Fiction

Certain Moments of Time

Author: K.G. Bethlehem

Publisher: Lulu.com

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 112

View: 577

A collection of short stories from the creative, yet odd mind of KG Bethlehem. Various themes that connect with different times and different thought process that corresponds with each setting. Allow your mind to go beyond a welcoming to the world of odds and ends that looks past your own comfort.
Fiction

Moments of Time

Author: Gloria Cook

Publisher: Canelo

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 320

View: 304

After The Great War, will life ever be the same? The Great War is over, and the Harvey family of Ford Farm are slowly picking up the pieces. But Alec and Emilia's newly-wedded bliss is shattered when their third child is born with a life-threatening disease, a fate which Alec finds particularly hard to accept. Alec's relationships with his two brothers, Ben and Tristram, are strained by their differing loyalties and ambitions for the farm, and Emilia is torn reluctantly between them... The second of the gripping Harvey family sagas from the masterful Gloria Cook, this is perfect for fans of Kitty Neale, Margaret Dickinson and Mary Gibson.

Moments of Time

Author: A. T. Jones

Publisher: Independently Published

ISBN:

Category:

Page: 78

View: 758

A.T. Jones takes us inside the world of an adolescent highlighting the struggles of transitioning into womanhood. She characterizes different moments of her life through descriptive poetry such as "Because I Love," "Caution," "Nobody Knows" and "Final Solution" tackling popular topics of today's youth that speak to the most intimate parts of human nature.

Songs of Time and Moments of Life

Author: owen jacobs

Publisher:

ISBN:

Category:

Page: 360

View: 578

In Owen Jacobs' second self-publishing effort, (After 2018's "Velvet Poetry") he attempts to capture with fictional and nonfictional poetry, the beginning and end of our world as we know it. Starting this collection off with the creation of the universe itself, and ending with our certain Earthly demise. This highly interactive book of poetry is filled with the magic of the human spirit, and the troubles we all face in life. Held together with a hand-picked, follow-along soundtrack; puzzles and encrypted messages, and visual art to stimulate the imagery. With all there is to journey through in "Songs of Time", you will not be disappointed. "We do not have much time, but we sure can make the most of it."
Juvenile Fiction

A Moment in Time

Author: Jennifer Butenas

Publisher: Perfect Moment, LLC

ISBN:

Category: Juvenile Fiction

Page: 40

View: 451

A mother, father, and their two sons are relaxing on their porch when the mother decides to take a photo of her family's actions while they all spend time together.
History

Moments in Time

Author:

Publisher:

ISBN:

Category: History

Page: 224

View: 500

A collection of some 240 photographs of moments of joy and tragedy, victory and defeat, poignancy and humor
Self-Help

Real Moments

Author: Barbara De Angelis

Publisher: Dell

ISBN:

Category: Self-Help

Page: 288

View: 384

To many of us, the experiences that we grew up taking for granted leave become distant dreams in our adult lives: marriages that last a lifetime; safe neighborhoods to call home; the certainty that our children will have a better life than we did; and most of all, lots of time to spend as we wish, living for the moment. Instead, we find our time and energy spent recovering from the past or protecting ourselves from the future. The result is a desperate, sometimes dangerous, and often unsuccessful, search for meaning in our lives. In Real Moments, Barbara De Angelis defines happiness not as an acquisition, but as a skill--the skill of capturing every moment and living it completely. With insight, wisdom, and vision, she teaches us how to rediscover real moments with our mates and our children, with our work and our play, in sex and intimacy, and real moments with ourselves. It is an examination of our relationship with the process of living itself, offering inspiration as well as practical tools for creating more of one of the most precious moments of all--moments of true meaning in our lives.
Philosophy

The Moment

Author: Heidrun Friese

Publisher: Liverpool University Press

ISBN:

Category: Philosophy

Page: 209

View: 797

This volume addresses from different perspectives the key questions posed by the moment and thereby elucidates the connection between social theory, philosophy, literary theory and history that are opened by the moment.

Moments of Time

Author: Cody A. Kristenson

Publisher:

ISBN:

Category:

Page:

View: 192

A selection of original images collected over four years.
Social Science

A Moment's Notice

Author: Carol J. Greenhouse

Publisher: Cornell University Press

ISBN:

Category: Social Science

Page: 334

View: 505

Focusing on the problem of time—the paradox of time's apparent universality and cultural relativity—Carol J. Greenhouse develops an original ethnographic account of our present moment, the much-heralded postmodern condition, which is at the same time a reflexive analysis of ethnography itself. She argues that time is about agency and accountability, and that representations of time are used by institutions of law, politics, and scholarship to selectively refashion popular ideas of agency into paradigms of institutional legitimacy. A Moment's Notice suggests that the problem of time in theory is the corollary of problems of power in practice. Greenhouse develops her theory in examinations of three moments of cultural and political crisis: the resistance of the Aztecs against Cortes, the consolidation of China's First Empire, and the recent partisan political contests over Supreme Court nominees in the United States. In each of these cases, temporal innovation is integral to political improvisation, as traditions of sovereignty confront new cultural challenges. These cases return the discussion to current issues of inequality, postmodernity, cultural pluralism, and ethnography.
Logic

Logic

Author: Hermann Lotze

Publisher:

ISBN:

Category: Logic

Page:

View: 173

Poetry

A Poetic Life

Author: Angela Duffield

Publisher: Xlibris Corporation

ISBN:

Category: Poetry

Page: 48

View: 494

While reading this book, maybe you will be able to relate to some of these poems. Keep in mind, the author is currently in the process of writing an autobiography so that you can get to know and understand, in depth, how these "Meaningful Moments of Time" have affected her inherently throughout life in the past, present, and God willing, future.
Poetry

Moments in Time

Author: Conrad H. Kloppers

Publisher: Xlibris Corporation

ISBN:

Category: Poetry

Page: 140

View: 788

This book is written for all people that have gone through tough times and the ones that still need to go through some. It is written for the everyday man and woman. Life is great and not so great. We laugh we cry. We are happy and sometimes sad. We love and we hate. We live life to the fullest and occasionally we don't. We get addicted to stuff and we don't. We can forgive but can't forget. We abuse and get abuse. We use and get used. The list is endless. This has been a chapter in my life where all the above is true and all have happen to me. I had to look rather deep inside of me to deal with the issues in the mirror or perhaps starring back at me from the canvas i brushed on. Intermittently trying to ignore it and sweep it under the carpet. There is only one way and that is to face it head on and to deal with it. Otherwise it will just appear again and again. The poems are written in English and also in my mother tongue, Afrikaans. Never written before so this is a milestone for me personally and it definitely closed a chapter of my life which was tearful and very sad. Live life to the fullest and never allow anyone or anything to take that away from u!
Literary Criticism

Time and the Moment in Victorian Literature and Society

Author: Sue Zemka

Publisher: Cambridge University Press

ISBN:

Category: Literary Criticism

Page:

View: 863

Sudden changes, opportunities, or revelations have always carried a special significance in Western culture, from the Greek and later the Christian kairos to Evangelical experiences of conversion. This fascinating book explores the ways in which England, under the influence of industrializing forces and increased precision in assessing the passing of time, attached importance to moments, events that compress great significance into small units of time. Sue Zemka questions the importance that modernity invests in momentary events, from religion to aesthetics and philosophy. She argues for a strain in Victorian and early modern novels critical of the values the age invested in moments of time, and suggests that such novels also offer a correction to contemporary culture and criticism, with its emphasis on the momentary event as an agency of change.
Philosophy

Mind

Author:

Publisher:

ISBN:

Category: Philosophy

Page:

View: 247