History

Riviera Dreaming

Author: Maureen Emerson

Publisher: Bloomsbury Publishing

ISBN:

Category: History

Page: 264

View: 560

In 1926 Barry Dierks, a young American architect, arrived in Paris and fell in love with France... With his partner, an ex-officer in the British Army, he built a white, flat-roofed Modernist masterpiece that rested on the rocks below the Esterel, with views across the Mediterranean. They called it Le Trident. From the moment it was built, it captivated the Riviera. As commissions for more villas flooded in, Barry Dierks and Eric Sawyer, "those two charmers", flourished at the heart of Riviera society. Over the years, Dierks would design and build over 70 of the Riviera's most recognisable villas for clients ranging from Somerset Maugham's Villa Mauresque and Jack Warner's Villa Aujourd'hui to the Marquess of Cholmondeley's Villa Le Roc, and Maxine Elliott's Chateau de l'Horizon, later the home of Aly Khan and Rita Hayworth. Riviera Dreaming tells the dazzling story of the lives, loves and adventures that played out behind the walls of these glamorous houses and provides an unparalleled portrait of life on the Cote d'Azur at the height of the Jazz Age.

Riviera Dreaming

Author: MAUREEN. EMERSON

Publisher: Tauris Parke

ISBN:

Category:

Page: 264

View: 299

In 1926 Barry Dierks, a young American architect, arrived in Paris and fell in love with France... With his partner, an ex-officer in the British Army, he built a white, flat-roofed Modernist masterpiece that rested on the rocks below the Esterel, with views across the Mediterranean. They called it Le Trident. From the moment it was built, it captivated the Riviera. As commissions for more villas flooded in, Barry Dierks and Eric Sawyer, "those two charmers", flourished at the heart of Riviera society. Over the years, Dierks would design and build over 70 of the Riviera's most recognisable villas for clients ranging from Somerset Maugham's Villa Mauresque and Jack Warner's Villa Aujourd'hui to the Marquess of Cholmondeley's Villa Le Roc, and Maxine Elliott's Chateau de l'Horizon, later the home of Aly Khan and Rita Hayworth. Riviera Dreaming tells the dazzling story of the lives, loves and adventures that played out behind the walls of these glamorous houses and provides an unparalleled portrait of life on the Cote d'Azur at the height of the Jazz Age.
Riviera

The Riviera

Author: Hugh Macmillan

Publisher: London : J.S. Virtue

ISBN:

Category: Riviera

Page: 316

View: 680

Fiction

Dreaming of St-Tropez

Author: T.A. Williams

Publisher: Canelo

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 300

View: 111

The perfect summer escape on the French Riviera. Sun, sea and secrets... After a disagreement with a billionaire, architect Jess Milton is ‘let go’ from her job. However fortune intervenes – an elderly client asks Jess to dog-sit overweight, but loveable dog Brutus in St. Tropez. Fed up with the mega-rich, Jess is reluctant to visit the playground of billionaires, but an all-expenses-paid trip and the promise of sunshine seals the deal. Little does Jess know how much time she’ll be spending with the family living in St. Tropez. The sullen, but very good-looking David and his millionaire father are both welcoming but guarded, haunted by their pasts... Can Jess bring some sunshine back into their lives – and, just maybe, find love in the process? A heart-warming, funny and emotional journey for fans of Holly Martin, Tilly Tennant and Jenny Oliver. Praise for T.A. Williams' Dreaming of St-Tropez 'I loved every page. Can't wait to read more by this author.' The Cosiest Corner 'I was enthralled from start to finish in this immensely enjoyable story of sun, sea, sand, swimming and St. Tropez.' Rachel's Random Reads 'The perfect summer read' Reader review 'This is a delightful, laugh out loud romance... another superb story from this highly talented author. Get ready for a humorous story with great characters, stupendous settings and a plot filled with fun, mystery, suspense and, of course, romance!' Splashes into Books 'Can I say my dream is to actually BE a character in one of T.A.'s books?? I've read and reviewed several of his books, and I absolutely love them!! This book is no exception... I enjoyed every minute of this book and it's the perfect vacation or beach read.' Reader review 'I love T.A. Williams' books... A very entertaining and enjoyable read. Strongly recommended.' Reader review 'I've loved reading Dreaming of St Tropez and have found it very difficult to close the book. I want so much to be back at the beach bar but since I can't I'll just keep on dreaming of St. Tropez.' Blooming Fiction ‘You’ll laugh, cry, and say “Oh! No!” Definitely a fun weekend read’ Reader review 'A super fun book about where dreams can take you when you least expect it... such a great read. It had a bunch of twists and turns that were completely unexpected. It made me want to get to St. Tropez right away!' Reader review 'If you're looking for the perfect holiday read, for the beach or even the back garden, this is it. Sun, sea, a troubled hero, a lovable dog and an intelligent, kind heroine who lives her life with integrity make this an absorbing read with plenty of laughs.' Jane Hunt Writer 'Could not put it down.' Reader review

Current Contents

Author: Institute for Scientific Information (Philadelphia)

Publisher:

ISBN:

Category:

Page:

View: 210

Architecture

French Riviera

Author: Charles Bilas

Publisher: Vilo Publishing

ISBN:

Category: Architecture

Page: 159

View: 675

The narrow strip of Mediterranean coastline that retches from the port of Toulon to the Italian border is an area rich in contrasts. In the 1920s and 1930s it was the scene of a multitude of unique and varied architectural endeavors. Palaces and casinos, prestigious public buildings and innumerable villas nestled in the pine-clad hills combine with a dialectic of light and shadow to create a vista of unparalleled beauty.
Provence (France)

Beyond the Riviera

Author: Helena Maxwell

Publisher:

ISBN:

Category: Provence (France)

Page: 208

View: 805

Art

Artists and Their Museums On the Riviera

Author: Barbara F. Freed

Publisher: Harry N Abrams Incorporated

ISBN:

Category: Art

Page: 224

View: 458

Focuses on twenty-eight museums and their collections, featuring such artists as Renoir, Matisse, Picasso, Chagall, and Cocteau

The Beginner's Guide to the French Riviera

Author: Mary Kay Seales

Publisher:

ISBN:

Category:

Page: 130

View: 792

lovely sun-drenched French Riviera in the South of France.In this book you will find * Sample itineraries for one or two weeks on the French Riviera* Information on the basics such as money, finding a place to stay, when to go, and how to get around once you're there* Suggestions for day trips and hikes along the coast* Helpful websites for researching your travel to the South of France* A quick reference guide for emergencies and safetyYou don't have to be a movie star or a millionaire or a fashion model to visit the French Riviera, and you don't need to speak French to have a wonderful vacation on the spectacular Côte d'Azur.I know after reading this book, you will feel more confident about planning your trip, and you can stop dreaming & start packing.