Fiction

Faithful Unto Death

Author: Stephanie Jaye Evans

Publisher: Penguin

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 352

View: 563

Everything looks perfect in Sugar Land, Texas. But it’s not. No one knows that better than Walker “Bear” Wells, a former college football player now serving as a minister in this upscale Texas town, where famous athletes mix with ranchers and the local parish priest wants to arm wrestle. It’s a beautiful master-planned community, but people can’t be held to neighborhood restrictions, and Bear deals daily with emotional and spiritual problems, in both his flock and his own family. But never murder. Not until a man is found dead on the nearby golf course, his skull crushed. Bear has no interest in playing detective. His job is praying for the dead, not searching for their killers. But every time he turns around, another facet of the investigation tangles with his own life…like the fact that the murdered man’s son—and a main suspect—is currently dating his own rebellious teenage daughter. He made a promise to do the right thing. But keep­ing promises may be what led to murder...
Fiction

Faithful unto Death

Author: Caroline Graham

Publisher: Hachette UK

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 315

View: 407

'Simply the best detective writer since Agatha Christie' The Sunday Times Discover the novels that inspired the hit ITV series Midsomer Murders, seen and loved by millions. The compelling fifth novel in the Midsomer Murders series by Caroline Graham, starring Detective Chief Inspector Barnaby. Features an exclusive foreword by John Nettles. Perfect for fans of Agatha Christie, Ann Granger and James Runcie's The Grantchester Mysteries. The Fawcett Green bell-ringers don't bat an eyelid when Simone Hollingsworth fails to turn up to practice. They merely assume that bell-ringing has become the latest in a long list of her abandoned hobbies. But then the increasingly strange behaviour of Simone's husband, Alan, begins to raise neighbourly suspicions about her whereabouts. And when the discovery of a body draws Chief Inspector Barnaby to the village, it becomes clear that unravelling the couple's tangled lives will have painful repercussions for the whole village. . . Praise for Caroline Graham's novels: 'Everyone gets what they deserve in this high-class mystery' Sunday Telegraph 'A witty, well-plotted, absolute joy of a book' Yorkshire Post 'A treat . . . haunting stuff' Woman's Realm 'Swift, tense and highly alarming' TLS 'Lots of excellent character sketches . . . and the dialogue is lively and convincing' Independent 'Hard to praise highly enough' The Sunday Times 'Her books are not just great whodunits but great novels in their own right' Julie Burchill 'Enlivened by a very sardonic wit and turn of phrase, the narrative drive never falters' Birmingham Post 'Read her and you'll be astonished . . . very sexy, very hip and very funny' Scotsman
Hungarian fiction

Be Faithful Unto Death

Author: Zsigmond Móricz

Publisher: Budapest] : Corvina Press

ISBN:

Category: Hungarian fiction

Page: 264

View: 451

Fiction

Be Faithful Unto Death

Author: Zsigmond Móricz

Publisher: Central European University Press

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 312

View: 646

Be Faithful Unto Death is the moving story of a bright and sensitive schoolboy growing up in an old-established boarding school in the city of Debrecen in eastern Hungary. Misi, a dreamer and would-be writer, is falsely accused of stealing a winning lottery ticket. The torments through which he goes - and grows - are superbly described, and Stephen Vizinczey's new translation unleashes the full power of Moricz's prose. First published in 1921, the novel is brimming with vivid detail from the provincial life that Moricz knew so well, and shot through with a sense of the tragic fate of a newly truncated Hungary. Yet the quality of the experience captured here is universal. The author's uncanny ability to rediscover for us precisely what it feels like to be that child makes this portrait of the artist as a young boy not merely a Hungarian but a European classic.
Religion

Be Thou Faithful Unto Death

Author: Robert Neumann

Publisher: Forgotten Books

ISBN:

Category: Religion

Page: 152

View: 466

Excerpt from Be Thou Faithful Unto Death: Confirmation Sermons and Addresses by Lutheran Pastors in Germany and America Another commandment: Thou shall not commit adul tery. Alas, daily it is necessary to pray, Create in me, O God, a clean heart. Daily we are to look upward to the crown which is promised in the beatitude, Blessed are the pure in heart; for they shall see God. Daily the sixth peti tion, Lead us not into temptation, is to be our shield and sword and helmet, so that, though we may be assailed, we may at last prevail and gain the victory. Therefore, do not run into temptation. Be not led astray, and lead not others astray. With this object in mind, choose your friends and your read ing. To this end, he earnest in your communion with God. Make a covenant with your eyes, that your heart, which is meant to be a house of prayer, may not be desecrated and de graded to a den of iniquity. About the Publisher Forgotten Books publishes hundreds of thousands of rare and classic books. Find more at www.forgottenbooks.com This book is a reproduction of an important historical work. Forgotten Books uses state-of-the-art technology to digitally reconstruct the work, preserving the original format whilst repairing imperfections present in the aged copy. In rare cases, an imperfection in the original, such as a blemish or missing page, may be replicated in our edition. We do, however, repair the vast majority of imperfections successfully; any imperfections that remain are intentionally left to preserve the state of such historical works.
Fiction

Faithful Unto Death

Author: Becky Thacker

Publisher: University of Michigan Press

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 273

View: 196

Arsenic shatters a family in 19th-century Michigan
Fiction

Faithful Unto Death

Author: Sarah Hawkswood

Publisher: Allison & Busby Ltd

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 288

View: 488

‘The characters and descriptions of medieval life are thoroughly engaging ... A page-turner’ Mystery People June 1144. When the naked corpse of an unknown man is discovered and the Prince of Powys’s messenger fails to reach Earl Robert of Gloucester, Bradecote, Catchpoll and Walkelin head to Wales to confirm his identity, and piece together evidence that the dead man deserved a noose rather than a dagger. Retracing his steps leads them to a manor with a sarcastic lord, a neglected wife, a bitter mother and a fevered brother, all amidst folk who do not want the truth uncovered. The lord sheriff’s men have to unravel a knot where the law and justice seem to be in opposition. The sixth instalment in the Bradecote and Catchpoll series.