Religion

I Love You! from the Heart of the Father

Author: Matthew DeBord

Publisher: WestBow Press

ISBN:

Category: Religion

Page: 116

View: 386

Does God really love every single person? Am I included on God's invitation list for salvation? How can I be sure? Well, let's ask Him! Man has varying opinions on this subject, so let's go to the Source, God Himself. The Bible says every word of God is pure and it declares that God cannot lie. Therefore, let me assure you that, according to God's Word, God really does love you, yes, "YOU," whoever you are!
Fiction

The Whyte Harte (Matthew Jankyn, Book 1)

Author: Paul Doherty

Publisher: Hachette UK

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 241

View: 998

The suspicious death of the Richard II prompts an unground movement known as the White Harte... The turbulent times of the 15th century are perfectly captured in Paul Doherty's gripping mystery, The White Harte. Perfect for fans of Ellis Peters and Susanna Gregory. Jankyn's narrative relates his own past, a past spent unwillingly under the tutelage of priests and friars in an Augustinian monastery; his rebellious flirtation with the heresy of Lollardism; and finally his becoming a thief, an accused traitor, and yeoman to Bishop Henry Beaufort, illegitimate grandson of 'The Black Prince', and half-brother to King Henry V. It is Beaufort who 'rescues' Jankyn from Newgate prison to serve as his investigator of the rumours that Richard II is not dead, but alive in Scotland, encouraging the small rebellions under the sign of the White Harte. It is up to Jankyn to discover the truth... What readers are saying about Paul Doherty: 'The plot and mystery slowly unfolds with unexpected twists and turns before finally being unravelled. An enthralling tale by Doherty at his best' '[You] lose yourself in the story' 'Five stars'
Fiction

The Serpent Amongst the Lilies (Matthew Jankyn, Book 2)

Author: Paul Doherty

Publisher: Hachette UK

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 158

View: 250

An investigation into the mysterious woman known as Jeanne of Arc... The turbulent times of the 15th century are perfectly captured in Paul Doherty's gripping mystery, The Serpent Amongst the Lilies. Perfect for fans of Ellis Peters and Susanna Gregory. At the behest of his master, Bishop Henry Beaufort, former criminal Matthew Jankyn is set among the followers of Jeanne d'Arc (the lilies). Charged with discovering whether Jeanne is really a saint, Jankyn must work out how best to ensure that the French war against the British can be foiled. But in spite of his lawless background, Jankyn comes to like Jeanne and to resent being pitted against her. But does Jeanne somehow know more about Jankyn's intentions than she is letting on, and what secrets is she keeping from him? What readers are saying about Paul Doherty: 'The plot and mystery slowly unfolds with unexpected twists and turns before finally being unravelled. An enthralling tale by Doherty at his best' '[You] lose yourself in the story' 'Five stars'
Religion

The Gospel of Matthew and the Sayings Source Q

Author: Af Neirynck

Publisher: Peeters Publishers

ISBN:

Category: Religion

Page: 1420

View: 784

The present Bibliography covers the research on the Gospel of Matthew and on the Gospel Source Q from 1950 to 1995. The new volume has adopted the model of the previously published The Gospel of Mark. A Cumulative Bibliography 1950-1990. It contains about 15.000 entries and is arranged alphabetically by name of author; the author's works are given in chronological order. Each entry includes the complete bibliographical references, information about reprints, new editions and translations, and summary indications of the content (Gospel passage, subject). The companion volume furnishes detailed Indexes of Gospel Passages and Subject matters related to Mt and to Q. All indexes are prepared by J. Verheyden. The Bibliography completes the series of Leuven repertories on the Gospels published in BETL 82 (John, 1988), 88 (Luke, 1989). and 102 (Mark, 1992).
Civilization, Medieval, in literature

Charles of Orleans

Author: Norma Lorre Goodrich

Publisher: Librairie Droz

ISBN:

Category: Civilization, Medieval, in literature

Page: 219

View: 289

Disaster relief

Hurricane Katrina in New Orleans

Author: United States. Congress. Senate. Committee on Homeland Security and Governmental Affairs

Publisher:

ISBN:

Category: Disaster relief

Page: 69

View: 902

History

The Works of Matthew Blue

Author: Matthew Powers Blue

Publisher: NewSouth Books

ISBN:

Category: History

Page: 459

View: 994

The 1878 City Directory of Montgomery, Alabama, included A Brief History of Montgomery, consisting of a narrative and a series of events arranged by the months. Compiled by Matthew Powers Blue, this was the earliest history of a place that already served as the center of Deep South cotton culture and as the first capital of the Confederacy. Contemporary historian Mary Ann Neeley has annotated Blue's history to correct errors and clear up inconsistencies, and added other material on early churches, a genealogy of the colorful Blue family, and a Civil War diary by Blue's sister Ellen.
Antiques & Collectibles

