Fiction

Dilly's Lass

Author: Rosie Goodwin

Publisher: Hachette UK

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 448

View: 803

Years ago Dilly made the devastating decision to give her baby daughter to wealthy local family, the Farthings. She is still living with the consequences of her choice when the daughter she gave away all those years ago turns up on Dilly's doorstep, with a baby girl in tow, begging for help. Olivia has a secret she only feels safe telling Dilly. Sworn to secrecy, Dilly agrees to help, delighted to be spending time with her new granddaughter and daughter. She can't tell Max Farthing, the man who took in Olivia all those years ago and who Dilly has feelings for. For Max has problems of his own: he's married to Camilla, who has lost leave of her senses. Could Dilly and Max ever come together? Dilly's Lass is a wonderfully heartfelt portrayal of families beginning to rebuild after WW1, from much-loved author Rosie Goodwin.
Fiction

Dilly's Sacrifice

Author: Rosie Goodwin

Publisher: Hachette UK

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 464

View: 678

A desperate act to save her family . . . Dilly is devastated: with her husband unable to work and four children already at home, they cannot afford to feed their new-born baby. Heartbroken, she heads into the night to deliver her baby girl to the Farthing family at the big house. Having just lost their own daughter to measles, the Farthings adopt the baby and offer Dilly a lifeline: a job as a maid. This act of desperation will change the lives of both families irrevocably – and the onset of WWI even more so. Sons are taken, love is declared, hearts are broken and terrible acts are committed. Through it all, Dilly does everything she can to preserve her family. But when the chance for true love finally comes, will she choose family over her own happiness? A moving and uplifting story of family, loyalty and love, from much-loved author Rosie Goodwin.
Fiction

Whispers

Author: Rosie Goodwin

Publisher: Hachette UK

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 347

View: 549

Sometimes the past really does come back to haunt you... Whispers is a thrilling saga of love, intrigue and history from ebook No.1 bestselling author of No One's Girl, Mothering Sunday and The Little Angel, Rosie Goodwin. Perfect for fans of Lindsey Hutchinson and Dilly Court. The old manor house has stood empty for years, left to rot since the last master of the Fenton family died. Until Jess Beddows steps inside, and feels she has come home. Against her family's wishes, she buys the house, promising to bring it back to life. Upstairs, in an attic room left untouched for a century or more, she finds a journal. It holds the heartbreaking tale of Martha, and of the cruel, entangled lives of the house's servants and masters nearly two hundred years before. As Jess is drawn into their tragedy, the whispers begin. Before long, everything she loves will be threatened by violent emotion and long-kept secrets. Can she survive the echoes from the past? What readers are saying about Whispers: 'This was the best book I have read for a very long time! A really fascinating story and I just didn't want to put it down, nor did I want it to end! Well done Rosie' 'What a fantastic book. A real heart throbber. I was an emotional wreck at the end of this book, it's a really touching novel. Rosie Goodwin is a very talented lady... A brilliant book from a truly gifted writer!'
Fiction

The Little Angel

Author: Rosie Goodwin

Publisher: Bonnier Publishing Fiction Ltd.

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 400

View: 556

Perfect for fans of Dilly Court and Katie Flynn. 'An absorbing story in the grand tradition of the best saga authors' Margaret Dickinson 'Rosie writes such heart-warming sagas' Lyn Andrews 'The new Catherine Cookson' Coventry Evening Telegraph 1896, Nuneaton. Left on the doorstep of Treetops Children's Home, young Kitty captures the heart of her guardian, Sunday Branning, who has never been blessed with a child of her own. Kitty brings sunshine and joy wherever she goes, and grows into a beguiling and favoured young girl. But then Kitty is summoned to live in London with her birth mother. At first London offers Kitty excitement and adventure. With her delicate beauty and the voice of an angel, she attracts a promising singing career and the attention of a number of dashing suitors. But those now close to Kitty are not what they seem, and her comforting old home at Treetops starts to feel very far away. If Kitty is to have any chance of happiness, this little angel must protect herself from devils in disguise . . . and before it's too late. This is what you've been saying about Rosie Goodwin: 'What a brilliant book I enjoyedevery bit of it and I will recommend it to all my friends' 'What an excellent read, couldn't put book down . . . Rosie Goodwin never disappoints' 'Have read all Rosie Goodwin books and this is one of her best' 'What an amazing book, once you pick it up you cannot put it down' 'A truly great read' 'A really gripping story' Have you read Sunday's story? If not, Mothering Sunday is available now. Search 9781785762321.
Dentistry

The Dental Review

Author: Allison Wright Harlan

Publisher:

ISBN:

Category: Dentistry

Page:

View: 113

Juvenile Fiction

Dilly Dog's Dizzy Dancing

Author: Barbara deRubertis

Publisher: Lerner Publishing Group

ISBN:

Category: Juvenile Fiction

Page: 32

View: 990

Teacher Alpha Betty demonstrates new ways of dancing to Dilly Dog so that Dilly can continue to dance without creating mishaps.
Diaries

Miss Dilly Says No

Author: Theodore Pratt

Publisher:

ISBN:

Category: Diaries

Page: 212

View: 379

Meek secretary for a producer is hounded for screen rights to her Hollywood diary.