Murder -1948 Style

Author: Ron Rosewood

Publisher: Createspace Independent Publishing Platform

ISBN:

Category:

Page: 190

View: 852

This story depicts the events leading up to and subsequent events of an unsolved mysterious death "The Shud Case" in Adelaide Austrailia in late 1948. The Author has fictionalized the majority of the book to explain a possible motive and conclusion.
Fiction

Murder, Salinas Style: Book One

Author: Lisa Eisemann

Publisher: Trafford Publishing

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 150

View: 430

Fifty-four true murder stories are told in this history of Salinas, a city with a long, violent history. See the cases through the eyes of the detectives who worked them.
Fiction

Murder Manhattan Style

Author: Warren Bull

Publisher: Untreed Reads

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 95

View: 239

The Manhattan in the title sometimes refers to the suave part of New York and sometimes to its prairie twin in Kansas. The stories are equally diverse. Bull writes tales of children outwitting their elders in the name of what's right in turbulent Bleeding Kansas; of card sharks, clever dames and tough guys out on the town in the flush days of post-World War II; of an anguished husband and another furious father thwarted while seeking revenge; and a crime writer who really can't handle rejection.
Performing Arts

A Grammar of Murder

Author: Karla Oeler

Publisher: University of Chicago Press

ISBN:

Category: Performing Arts

Page: 304

View: 987

The dark shadows and offscreen space that force us to imagine violence we cannot see. The real slaughter of animals spliced with the fictional killing of men. The missing countershot from the murder victim’s point of view. Such images, or absent images, Karla Oeler contends, distill how the murder scene challenges and changes film. Reexamining works by such filmmakers as Renoir, Hitchcock, Kubrick, Jarmusch, and Eisenstein, Oeler traces the murder scene’s intricate connections to the great breakthroughs in the theory and practice of montage and the formulation of the rules and syntax of Hollywood genre. She argues that murder plays such a central role in film because it mirrors, on multiple levels, the act of cinematic representation. Death and murder at once eradicate life and call attention to its former existence, just as cinema conveys both the reality and the absence of the objects it depicts. But murder shares with cinema not only this interplay between presence and absence, movement and stillness: unlike death, killing entails the deliberate reduction of a singular subject to a disposable object. Like cinema, it involves a crucial choice about what to cut and what to keep.
Law

New-born Child Murder

Author: Mark Jackson

Publisher: Manchester University Press

ISBN:

Category: Law

Page: 206

View: 546

This text concerns women who were accused of murdering their new-born children in the 18th century. It explores why certain women were suspected of murdering their children at birth and how they were subsequently treated by their neighbours, families, friends and the courts. The book draws heavily on a variety of archival material from the Northern Circuit courts and on a wide range of contemporary printed sources. Individual chapters focus on the key issues: the medical testimony in local investigations and in court; conflicting public representations of suspects; decision-making in the courts; debates about capital punishment and the administration of justice; and the changes in the law at the turn of the 19th century.
Fiction

Murder in the Telephone Exchange

Author: June Wright

Publisher: Verse Chorus Press

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 368

View: 445

First published in 1948, when it was the best-selling mystery of the year in the author’s native Australia, Murder in the Telephone Exchange stars feisty young operator Maggie Byrnes. When one of her more unpopular colleagues is murdered — her head bashed in with a “buttinski,” a piece of equipment used to listen in on phone calls — Maggie resolves to turn sleuth. Some of her coworkers are acting strangely, and Maggie is convinced she has a better chance of figuring out who is responsible for the killing than the rather stolid police team assigned to the case, who seem to think she herself might have had something to do with it. But then one of her friends is murdered too, and it looks like Maggie might be next. Narrated with verve and wit, this is a whodunit in the tradition of Dorothy L. Sayers and Daphne du Maurier, by turns entertaining and suspenseful, and building to a gripping climax.
Literary Criticism

The Encyclopedia of Murder and Mystery

Author: B. Murphy

Publisher: Springer

ISBN:

Category: Literary Criticism

Page: 543

View: 463

Bruce Murphy's Encyclopedia of Murder and Mystery is a comprehensive guide to the genre of the murder mystery that catalogues thousands of items in a broad range of categories: authors, titles, plots, characters, weapons, methods of killing, movie and theatrical adaptations. What distinguishes this encyclopedia from the others in the field is its critical stance.
Law

Murder American Style

Author: Alex Alvarez

Publisher: Wadsworth Publishing Company

ISBN:

Category: Law

Page: 212

View: 180

A part of the Wadsworth Contemporary Issues in Crime and Justice Series, this text is one of a few to exclusively address the core issues that relate to criminal homicide in the United States. MURDER AMERICAN STYLE provides an interdisciplinary theoretical approach to understanding the patterns and trends of lethal violence in America.
Fiction