New Orleans in Golden Age Postcards

Author: Matthew Griffis

Publisher: Univ. Press of Mississippi

ISBN:

Category: Antiques & Collectibles

Page: 416

View: 894

New Orleans in Golden Age Postcards showcases over three hundred vintage postcard images of the city, printed in glorious color. From popular tourist attractions, restaurants, and grand hotels to local businesses, banks, churches, neighborhoods, civic buildings, and parks, the book not only celebrates these cards’ visual beauty but also considers their historic value. After providing an overview of the history of postcards in New Orleans, Matthew Griffis expertly arranges and describes the postcards by subject or theme. Focusing on the period from 1900 to 1920, the book is the first to offer information about the cards’ many publishers. More than a century ago, people sent postcards like we make phone calls today. Many also collected postcards, even trading them in groups or clubs. Adorned with colorized views of urban and rural landscapes, postcards offered people a chance to own images of places they lived, visited, or merely dreamed of visiting. Today, these relics remain one of the richest visual records of the last century as they offer a glimpse at the ways a city represented itself. They now appear regularly in art exhibits, blogs, and research collections. Many of the cards in this book have not been widely seen in well over a century, and many of the places and traditions they depict have long since vanished.
Juvenile Fiction

Matthew's Rise

Author: Debra Spearman

Publisher: Arcadia Publishing

ISBN:

Category: Juvenile Fiction

Page: 136

View: 455

Set on Caddo Lake in northwest Louisiana, this middle-reader novel finds eleven-year-old Matthew Morin and his family recovering from a tragic loss and trying to regain normalcy as they head to the family farmhouse. There Matthew will build new friendships, investigate a suspicious fire, discovering a Caddo Indian mound, and solving the mystery surrounding the area. They soon turn their attention to the enigmatic new neighbor down the road. As they investigate further, they are pitched into a race against time to save the burial site from desecration.
Religion

The Text of Matthew in the Writings of Basil of Caesarea

Author: Jean-François Racine

Publisher: Scholars Press

ISBN:

Category: Religion

Page: 424

View: 550

Basil (ca. 330-379) was a prolific writer and quoted extensively from the New Testament, says Racine (New Testament, Jesuit School of Theology, Berkeley), and so his work provides excellent evidence for which texts of the New Testament were in common use in Cappadocia during the fourth century, especially when analyzed in conjunction with the quota
Poetry

Exhuming Juliet

Author: Matthew Nolan

Publisher: Matthew Nolan

ISBN:

Category: Poetry

Page: 210

View: 383

Exhuming Juliet: A New Orleans Poet is a collection of poetry, love letters, and journals that lead you through an intense, provocative, highly sensitive world. Nolan surveys for truth in love relationships by performing a number of messy autopsies. Sometimes he examines family, Hurricane Katrina, and the dreamlike world of New Orleans, but mostly, he enjoys dissecting the Juliets. Peek at his findings and feel yourself staring in wonder at the sensual beauty. Dare to inspect closer, and you will recoil back in your chair while turning the page for the next glimpse.
Biography & Autobiography

Insights on Matthew McConaughey’s Greenlights

Author: Swift Reads

Publisher: Swift Books LLC

ISBN:

Category: Biography & Autobiography

Page:

View: 684

Download now to get key insights from this book in 15 minutes. “Unflinchingly honest and remarkably candid, Matthew McConaughey’s book invites us to grapple with the lessons of his life as he did - and to see that the point was never to win, but to understand.” (Mark Manson, author of The Subtle Art of Not Giving a F*ck) I’ve been in this life for 50 years, been trying to work out its riddle for 42, and been keeping diaries of clues to that riddle for the last 35. Notes about successes and failures, joys and sorrows, things that made me marvel, and things that made me laugh out loud. How to be fair. How to have less stress. How to have fun. How to hurt people less. How to get hurt less. How to be a good man. How to have meaning in life. How to be more me. Recently, I worked up the courage to sit down with those diaries. I found stories I experienced, lessons I learned and forgot, poems, prayers, prescriptions, beliefs about what matters, some great photographs, and a whole bunch of bumper stickers. I found a reliable theme, an approach to living that gave me more satisfaction, at the time, and still: If you know how, and when, to deal with life’s challenges - how to get relative with the inevitable - you can enjoy a state of success I call “catching greenlights”. So I took a one-way ticket to the desert and wrote this book: an album, a record, a story of my life so far. This is 50 years of my sights and seens, felts and figured-outs, cools and shamefuls. Graces, truths, and beauties of brutality. Getting away withs, getting caughts, and getting wets while trying to dance between the raindrops. Hopefully, it’s medicine that tastes good, a couple of aspirin instead of the infirmary, a spaceship to Mars without needing your pilot’s license, going to church without having to be born again, and laughing through the tears. It’s a love letter. To life. It’s also a guide to catching more greenlights - and to realizing that the yellows and reds eventually turn green, too. Good luck.