Language Arts & Disciplines

Re-assessing the Present Perfect

Author: Valentin Werner

Publisher: Walter de Gruyter GmbH & Co KG

ISBN:

Category: Language Arts & Disciplines

Page: 363

View: 961

It is a well-known fact that the area of the present perfect has always been a hotly contested ground, but recent corpus analyses have shown that grammatical variation in this realm in English is far more pervasive than previously assumed. This volume is the first ever book-length treatment dedicated to corpus-based work on the present perfect. It offers fresh theoretical insights resting on a solid empirical footing and investigates central aspects of language contact and change, grammaticalization, typology, and dialect formation. It sheds light on this morphosyntactic area from different angles, as it comprises both diachronic and synchronic viewpoints. Contributions explore variation in the expression of perfect meaning and the multifunctionality of perfect forms in a number of native and non-native varieties, thus going beyond the traditional British/American English paradigm, while a second focus lies on cross-variety comparisons. Bringing together the knowledge of leading experts in the field, this book represents the state of the art in data-driven research on the present perfect and will be of interest for those working in the fields of language variation and change, corpus linguistics, sociolinguistics, and typology.
Language Arts & Disciplines

World Englishes

Author: Elena Seoane

Publisher: John Benjamins Publishing Company

ISBN:

Category: Language Arts & Disciplines

Page: 285

View: 270

This book provides a collection of articles that reflect the current state of affairs in the blossoming field of World Englishes by bringing together several innovative synchronic and diachronic approaches. It contributes to the ongoing theoretical discussion concerning the criteria that make a low-frequency item represent an incipient change and examines the suitability of the sociolinguistics of globalisation theory for the study of non-traditional avenues for the spread of vernacular varieties of English (recent migrations, the entertainment industry, the web). It explores crucial aspects of language change and dialect evolution through the study of grammatical phenomena and the particular linguistic and socio-historical factors conditioning them. Together with theoretical questions, the volume shows a concern for methodological issues, such as sociolinguistic interviews, map-task experiments, metalinguistic comments, acceptability judgments and corpus-based methods. This volume represents the latest trends in the field and will undoubtedly set the agenda for the years ahead.
Language Arts & Disciplines

Changing English

Author: Markku Filppula

Publisher: Walter de Gruyter GmbH & Co KG

ISBN:

Category: Language Arts & Disciplines

Page: 361

View: 970

This book examines the special nature of English both as a global and a local language, focusing on some of the ongoing changes and on the emerging new structural and discoursal characteristics of varieties of English. Although it is widely recognised that processes of language change and contact bear affinities, for example, to processes observable in second-language acquisition and lingua franca use, the research into these fields has so far not been sufficiently brought into contact with each other. The articles in this volume set out to combine all these perspectives in ways that give us a better understanding of the changing nature of English in the modern world.
Fiction

Perfect Together

Author: Lisa Plumley

Publisher: Lisa Plumley

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page:

View: 300

"Plumley's humor sparkles in this thoroughly engaging tale about what's real and what isn't." --Booklist (starred review) Nationally bestselling author Lisa Plumley has charmed readers and critics alike with her gift for sparkling screwball romance. Now, she turns reality TV upside down with a totally different take on prime-time love... After her long-running sitcom is cancelled, actress Marley Madison finds herself a typecast has-been at the ripe old age of twenty-seven. Her career needs a jump-start, fast--and an incognito appearance on the hit reality game show Dream Date will prove her acting ability to the world. But before long, she finds herself wanting to prove something entirely different to her fellow contestant, Jake Jarvis. There's something decidedly un-Hollywood about Jake, a sportscaster whose laid-back charm belies something deeper than an intimate understanding of box scores. And the better Marley gets to know him, the harder it is to remember her motivation. Because she's beginning to realize that what makes her career could break both their hearts--if reality and honesty are on different wavelengths... "Engaging, well-developed protagonists and an abundance of appealing secondary characters, especially an adorable four-year-old and the heroine's geeky twin sister, who definitely needs her own story, add to the fun. This effervescent and heartwarming comedy will appeal to fans of Rachel Gibson and Elizabeth Bevarly." --Library Journal "Perfect Together is the perfect recipe for an entertaining and satisfying romantic read. I'm hastily jotting down this author's backlist for my next trip to the bookstore, because this one was so delightful." --The Romance Reader's Connection "Lisa Plumley scores another big winner with Perfect Together. An ensemble of fabulous characters, smart and often very funny dialogue, fine pacing and some great comedic scenes is an expert combination that will often have you laughing out loud and smiling long after you turn the last page." --Bookloons "Plumley is becoming a master at blending silly and poignant. She hits all the marks with 'Perfect Together!'"--The Oakland Press newspaper "I enjoyed this book from beginning to end!" -- Romance and Friends "Lisa Plumley creates charming characters. Her books are a delight!" -- USA Today best-selling author Rachel Gibson "Lisa Plumley is a comedic buried treasure! Screwball comedy with sizzle, Perfect Together blends laugh-out-loud antics and touching romance." --Romantic Times BOOKclub "Perfect Together is a perfectly spontaneous, perfectly fun fish-out-of-water splash!" -- Stephanie Bond, author of I Think I Love You
Education

Findings and recommendations

Author: Detroit. Citizens Advisory Committee on Equal Educational Opportunities

Publisher:

ISBN:

Category: Education

Page: 213

View: 927