Emotions

Her Favorite Color Was Yellow

Author: Edgar Holmes

Publisher: Createspace Independent Publishing Platform

ISBN:

Category: Emotions

Page: 112

View: 740

Her Favorite Color Was Yellow is Edgar Holmes' debut collection of poetry. It is an ode to his muse, his all-consuming love, his everything- how it feels to find love, lose it, and get it back. Pour yourself some coffee and curl up with this book to let yourself feel something beautiful and true. - Edgar Holmes' second poetry book, For When She's Feeling Blue, is available now. - [email protected]
Education

Brain-Friendly Strategies for Developing Student Writing Skills

Author: Anne Hanson

Publisher: Corwin Press

ISBN:

Category: Education

Page: 200

View: 684

Aligned with core principles of effective instruction, this resource provides brain-compatible strategies, reflection questions, and cross-curricular writing activities to boost students' writing and achievement.
Education

Media Literacy

Author: Peyton Paxson

Publisher: Walch Publishing

ISBN:

Category: Education

Page: 115

View: 309

Tunes into topics of special interest to students! Investigates the societal, cultural, and economic effects of the Internet Helps students become more informed and discerning Internet users Speaks to a variety of subject areas, including language arts and social studies A Center for Media Literacy Recommended Resource

Su Color Favorito Era Amarilla

Author: Edgar Holmes

Publisher: Createspace Independent Publishing Platform

ISBN:

Category:

Page: 114

View: 951

Esta es una traducción al español del libro Her Favorite Color Was Yellow por Edgar Holmes. Su color favorito era amarillo es la primera colección de poesía de Edgar Holmes. Es una oda a su musa, su amor que todo lo consume, su todo, cómo se siente encontrar el amor, perderlo y recuperarlo. Vierta un poco de café y acurrúquese con este libro para dejarse sentir algo hermoso y verdadero.
Juvenile Fiction

Hembree Hopefuls

Author: Tom Laporte

Publisher: iUniverse

ISBN:

Category: Juvenile Fiction

Page: 164

View: 763

The first semester at Hembree Elementary School was filled with intrigue and mystery as three mischievous fifth grade boys learned a valuable lesson about themselves. The first-year school, under the supervision of the disciplined, yet encouraging principal Mrs. Silly-Willie, had a bizarre situation where electric pencil sharpeners were missing. The boys, along with their female classmates, had an interesting winter, too. A mystifying mural, created by an enigmatic artist Magi, catapulted the students into a fantastic world where fantasy and reality were difficult to tell apart. Now, with spring fresh in the air, Mr. Puffy's class participates with a partner school across town in the district-wide science fair. The group of students creates a most unusual project. This project catapults them into a yet another captivating adventure where their writing and reasoning skills will be significantly challenged.
Philosophy

Open-mindedness in Philosophy of Religion

Author: Gregory E. Trickett

Publisher: Cambridge Scholars Publishing

ISBN:

Category: Philosophy

Page: 203

View: 743

In a free society, it is common to hear the request that one ‘keep an open mind.’ Just what exactly is it, however, to keep an open-mind? How does open-mindedness function? How does it square with important personal commitments? These issues are particularly acute when it comes to matters of religious belief in which open-mindedness can sound to the pious a bit too much like doubt. Certainly, in a discipline whose discourse remains rational dialogue, effort should be spent discerning the contours of this virtue, especially in light of its formal role in establishing responsiveness to new inquiries in matters philosophical and religious. This book provides a collection of essays serving to promote conversation about open-mindedness, its virtue (or lack thereof), and its role and application in problems in the philosophy of religion in particular.
Young Adult Fiction

The Markings

Author: Catherine Downen

Publisher: Catherine Downen

ISBN:

Category: Young Adult Fiction

Page: 382

View: 462

DATHER IS AN ISLAND THAT WAS ONCE KNOWN AS OHAU. A nation that rose from the ashes after an asteroid shower has divided itself when people began to discover their unique powers. At sixteen-years-old Adaline sits in prison with her mother and younger brother, and today is Parting Day where more prisoners will be executed. After seven years of being spared, Adaline’s luck has run out. But she won’t go quietly or easily. Her life depends on her ability to escape the grasps of the King and find a place of freedom. Discovering her unique powers is the turning point Adaline needs to get a second chance at her freedom. In this thrilling novel of friendship, family, and secrets Adaline runs for her life and learns the truth of her past along the way.
Fiction

