presence reasserts itself at a deeper level, to an audience that is surprised to find itself more chastened, more astonished, more humble.' Ted Hughes
Drama

Noel Coward Collected Verse

Author: Noël Coward

Publisher: Bloomsbury Publishing

ISBN:

Category: Drama

Page: 212

View: 286

This volume brings together Coward's celebrated verse, from snappy epigrams to seven-hundred-line short stories such as 'P&O 1930' and 'Not Yet the Dodo'; from moving war-time encounters to satirical barbs at familiar Coward targets; and from personal reminiscences to occasional verse such as his tribute to Ivor Novello or his counter-attack on Graham Greene. Includes an introduction by Martin Tickner and Coward's long-time companion, Graham Payn.
Literary Collections

Collected Poems, Prose & Plays

Author: Robert Frost

Publisher: Severn House Paperbacks

ISBN:

Category: Literary Collections

Page: 1036

View: 375

A scholarly, annotated, and uniquely comprehensive edition gathers all of Frost's major poetry, a selection of previously unanthologized poems, and the most extensive offering of his prose writings ever published, along with an essay on the texts by the editors.
Religion

Collected Works of Edwin Arnold: Buddhism and Hinduism Studies, Poetry & Plays (Unabridged)

Author: Edwin Arnold

Publisher: e-artnow

ISBN:

Category: Religion

Page: 988

View: 824

This carefully crafted ebook: "Collected Works of Edwin Arnold: Buddhism and Hinduism Studies, Poetry & Plays (Unabridged)” is formatted for your eReader with a functional and detailed table of contents. Table of Contents: The Essence of Buddhism Hindu Literature: Comprising The Book of good counsels, Nala and Damayanti Death--And Afterwards The Light of Asia Indian Poetry The Song Celestial or Bhagavad-Gita (from the Mahâbhârata) Light of the World; or, The Great Consummation Potiphar's Wife Adzuma; or, The Japanese Wife Sir Edwin Arnold (1832-1904) was an English poet and journalist, who is most known for his work, The Light of Asia. The literary task which he set before him was the interpretation in English verse of the life and philosophy of the East. His chief work with this object is The Light of Asia, which was translated into various languages such as Hindi. The Light of Asia, subtitled The Great Renunciation, is in a form of a narrative poem. The book endeavors to describe the life and time of Prince Gautama Siddhartha, who after attaining enlightenment became The Buddha, The Awakened One. The book presents his life, character, and philosophy, in a series of verses. It is a free adaptation of the Lalitavistara. A few decades before the book's publication, very little was known outside Asia about the Buddha and Buddhism, the religion which he founded, and which had existed for about twenty-five centuries. Arnold's book was one of the first successful attempts to popularize Buddhism for a Western readership.
Performing Arts

The Collected Plays of Michael P. Riccards

Author: Michael P. Riccards

Publisher: iUniverse

ISBN:

Category: Performing Arts

Page: 436

View: 120

This volume is a collection of verse plays by Michael P. Riccards. The author shows how a modern verse style can be used to heighten and deepen the situations and events that characterize a variety of subjects from historical dramas of great men to baseball heroes and famous persons in fables that we all know and love.
English drama

The Complete Poems and Plays

Author: T. S. Eliot

Publisher:

ISBN:

Category: English drama

Page: 608

View: 743

Poet, dramatist, critic and editor, T. S. Eliot was one of the defining figures of twentieth-century poetry. This edition of The Complete Poems and Plays, published for the first time in paperback, includes all of his verse and work for the stage, from Prufrock and Other Observations (1917) to Four Quartets (1943), and includes such literary landmarks as The Waste Land, Old Possum's Book of Practical Cats and Murder in the Cathedral. 'Each year Eliot's presence reasserts itself at a deeper level, to an audience that is surprised to find itself more chastened, more astonished, more humble.' Ted Hughes
Biography & Autobiography

My Double Life 2

Author: Nicholas Hagger

Publisher: John Hunt Publishing

ISBN:

