Fiction

From the Corner of his Eye

Author: Dean Koontz

Publisher: Hachette UK

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 634

View: 725

All he wanted was to make his mother proud... Dean Koontz's From the Corner of His Eye is an unforgettable thriller of suspense, danger and the supernatural. Perfect for fans of Stephen King and Richard Laymon. 'A wonderful read. The pacing is perfect, keeping the reader in exquisite tension. This is a deeply satisfying, rich novel. You may have nightmares about [the villain] but you'll love the other characters. Singularly and collectively, they are unforgettable. From the Corner of His Eye is magic' - New Orleans Times-Picayune Bartholomew Lampion was blinded at the age of three, when surgeons reluctantly removed his eyes to save him from a fast-spreading cancer. But although eyeless, Barty regained his sight when he was thirteen. This sudden ascent from a decade of darkness into the glory of light was not brought about by a holy healer. No celestial trumpets announced the restoration of his vision, just as none had announced his birth. A rollercoaster had something to do with his recovery, as did a seagull. And you can't discount Barty's profound desire to make his mother proud of him before she died. The first time she died was the day Barty was born. January 6, 1965. What readers are saying about From the Corner of His Eye: 'At one stage I was so shocked by what happened I had to reread a few pages to make sure I hadn't misread... the twist was so surprising and so unexpected' 'This book had twists and turns to the last word' 'One of the best books I've ever read'
Young Adult Fiction

From The Two Rivers

Author: Robert Jordan

Publisher: Macmillan

ISBN:

Category: Young Adult Fiction

Page: 416

View: 350

An American Library Association "Best Books for Young Adults" A VOYA "Best Books for Young Adults" For Rand al'Thor and his pals, life in the sleepy village of Emond's Field has been pretty dull. Until the appearance on festival night of Moiraine, a mysterious woman who claims to be an Aes Sdeai—a magician who can wield the One Power. Soon after, the village is attacked by Trollocs—a savage tribe of half-men half-beasts. Rand's father is nearly killed. But for Rand, the news gets worse. It was not the village the Trollocs were after, Moiraine tells him. It was you, Rand. Rand and his friends are forced to flee. But his escape will bring him face to face with the Dark One...the most powerful force of evil in the universe. At the Publisher's request, this title is being sold without Digital Rights Management Software (DRM) applied.
Fiction

The Corners of the Globe

Author: Robert Goddard

Publisher: Random House

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 512

View: 640

'The master of the triple double-cross' (The Times) ________ Spring, 1919. James ‘Max’ Maxted, former Great War flying ace, returns to the trail of murder, treachery and half-buried secrets. Having left Paris after avenging the murder of his father, Sir Henry Maxted, he is convinced there is more – much more – to be discovered about what Sir Henry had been trying to accomplish. And he suspected elusive German spymaster Fritz Lemmer knows the truth of it. Now, undercover in Lemmer’s service but with his loyalty pledged to the British Secret Service, Max sets out on his first – and possibly last – mission for Lemmer. It takes him to the far north of Scotland – to the Orkney Isles, where the German High Seas Fleet has been impounded in Scapa Flow, its fate to be decided at the conference-table in Paris. His mission: to recover and transport a document held aboard one of the German ships. But what that document contains will force him to break cover and race south, towards London. But can he survive long enough to deliver it?
Fiction

Escape from the Cavern

Author: Allen Mabra

Publisher: iUniverse

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 424

View: 714

Gregory, Valea, their baby Crys and Taylok leave Rockworld and arrive in a small Wyoming town. Upon seeing Valea and Taylok, the clerk leaps to the conclusion that they are space aliens. He calls the town sheriff, but eventually tries to take matters into his own hands. The sheriff travels to Fairwater Lake to examine the remains of a prize bull and finds some surprising tracks at the scene. The search culminates in a deadly fight on a boat. Driggett and Leana are escorted to a Supreme Council meeting in Stonehaven Hall. Ambitious Gazer Stonemaker tells of a terrifying invasion of Rockworld by creatures identified only as the Kanané. Driggett is needed to locate and utilize the prime pyrite crystal, regarded as the single weapon that might save the Nehwisna. A small band sets out on a nearly impossible quest to find the weapon. Gregory is reunited with Driggett, but the expedition has proved deadly and only a handful of the original force remain, together with Arak, a half human whose motives remain unclear. Valea succumbs to the Kanané in battle and lies lifeless in Gregory's arms. Only one thing can save her, and its use remains illusive.
Fiction

Resistant

Author: Michael Palmer

Publisher: St. Martin's Press

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 400

View: 158

They kill without conscience or remorse. They are the most ruthless enemy we have ever faced. And they are one millionth our size...Prepare to be shocked-and mesmerized-by Resistant, the latest novel of thrilling medical suspense from New York Times bestselling author Michael Palmer. When Dr. Lou Welcome fills in last minute for his boss at a national conference in Atlanta he brings along his best friend, Cap Duncan. But an accident turns tragic when Cap injures his leg while running. Surgeons manage to save the leg, but the open wound is the perfect breeding ground for a deadly microbial invader committed to eating Cap alive from the inside out. Meanwhile, hundreds of miles away, a teenaged girl is fighting for her life against the same bacteria. The germ is resistant to any known antibiotic and the government scientist tasked with finding a cure has been kidnapped. Turning to the Centers for Disease Control for help, Lou Welcome uncovers a link to a shadowy group known as One Hundred Neighbors that has infiltrated our society and is using our health institutions as hostages. Like the deadly germs they can unleash, One Hundred Neighbors will stop at nothing to further their agenda. From the hospital corridors where anything you touch can mean your end, to the top corridors of power in this race against time, Lou must stop an epidemic, save his best friend, and face even his own most terrifying demons. From the New York Times bestselling author comes another heart stopping thriller that will make you look at the world around you in a new and frightening way. "When you open the pages of a Michael Palmer novel, you know you are in the hands of a pro." -The Huffington Post
Holocaust, Jewish (1939-1945)

Far from the Place We Called Home

Author: Sarah M. Schleimer

Publisher: Feldheim Publishers

ISBN:

Category: Holocaust, Jewish (1939-1945)

Page: 238

View: 696

Evacuated to England from Nazi Germany during World War II, several Jewish children struggle to observe Judaism, rebuild their lives, and search for their parents after the war.
Fiction

Divine Deception

Author: Marcia Lynn McClure

Publisher: Distractions Ink

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 216

View: 937

Young Fallon Ashby -- abused, neglected, and disheartened -- marries the mysterious Trader Donavon, a wealthy landowner and respected denizen of the town who conceals his face within the shadows of a black cowl. Then Fallon's malicious uncle, intent on avenging his own losses at Trader Donavon's hand, sets out to destroy Trader. Will Fallon's wicked uncle succeed and perhaps annihilate the man that his niece secretly loves above all else?
Fiction

Within

Author: Marty Cedillos

Publisher: AuthorHouse

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 168

View: 725

ARE YOU A BELIEVER? FBI Agent Aimee Gable has been intrigued by supernatural stories since she was little. She was never able to pursue the future she wanted due to a turn of events that changed the direction of her life. She never dreamed she would be a law enforcement officer, let alone end up seeing dead people and coming face to face with creatures that should only exist in horror films. Aimee's faith is challenged as she is forced to choose betweeen good and evil. What is she willing to sacrifice for the ones she has lost and longed for all her life? Are her grandfather's stories merely myth or is there a sinister truth to them?