Fairies

Jonathan Strange and Mr Norrell

Author: Susanna Clarke

Publisher: Bloomsbury Publishing

ISBN:

Category: Fairies

Page: 1006

View: 474

The year is 1806. England is beleaguered by the long war with Napoleon, and centuries have passed since practical magicians faded into the nation's past. But one remains: the reclusive Mr Norrell. Yet the cautious, fussy Norrell is challenged by the emergence of another magician: the brilliant novice Jonathan Strange.

British Alternate History Novels

Author: Source: Wikipedia

Publisher: Books LLC, Wiki Series

ISBN:

Category:

Page: 38

View: 847

Please note that the content of this book primarily consists of articles available from Wikipedia or other free sources online. Commentary (novels not included). Pages: 36. Chapters: Jonathan Strange & Mr Norrell, British Empire in fiction, Anno Dracula series, The Time Ships, The Difference Engine, Bartimaeus, The Wolves of Willoughby Chase, The Bloody Red Baron, Gloriana, Warlord of the Air, The Land Leviathan, A Nomad of the Time Streams, Anti-Ice, The Separation, Romanitas, Is Underground, Rome Burning, The Steel Tsar, Black Hearts in Battersea, The Stolen Lake, Headlong, Mothstorm. Excerpt: Jonathan Strange & Mr Norrell is the first novel by British writer Susanna Clarke. An alternative history set in 19th-century England around the time of the Napoleonic Wars, it is based on the premise that magic once existed in England and has returned with two men: Gilbert Norrell and Jonathan Strange. Centering on the relationship between these two men, the novel investigates the nature of "Englishness" and the boundary between reason and madness. It has been described as a fantasy novel, an alternative history, and a historical novel. The narrative draws on various Romantic literary traditions, such as the comedy of manners, the Gothic tale, and the Byronic hero. The novel's language is a pastiche of 19th-century writing styles, such as those of Jane Austen and Charles Dickens. Clarke describes the supernatural with mundane details. She supplements the text with almost 200 footnotes, outlining the backstory and an entire fictional corpus of magical scholarship. Clarke began writing Jonathan Strange & Mr Norrell in 1993; ten years later she submitted the manuscript for publication. It was accepted by Bloomsbury and published in September 2004, with illustrations by Portia Rosenberg. Bloomsbury was so sure of its success that they printed 250,000 hardcover copies. The novel was well-received by critics and reached number three on the New York Times bestseller list. It w...
Fiction

Jonathan Strange and Mr Norrell

Author: Susanna Clarke

Publisher: Bloomsbury Publishing

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 1024

View: 814

OVER 4 MILLION COPIES SOLD WORLDWIDE Shortlisted for the Whitbread First Novel Award and the Guardian First Book Award Longlisted for the Man Booker Prize 'Unquestionably the finest English novel of the fantastic written in the last seventy years ... Funny, moving, scary, otherworldly, practical and magical' NEIL GAIMAN The year is 1806. centuries have passed since practical magicians faded into the nation's past. But scholars of this glorious history discover that one remains: the reclusive Mr Norrell, whose displays of magic send a thrill through the country. Proceeding to London, he raises a beautiful woman from the dead and summons an army of ghostly ships to terrify the French. Yet the cautious, fussy Norrell is challenged by the emergence of another magician: the brilliant novice Jonathan Strange. Young, handsome and daring, Strange is the very antithesis of Norrell. So begins a dangerous battle between these two great men which overwhelms that between England and France. And their own obsessions and secret dabblings with the dark arts are going to cause more trouble than they can imagine.

Jonathan Strange and Mr Norrell

Author: Marco Maggi

Publisher: Osprey Publishing

ISBN:

Category:

Page:

View: 200

Set during the events of the cult-classic book, Jonathan Strange & Mr Norrell sees players delve into the world of English magic, developing their talents and expanding their social reach as they aim to become the most celebrated magician of the age.Take on the role of an aspiring magician, including the titular characters Jonathan Strange and Mr Norrell themselves, and start down the path to greatness. Build up your power and status by traveling across Europe and London, performing feats of magic, and attending social engagements. The most celebrated magician will face the gentleman with the thistle-down hair, but only the strongest will defeat him.Number of Players: 2 - 4Ages: 14+Playing Time: 60 - 80 minutesComponents: Map of Europe, 4 Magician boards, 4 Player markers, Fairy marker, 12 Cards of Marseilles, social engagements, character cards, feats of magic, and moreFormat: Book-style
Fairies

The Ladies of Grace Adieu

Author: Susanna Clarke

Publisher: Bloomsbury Publishing UK

ISBN:

Category: Fairies

Page: 235

View: 768

Following the enormous success of 2004 bestseller and critics favorite "Jonathan Strange & Mr Norrell," Clarke delivers a delicious collection of ten stories set in the same fairy-crossed world of 19th-century England.
Fiction