Category: Biography & Autobiography

Page: 1090

View: 829

In My Double Life 1 Nicholas Hagger told of his four years’ service and double life as an undercover British intelligence agent during the Cold War (there revealed for the first time). Lost in a dark wood like Dante following his encounters with Gaddafi’s Libya and the African liberation movements, he found Reality on a ‘Mystic Way’ of loss, purgation and illumination, perceived the universe as a unity and had 16 experiences of the metaphysical Light. In My Double Life 2 he continues the story. He received new powers, coped with fresh ordeals, acquired three schools, renovated a historic house, and had 76 further experiences of the metaphysical Light. He founded a new philosophy of Universalism and new approaches to contemporary history, international statecraft and world literature. He produced nearly 1,500 poems, over 300 classical odes, five verse plays, two poetic epics, over a thousand short stories – and 40 books that include innovative literary, historical and philosophical works. His vision of Universalism in seven disciplines is like a rainbow with seven bands overarching seven hills. He produced nearly 1,500 poems, over 300 classical odes, five verse plays, two poetic epics, over a thousand short stories – and 40 books that include innovative literary, historical and philosophical works. His vision of Universalism in seven disciplines is like a rainbow with seven bands overarching seven hills.
Biography & Autobiography

Shenandoah and Other Verse Plays

Author: Delmore Schwartz

Publisher: BOA Editions, Ltd.

ISBN:

Category: Biography & Autobiography

Page: 165

View: 882

Five verse plays written in the tradition of T.S. Elliot and W.H. Auden.
Drama

WILLIAM SHAKESPEARE Ultimate Collection: ALL 38 Plays & Complete Poetry (Including the Biography of the Author)

Author: William Shakespeare

Publisher: e-artnow

ISBN:

Category: Drama

Page: 1380

View: 831

This carefully crafted ebook: “WILLIAM SHAKESPEARE Ultimate Collection: ALL 38 Plays & Complete Poetry (Including the Biography of the Author)” is formatted for your eReader with a functional and detailed table of contents: Comedies All's Well That Ends Well As You Like It The Comedy of Errors Love's Labour's Lost Measure for Measure The Merchant of Venice The Merry Wives of Windsor A Midsummer Night's Dream Much Ado About Nothing Pericles, Prince of Tyre The Taming of the Shrew The Tempest Twelfth Night or What You Will Two Gentlemen of Verona The Two Noble Kinsmen The Winter's Tale Tragedies Romeo and Juliet Coriolanus Titus Andronicus Timon of Athens Julius Caesar Macbeth Hamlet Troilus and Cressida King Lear Othello Antony and Cleopatra Cymbeline Histories King John Richard II Henry IV, Part 1 Henry IV, Part 2 Henry V Henry VI, Part 1 Henry VI, Part 2 Henry VI, Part 3 Richard III Henry VIII Poetry The Sonnets Venus and Adonis The Rape of Lucrece The Passionate Pilgrim The Phoenix and the Turtle A Lover's Complaint Apocryphal Plays Arden of Faversham A Yorkshire Tragedy The Lamentable Tragedy of Locrine Mucedorus The King's Son of Valentia, and Amadine, The King's Daughter of Arragon The London Prodigal The Puritaine Widdow The Second Maiden's Tragedy Sir John Oldcastle Lord Cromwell King Edward The Third Edmund Ironside Sir Tomas More Faire Em A Fairy Tale in Two Acts The Merry Devill of Edmonton Thomas of Woodstock The Life of William Shakespeare William Shakespeare (1564-1616) was an English poet, playwright, and actor, widely regarded as the greatest writer in the English language and the world's pre-eminent dramatist. He is often called England's national poet, and the "Bard of Avon". His extant works consist of approximately 38 plays, 154 sonnets, two long narrative poems, and a few other verses. His plays have been translated into every major living language and are performed more often than those of any other playwright.
Poetry

Verse Plays and Epic

Author: Johann Wolfgang von Goethe

Publisher: Princeton University Press

ISBN:

Category: Poetry

Page: 318

View: 265

This volume presents the four plays and the narrative poem that, along with Faust, established Goethe as one of the masters of European verse drama and epic. These works in particular display a balance between poetic form and ethical sensibility that characterizes much of Goethe's work during the era of Weimar Classicism. Here we are offered new translations of the dramas Iphigenia in Tauris, Torquato Tasso, The Natural Daughter, and Pandora and of the epic poem Hermann and Dorothea.
Mythology, Greek

Collected Plays

Author: Euripides

Publisher: London : Allen & Unwin

ISBN:

Category: Mythology, Greek

Page:

View: 102