Social Science

Philip Roth and the Jews

Author: Alan Cooper

Publisher: SUNY Press

ISBN:

Category: Social Science

Page: 344

View: 761

Examines Philip Roth's use of Jewish ideas and materials in his novels, considering also the responses to Roth's work and his relations with the Jewish community and contemporary Jewish writers.
Literary Criticism

Philip Roth

Author: Derek Parker Royal

Publisher: Greenwood Publishing Group

ISBN:

Category: Literary Criticism

Page: 342

View: 135

Offering fresh insight into Roth's works, this volume covers the entire oeuvre to date and addresses common themes and issues.
Literary Criticism

Philip Roth

Author: Debra Shostak

Publisher: A&C Black

ISBN:

Category: Literary Criticism

Page: 197

View: 528

>
Literary Criticism

Philip Roth's Rude Truth

Author: Ross Posnock

Publisher: Princeton University Press

ISBN:

Category: Literary Criticism

Page: 328

View: 359

Has anyone ever worked harder and longer at being immature than Philip Roth? The novelist himself pointed out the paradox, saying that after establishing a reputation for maturity with two earnest novels, he "worked hard and long and diligently" to be frivolous--an effort that resulted in the notoriously immature Portnoy's Complaint (1969). Three-and-a-half decades and more than twenty books later, Roth is still at his serious "pursuit of the unserious." But his art of immaturity has itself matured, developing surprising links with two traditions of immaturity--an American one that includes Emerson, Melville, and Henry James, and a late twentieth-century Eastern European one that developed in reaction to totalitarianism. In Philip Roth's Rude Truth--one of the first major studies of Roth's career as a whole--Ross Posnock examines Roth's "mature immaturity" in all its depth and richness. Philip Roth's Rude Truth will force readers to reconsider the narrow categories into which Roth has often been slotted--laureate of Newark, New Jersey; junior partner in the firm Salinger, Bellow, Mailer, and Malamud; Jewish-American regionalist. In dramatic contrast to these caricatures, the Roth who emerges from Posnock's readable and intellectually vibrant study is a great cosmopolitan in the tradition of Henry James and Milan Kundera.
Literary Criticism

Philip Roth -- Countertexts, Counterlives

Author: Debra B. Shostak

Publisher: Univ of South Carolina Press

ISBN:

Category: Literary Criticism

Page: 366

View: 739

Looking at Philip Roth's writing life as a "book of voices," Debra Shostak listens in on the conversations that this prominent American novelist has conducted with himself and his times over forty years and twenty-four books. She finds that while Roth frequently shifts perspectives, he repeatedly returns to interrelated questions of cultural history, literary history, and, especially, selfhood.
Literary Criticism

The Cambridge Companion to Philip Roth

Author: Timothy Parrish

Publisher: Cambridge University Press

ISBN:

Category: Literary Criticism

Page:

View: 274

From the moment that his debut book, Goodbye, Columbus (1959), won him the National Book Award, Philip Roth has been among the most influential and controversial writers of our age. Now the author of more than twenty novels, numerous stories, two memoirs, and two books of literary criticism, Roth has used his writing to continually reinvent himself and in doing so to remake the American literary landscape. This Companion provides the most comprehensive introduction to his works and thought in a collection of newly commissioned essays from distinguished scholars. Beginning with the urgency of Roth's early fiction and extending to the vitality of his most recent novels, these essays trace Roth's artistic engagement with questions about ethnic identity, postmodernism, Israel, the Holocaust, sexuality, and the human psyche itself. With its chronology and guide to further reading, this Companion will be essential for new and returning Roth readers, students and scholars.
BIOGRAPHY & AUTOBIOGRAPHY

Philip Roth

Author: Ira Nadel

Publisher: Oxford University Press, USA

ISBN:

Category: BIOGRAPHY & AUTOBIOGRAPHY

Page: 577

View: 291

This new biography of the controversial, influential, and prize-winning American novelist Philip Roth, a writer with an international reputation for inventive, original novels from Portnoy's Complaint to American Pastoral and The Plot Against America, is based on new access to archival documents and new interviews with Roth's friends and associates.
Biography & Autobiography

Philip Roth

Author: Blake Bailey

Publisher: Random House

ISBN:

Category: Biography & Autobiography

Page: 746

View: 489

'Superlative... definitive and genuinely gripping' SUNDAY TIMES 'Utterly engrossing' EVENING STANDARD 'Compulsively readable... Beautifully written... Definitive' OBSERVER Appointed by Philip Roth and granted complete access and independence, Blake Bailey spent years poring over Roth's personal archive, interviewing his friends, lovers, and colleagues, and engaging Roth himself in breathtakingly candid conversations. The result is an indelible portrait of an American master and of the post-war literary scene. Bailey shows how Roth emerged from a lower-middle-class Jewish milieu to achieve the heights of literary fame, how his career was nearly derailed by his catastrophic first marriage, and how he championed the work of dissident novelists behind the Iron Curtain. Bailey examines Roth's rivalrous friendships with Saul Bellow, John Updike and William Styron, and reveals the truths of his florid love life, culminating in his almost-twenty-year relationship with actress Claire Bloom, who pilloried Roth in her 1996 memoir, Leaving a Doll's House. Tracing Roth's path from realism to farce to metafiction to the tragic masterpieces of the American Trilogy, Bailey explores Roth's engagement with nearly every aspect of post-war American culture. *A 'BOOKS OF 2021' PICK IN THE OBSERVER, GUARDIAN, FINANCIAL TIMES, SUNDAY TIMES, EVENING STANDARD, SPECTATOR AND NEW STATESMAN*