Biography & Autobiography

Obligations and Aspirations

Author: Kim Jai Sook Martin

Publisher: iUniverse

ISBN:

Category: Biography & Autobiography

Page: 266

View: 841

Kim Jai Sook Martin entered the world in 1935, during the Japanese occupation of her native Korea. She was the second daughter of an ordinary family, born to parents who had hoped for a boy; they dressed her as one until she was three, when her brother was born. By the age of six, she had already learned the price of her fierce independence: refusing to acknowledge the Japanese flag as the Korean national flag, she was denied entrance to her first year of school. This early conflict set Kim Jai Sook on a lifetime quest to understand her obligations to her family, her culture, her country, herself, and, ultimately, to God. Hers is a story of perseverance, turmoil, and love, as she fought to maintain balance between duty and her own desires. She set her goals high. As the survivor of Japanese subjugation and two wars, she committed herself to living as a responsible and worthy person. As an adult, in pursuit of her deep desire to become a teacher, she left Korea and built a new life in Canada, where her father’s advice on dealing with people became her guiding principles. This is her story.
Medical

Preventive Medicine between Obligation and Aspiration

Author: M.F. Verweij

Publisher: Springer Science & Business Media

ISBN:

Category: Medical

Page: 192

View: 612

Preventive Medicine between Obligation and Aspiration is a study of ethical questions regarding mass screening, vaccination, and health policy programmes. These interventions aim to enhance public health but may also constrain personal autonomy and cause harm, and influence our moral views. So far, these issues have hardly been subject to systematic ethical analysis. This study aims to fill this gap by providing an overview of moral problems in preventive medicine and by explicating norms for good practice. Throughout the book it is argued that some moral concerns about prevention - namely concerns about medicalization - cannot be adequately grasped in terms of strict and binding moral norms. Various moral concepts and types of norms `beyond obligation' are explored and developed in order to give practical meaning to these rather vague concerns. In this way the book contributes to applied ethics as well as to ethical theory. It is of interest to professionals in public health and preventive medicine and to scholars in applied ethics and moral philosophy.
Social Science

Advances in Identity Theory and Research

Author: Peter J. Burke

Publisher: Springer Science & Business Media

ISBN:

Category: Social Science

Page: 235

View: 840

This volume is presented in four sections based on recent research in the field: the sources of identity, the tie between identity and the social structure, the non-cognitive outcomes - such as emotional - of identity processes, and the idea that individuals have multiple identities. This timely work will be of interest to social psychologists in sociology and psychology, behavioral scientists, and political scientists.
Law

Management Obligations for Health and Safety

Author: Gregory W. Smith

Publisher: CRC Press

ISBN:

Category: Law

Page: 186

View: 181

In recent years, the safety management field has placed leadership and commitment at the center of effective workplace health and safety programs. At the same time, personal liability for workplace health and safety has increased, resulting in poor outcomes for individual managers. Discussing the minimum expectations that courts and tribunals have of managers, Management Obligations for Health and Safety examines the relationship between those expectations and effective safety performance. The book looks at safety management from the perspective of management obligations. What expectations are placed on managers at all levels of an organization to ensure that the workplace and systems of work are safe, and how are these expectations considered and analyzed by courts and public inquiries? As importantly, the book explores how management actions in relation to these obligations and expectations influence, positively or negatively, the safety performance of an organization. With examples drawn from legal and quasi-legal processes, one of the more enlightening and thought-provoking features of this book is the extensive use of cross examination taken from various proceedings. No one person reacts the same to finding him- or herself responsible for managing the aftermath of a death at work, or having to deal with the immediate pressure of being subject to interviews and investigation by safety regulators (much less the drawn-out experience of the legal process), but one of the most constant reactions is "Why didn’t anybody tell me about this?" Stressing the importance of safety culture, this book details the true nature of the expectations that are placed on managers by virtue of their obligation to provide a safe workplace.
Religion

Good Pastors, Bad Pastors

Author: Dela Quampah

Publisher: Wipf and Stock Publishers

ISBN:

Category: Religion

Page: 244

View: 163

The emergence of Pentecostalism in Ghana has attracted a massive following and generated institutions that have significantly impacted Christian discourse and national life. The movement has produced prominent leaders who have developed exemplary Christian education programs and generated volumes of Christian literature unprecedented in Ghanaian Christianity. Nevertheless, public opinion often upbraids church leaders for unethical conduct. Despite the concern for high moral standards set by Pentecostal church polity and ministerial ethical codes, reports of Pentecostal ministerial misconduct appear regularly in the media. Although congregation members and perceptive public observers appreciate the constructive moral impact of Pentecostal ministers, instances of promiscuity, power abuse, financial misappropriation, and superstition reveal a gap between ethical ideals and practice. As this research reveals, factors behind unethical ministerial conduct include inadequate training, poor accountability, and a general low level of ethical reflection. Good Pastors, Bad Pastors suggests that a multidimensional approach of responsible reportage, emphatic moral education, appropriate but sympathetic response to moral failure, and peer-review accountability could help uphold a higher standard of ministerial ethics.
Science

Environmental Management and Development

Author: Chris Barrow

Publisher: Routledge

ISBN:

Category: Science

Page: 288

View: 515

The environment and its management has been, and continues to be a very topical issue. Existing environment and development texts place emphasis is on listing problems, making warnings and voicing advocacy, but by focusing on environmental management, this informative book offers a very different perspective. Moving on from the usual much-discussed viewpoints, Barrow looks towards practical management and problem-solving techniques. He clarifies the definition, nature and role of environmental management in development and developing countries, beginning with an introduction to the key terms, issues and tools of environmental management, which are linked and developed in later chapters, and concluding by discussing who pays for environmental management and its future in developing countries. Written by an experienced and well-known author, this clear, user-friendly book, ideal for students of resource management, geography and development studies, makes excellent use of chapter summaries, boxed case studies, annotated further readings and websites, discussion questions and illustrations.
Political Science

The Liberalism-communitarianism Debate

Author: Cornelius F. Delaney

Publisher: Rowman & Littlefield

ISBN:

Category: Political Science

Page: 249

View: 305

In the tradition of John Rawls's A Theory of Justice, Delaney brings to the forefront one of the latest challenges to liberalism: communitarianism. Distinguished political scientists and philosophers provide a dialogue that enriches the arguments of both schools.
Education

Education for Values

Author: Jo Cairns

Publisher: Routledge

ISBN:

Category: Education

Page: 356

View: 435

Values in education - how they are taught, the ethics of teaching itself, plus their role in the education of educators - is an area of lively and passionate debate. This book provides an essential resource of ideas, issues and current practice for all those with an interest in this area of education. Presenting a range of critical writing, this book deals with issues relating to education in values; approaches to teaching values; teacher education and values; research for education in values; and international comparative studies. Highly regarded when it was first published in hardback in 2000, the book now appears in paperback for the first time with a new introduction, which updates the main ideas and themes of the book.
Language Arts & Disciplines

Languages and the Military

Author: H. Footitt

Publisher: Springer

ISBN:

Category: Language Arts & Disciplines

Page: 249

View: 661

Through detailed case studies ranging from the 18th century until today,this book explores the role of foreign languages in military alliances, in occupation and in peace building. It brings together academic researchers and practitioners from the museum and interpreting worlds and the military.
Language Arts & Disciplines

Media And Revolution

Author: Jeremy D. Popkin

Publisher: University Press of Kentucky

ISBN:

Category: Language Arts & Disciplines

Page: 256

View: 178

As television screens across America showed Chinese students blocking government tanks in Tiananmen Square, the fall of the Berlin Wall, and missiles searching their targets in Baghdad, the connection between media and revolution seemed more significant than ever. In this book, thirteen prominent scholars examine the role of the communication media in revolutionary crises -- from the Puritan Revolution of the 1640s to the upheaval in the former Czechoslovakia. Their central question: Do the media in fact have a real influence on the unfolding of revolutionary crises? On this question, the contributors diverge, some arguing that the press does not bring about revolution but is part of the revolutionary process, others downplaying the role of the media. Essays focus on areas as diverse as pamphlet literature, newspapers, political cartoons, and the modern electronic media. The authors' wide-ranging views form a balanced and perceptive examination of the impact of the media on the making of history.