Fugitives of Chaos

Author: John C. Wright

Publisher: Macmillan

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 320

View: 837

Wright's new fantasy, which began with Orphans of Chaos, and continues in Fugitives of Chaos, is a tale about five orphans raised in a strict British boarding school who begin to discover that they may not be human beings. The students at the school do not age, while the world around them does. The orphans have been kidnapped from their true parents, robbed of their powers, and raised in ignorance by super-beings no more human than they are: pagan gods or fairy-queens, Cyclopes, sea-monsters, witches, or things even stranger. The five have made sinister discoveries about themselves. Amelia is apparently a fourth-dimensional being; Victor is a synthetic man who can control the molecular arrangement of matter around him; Vanity can find secret passageways through solid walls where none had previously been; Colin is a psychic; Quentin is a warlock. Each power comes from a different paradigm or view of the inexplicable universe: and they should not be able to co-exist under the same laws of nature. Why is it that they can? The children must experiment with and learn to control their strange abilities in order to escape their captors. Something very important must be at stake in their imprisonment. At the Publisher's request, this title is being sold without Digital Rights Management Software (DRM) applied.
Juvenile Nonfiction

Keep Faith, Stories, and Letters

Author: Colin Dalton

Publisher: Author House

ISBN:

Category: Juvenile Nonfiction

Page: 24

View: 809

Pre-Service Teacher Biographies: Leah Mandujano. She lives with her husband, Fabian, and her son, Benaiah in Houston, TX. She loves the beach and walking her rescue dog. She is studying at the University of Houston-Downtown to become an elementary teacher. CHARLOTTE ELLIS, 2nd year Graduate [email protected] UHD Is a second year Masters of Education student at the University of Houston-Downtown. She earned an undergraduate degree in Interdisciplinary Studies from the University of Houston-Downtown and wishes to pursue a teaching position in ESL after graduation or teach abroad in an elementary or middle school setting. She has volunteered extensively in elementary schools for both the public and private school sector and is certified to teach Vacation Bible School, which she does in the summer at St. Thomas Episcopal Church School in Houston, Texas. She has also volunteered as an ESL tutor at the Harris County Public Library where she trained and received their certification qualifications. She has also spent time volunteering service hours at the Consulate General of Spain in Downtown Houston and occasionally teaches Sunday school at her local church. Charlotte is continuing her studies as a graduate student here at UHD and was recently recognized as a distinguish writer for her contributions and collaborative work that has been published in The Texas Forum of Teacher Education-The Journal of the Texas Association of Teacher Educators. (Volume 2, October 2012) My name is Erica Bostic. I am currently an undergraduate student at the University of Houston Downtown majoring in education. Becoming a teacher has been my dream since I was a little girl. I love children, but most importantly I love being able to play a major role in a child's educational path. My family means the world to me because they have supported me and my decision to become a teacher. I have three sons whom I love dearly, and they are my motivation in everything I do. Cynthia L. is a pre-service teacher in the Department of Urban Education at the University of Houston-Downtown. Cynthia is the editor and assisted Ashley E. in the writing of the short story within this book. Cynthia was presently surprised with the level literary talent of the group of teenage girls housed at the detention facility. Cynthia, a future Early Childhood through 6th Grade bilingual teacher, plans to replicate this project with her future students. Cynthia is of age 24, her favorite color is yellow, and she owns two Chihuahua mixed dogs named Charlie and Chelsea. Selina Salcido, age 26, is currently enrolled at University of Houston-Downtown and is majoring in Early Childhood Education to become a Kindergarten teacher. Selina Salcido, is the editor and assisted Ashley E in the writing of the short story within this book. She loves animals, especially her dog Bella. She loves spending time with her family and fiance-to-be; they mean the world to her. Also In her spare time she loves baking desserts."
Young Adult Fiction

All the Bright Places

Author: Jennifer Niven

Publisher: Ember

ISBN:

Category: Young Adult Fiction

Page: 416

View: 568

SOON TO BE A NETFILX FILM, STARRING ELLE FANNING AND JUSTICE SMITH! The New York Times bestselling love story about two teens who find each other while standing on the edge. Theodore Finch is fascinated by death. Every day he thinks of ways he might kill himself, but every day he also searches for—and manages to find—something to keep him here, and alive, and awake. Violet Markey lives for the future, counting the days until graduation, when she can escape her small Indiana town and her aching grief in the wake of her sister’s recent death. When Finch and Violet meet on the ledge of the bell tower at school—six stories above the ground— it’s unclear who saves whom. Soon it’s only with Violet that Finch can be himself. And it’s only with Finch that Violet can forget to count away the days and start living them. But as Violet’s world grows, Finch’s begins to shrink. . . . “A do-not-miss for fans of Eleanor & Park and The Fault in Our Stars, and basically anyone who can breathe.” —Justine Magazine “At the heart—a big one—of All the Bright Places lies a charming love story about this unlikely and endearing pair of broken teenagers.” —The New York Times Book Review “A heart-rending, stylish love story.” —The Wall Street Journal “A complex love story that will bring all the feels.” —Seventeen Magazine “Impressively layered, lived-in, and real.” —Buzzfeed.com