Piranesi

Author: Susanna Clarke

Publisher: Bloomsbury Publishing

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 272

View: 974

'Just read Susanna Clarke's extraordinary Piranesi ... Like nothing else' Justine Jordan, Guardian The long-awaited return from the author of the multi-million copy bestselling Jonathan Strange & Mr Norrell Piranesi lives in the House. Perhaps he always has? Jonathan Strange & Mr Norrell transported over four million readers into its mysterious world. It became an instant classic and has been hailed as one of the finest works of fiction of the twenty-first century. Fifteen years later, it is finally time to enter the House and meet Piranesi. May your Paths be safe, your Floors unbroken and may the House fill your eyes with Beauty. 'A book to look out for in 2020' – Guardian, Observer, Sunday Times, Express, SFX 'Piranesi astonished me. It is a miraculous and luminous feat of storytelling, at once a gripping mystery, an adventure through a brilliant new fantasy world, and a deep meditation on the human condition: feeling lost, and being found. I already want to be back in its haunting and beautiful halls!' MADELINE MILLER 'What a world Susanna Clarke conjures into being, what a tick-tock-tick-tock of reveals, what a pure protagonist, what a morally squalid supporting cast, what beauty, tension and restraint, and what a pitch-perfect ending. Piranesi is an exquisite puzzle-box far, far bigger on the inside than it is on the outside' DAVID MITCHELL 'Piranesi is a gorgeous, spellbinding mystery that gently unravels page by page. Precisely the sort of book that I love wordlessly handing to someone so they can have the pleasure of uncovering its secrets for themselves. This book is a treasure, washed up upon a forgotten shore, waiting to be discovered' ERIN MORGENSTERN
Fiction

The Ladies of Grace Adieu and Other Stories

Author: Susanna Clarke

Publisher: Bloomsbury Publishing USA

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 256

View: 162

"Vivid and amusing...Magically funny."-Ursula K. LeGuin, Los Angeles Times An enchanting collection of stories, set in the same world, from the author of the award-winning, internationally bestselling Jonathan Strange & Mr. Norrell. Following the international bestseller Jonathan Strange & Mr Norrell, Susanna Clarke returns with an enchanting collection of stories brimming with all the ingredients of good fairy tales: petulant princesses, vengeful owls, ladies who pass their time in embroidering terrible fates, endless paths in deep, dark woods, and houses that never appear the same way twice. The heroines and heroes who must grapple with these problems include the Duke of Wellington, a conceited Regency clergyman, an eighteenth-century Jewish doctor, and Mary Queen of Scots, as well as two characters from Jonathan Strange and Mr Norrell; Strange himself and the Raven King. The Ladies of Grace Adieu and Other Stories introduces readers to a world where charm is always tempered by eerieness, and picaresque comedy is always darkened by the disturbing shadow of Faerie.
Fiction

The Map of Time and The Turn of the Screw

Author: Félix J. Palma

Publisher: HarperCollins UK

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 528

View: 464

An epic, ambitious and page-turning mystery that will appeal to fans of The Shadow of the Wind, Jonathan Strange and Mr Norrell and The Time Traveller’s Wife
Literary Criticism

Kurt Vonnegut and the American Novel

Author: Robert T. Tally, Jr.

Publisher: Bloomsbury Publishing

ISBN:

Category: Literary Criticism

Page: 208

View: 517

The novels of Kurt Vonnegut depict a profoundly absurd and distinctly postmodern world. But in this critical study, Robert Tally argues that Vonnegut himself is actually a modernist, who is less interested in indulging in the free play of signifiers than in attempting to construct a model that could encompass the American experience at the end of the twentieth century. As a modernist wrestling with a postmodern condition, Vonnegut makes use of diverse and sometimes eccentric narrative techniques (such as metafiction, collage, and temporal slippages) to project a comprehensive vision of life in the United States. Vonnegut's novels thus become experiments in making sense of the radical transformations of self and society during that curious, unstable period called, perhaps ironically, the 'American Century.' An untimely figure, Vonnegut develops a postmodern iconography of American civilization while simultaneously acknowledging the impossibility of a truly comprehensive representation.
Religion

Theology and Literature after Postmodernity

Author: Zoë Lehmann Imfeld

Publisher: Bloomsbury Publishing

ISBN:

Category: Religion

Page: 304

View: 346

This volume deploys theology in a reconstructive approach to contemporary literary criticism, to validate and exemplify theological readings of literary texts as a creative exercise. It engages in a dialogue with interdisciplinary approaches to literature in which theology is alert and responsive to the challenges following postmodernism and postmodern literary criticism. It demonstrates the scope and explanatory power of theological readings across various texts and literary genres. Theology and Literature after Postmodernity explores a reconstructive approach to reading and literary study in the university setting, with contributions from interdisciplinary scholars worldwide.