Humor

Paperbacks from Hell

Author: Grady Hendrix

Publisher: Quirk Books

ISBN:

Category: Humor

Page: 256

View: 252

An affectionate, nostalgic, and unflinchingly funny celebration of the horror fiction boom of the 1970s and ’80s Take a tour through the horror paperback novels of two iconic decades . . . if you dare. Page through dozens and dozens of amazing book covers featuring well-dressed skeletons, evil dolls, and knife-wielding killer crabs! Read shocking plot summaries that invoke devil worship, satanic children, and haunted real estate! Horror author and vintage paperback book collector Grady Hendrix offers killer commentary and witty insight on these trashy thrillers that tried so hard to be the next Exorcist or Rosemary’s Baby. Complete with story summaries and artist and author profiles, this unforgettable volume dishes on familiar authors like V. C. Andrews and R. L. Stine, plus many more who’ve faded into obscurity. Also included are recommendations for which of these forgotten treasures are well worth your reading time and which should stay buried.
Fiction

Black Ambrosia (Paperbacks from Hell)

Author: Elizabeth Engstrom

Publisher:

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 270

View: 183

Angelina is a killer. You'd never know it to look at her--until you look into her eyes. Angelina doesn't kill out of hatred or fear--she kills out of love, bringing solace to her victims, guided by the seductive Voice that speaks only to her. Angelina offers you eternal peace--at the cost of your soul! This new edition of Elizabeth Engstrom's rare and highly sought-after 1980s horror classic features an introduction by Grady Hendrix (Paperbacks from Hell) and the original cover art by Bob Eggleton. "Behind Engstrom's soft-voice style is power, is surprise, is--well, ferocity!"--Theodore Sturgeon

The Pack (Paperbacks from Hell)

Author: David Fisher

Publisher:

ISBN:

Category:

Page: 216

View: 148

In the August heat they frolicked on the beaches, fetched sticks, played with the children. Then the summer dwellers left, abandoning them to the island's harsh winter. Ravenous hunger and violent rage have brought them together under a cunning, ferocious leader. Man has betrayed his best friend--now the dogs will have their day. It's a bitter winter, and the dogs of summer have grown hungry ... and vicious! This edition of David Fisher's The Pack (1976) features a new introduction by Will Errickson and the original cover painting by Lydia Rosier. "A flesh-crawling thriller!"--The New York Times
Cockroaches

The Nest (Paperbacks from Hell)

Author: Gregory A. Douglas

Publisher:

ISBN:

Category: Cockroaches

Page: 306

View: 805

"Featured in Grady Hendrix's Paperbacks from hell"--Cover.

Nightblood (Paperbacks from Hell)

Author: T. Chris Martindale

Publisher:

ISBN:

Category:

Page: 328

View: 453

As a soldier in the jungle of Vietnam, Chris Stiles learned how to fight against a deadly enemy. Now the war is over, but when his brother is slaughtered in Central Park, Chris finds himself called back into action, this time to battle a different kind of foe: an army of the undead! His quest for the creature that killed his brother brings him to Isherwood, Indiana, home to 800 people--and one ancient vampire. As all hell breaks loose and the townspeople are turned one by one into blood-sucking monsters, will Chris's tactical skills and his arsenal of automatic weapons be enough to stop the vampire menace? This first-ever reprint of T. Chris Martindale's action-packed vampire romp Nightblood (1990) includes a new introduction by Grady Hendrix (Paperbacks from Hell) and the original cover painting by Greg Winters. "It's heavy-duty armaments and ghostly aid versus fangs and immortality . . . genuine entertainment!"--Locus Magazine "The scares jump off the page at you!"--Gary Brandner, author of The Howling "It tingled my spine!"--Robert Bloch, author of Psycho
Fiction

Horrorstor

Author: Grady Hendrix

Publisher: Quirk Books

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 240

View: 944

Something strange is happening at the Orsk furniture superstore in Cleveland, Ohio. Every morning, employees arrive to find broken Kjerring bookshelves, shattered Glans water goblets, and smashed Liripip wardrobes. Sales are down, security cameras reveal nothing, and store managers are panicking. To unravel the mystery, three employees volunteer to work a nine-hour dusk-till-dawn shift. In the dead of the night, they’ll patrol the empty showroom floor, investigate strange sights and sounds, and encounter horrors that defy the imagination. A traditional haunted house story in a thoroughly contemporary setting, Horrorstör comes packaged in the form of a glossy mail order catalog, complete with product illustrations, a home delivery order form, and a map of Orsk’s labyrinthine showroom. It’s “a treat for fans of The Evil Dead or Zombieland, complete with affordable solutions for better living.”—Kirkus Reviews.
Fiction

We Sold Our Souls

Author: Grady Hendrix

Publisher: Quirk Books

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 336

View: 586

In this hard-rocking, spine-tingling supernatural thriller, the washed-up guitarist of a ’90s heavy metal band embarks on an epic road-trip across America and deep into the web of a sinister conspiracy. Every morning, Kris Pulaski wakes up in hell. In the 1990s she was lead guitarist of Dürt Würk, a heavy-metal band on the brink of breakout success until lead singer Terry Hunt embarked on a solo career and rocketed to stardom, leaving his bandmates to rot in obscurity. Now Kris works as night manager of a Best Western; she’s tired, broke, and unhappy. Then one day everything changes—a shocking act of violence turns her life upside down, and she begins to suspect that Terry sabotaged more than just the band. Kris hits the road, hoping to reunite Dürt Würk and confront the man who ruined her life. Her journey will take her from the Pennsylvania rust belt to a celebrity rehab center to a satanic music festival. A furious power ballad about never giving up, We Sold Our Souls is an epic journey into the heart of a conspiracy-crazed, pill-popping, paranoid country that seems to have lost its very soul.