Oscar Wilde and the Murders at Reading Gaol

Author: Gyles Brandreth

Publisher: Hachette UK

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 352

View: 552

In OSCAR WILDE AND THE MURDERS AT READING GAOL, the sixth in Gyles Brandreth's acclaimed Oscar Wilde Murder Mysteries series featuring Oscar Wilde and Arthur Conan Doyle, Reading Gaol's most famous prisoner is pitted against a ruthless and fiendishly clever serial killer. 'Intelligent, amusing and entertaining' Alexander McCall Smith It is 1897, Dieppe. Oscar Wilde, poet, playwright, novelist, raconteur and ex-convict, has fled the country after his release from Reading Gaol. Tonight he is sharing a drink and the story of his cruel imprisonment with a mysterious stranger. He has endured a harsh regime: the treadmill, solitary confinement, censored letters, no writing materials. Yet even in the midst of such deprivation, Oscar's astonishing detective powers remain undiminished - and when first a brutal warder and then the prison chaplain are found murdered, who else should the governor turn to for help other than Reading Gaol's most celebrated inmate? In this, the latest novel in his acclaimed Oscar Wilde murder mystery series, Gyles Brandreth takes us deep into the dark heart of Wilde's cruel incarceration.
Literary Criticism

Bloody Murder

Author: Michelle Ann Abate

Publisher: JHU Press

ISBN:

Category: Literary Criticism

Page: 280

View: 360

Given the long-standing belief that children ought to be shielded from disturbing life events, it is surprising to see how many stories for kids involve killing. Bloody Murder is the first full-length critical study of this pervasive theme of murder in children’s literature. Through rereadings of well-known works, such as Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland, the Nancy Drew Mystery Stories, and The Outsiders, Michelle Ann Abate explores how acts of homicide connect these works with an array of previously unforeseen literary, social, political, and cultural issues. Topics range from changes in the America criminal justice system, the rise of forensic science, and shifting attitudes about crime and punishment to changing cultural conceptions about the nature of evil and the different ways that murder has been popularly presented and socially interpreted. Bloody Murder adds to the body of inquiry into America's ongoing fascination with violent crime. Abate argues that when narratives for children are considered along with other representations of homicide in the United States, they not only provide a more accurate portrait of the range, depth, and variety of crime literature, they also alter existing ideas about the meaning of violence, the emotional appeal of fear, and the cultural construction of death and dying.
Performing Arts

The Complete Actors' Television Credits, 1948-1988: Actors

Author: James Robert Parish

Publisher: Complete Actors' Television Credits

ISBN:

Category: Performing Arts

Page: 560

View: 169

Chronicles the individual performances of 1,587 performers from 1948 to 1988 (including cartoon, pilot, variety, telefilm, and documentary credits). While only a few reference sources deserve to be called essential, this important work justifies superlatives. --ARBA
Performing Arts

Historical Dictionary of Russian Theater

Author: Laurence Senelick

Publisher: Scarecrow Press

ISBN:

Category: Performing Arts

Page: 624

View: 879

Despite constant hindrance from government interference and control, the Russian theater has produced many memorable playwrights, schools of thought, and plays, whose influence can be seen throughout the world. Nikolai Gogol''s The Inspector, Maksim Gor'kii's The Lower Depths, and Anton Chekhov's The Cherry Orchard remain staples of repertories in every language. The ideas of Konstantin Stanislavskii, Vsevolod Meierkhol'd, and Mikhail Chekhov continue to inspire actors and directors, and designers still draw on the graphics of the World of Art group and the Constructivists. The Historical Dictionary of Russian Theater is the only reference work in English devoted exclusively to Russian theater and drama. It provides information on the popular plays and playwrights while also offering information on many persons, works, and phenomena omitted from standard encyclopedias. Through the use of a chronology, an introductory essay, a bibliography, an appendix, and hundreds of cross-referenced dictionary entries on directors, stage designers, actors, plays, playwrights, concepts, theater buildings, and troupes, this reference provides an unrivaled account of Russian theater.
History

The Polk Conspiracy

Author: Kati Marton

Publisher: Open Road Media

ISBN:

Category: History

Page: 376

View: 214

In war-torn Greece, the murder of a young American reporter sent a shock through the West and set the stage for the four-decade Cold War; now with a new introduction by the author Greece in 1948 was a country reeling from two major conflicts. The Nazi occupation and World War II had left it weakened, and the Greek Civil War—already raging for two years—had torn it apart. One of the earliest clashes of the Cold War, Greece’s civil dispute pitted the American-backed royalist government against the Soviet-funded Greek Communist Party. Reporting at the front lines for CBS News, George Polk drew the ire of both sides with his uncompromising and incisive coverage. In mid-May, days after going missing, Polk was found dead, shot execution style with his hands and feet bound. What transpired next was a mad scramble of finger pointing and international outrage. To appease its American backers, the Greek government quickly secured the dubious confession of a Communist journalist—though the bulk of the evidence pointed to the royalists. An influential moment in the early days of the Cold War and a powerful force in the formation of the Truman Doctrine, the Polk conspiracy was emblematic of the ideological conflict that would embroil the globe for the next forty years.
Biography & Autobiography

Cyclopedia of World Authors

Author: Frank Northen Magill

Publisher: Pasadena, Calif. : Salem Press

ISBN:

Category: Biography & Autobiography

Page: 2235

View: 639

Containing biographical and critical essays on 2,057 writers from antiquity to present. Averaging 1000 words per entry.