Fiction

Rushed to the Altar

Author: Jane Feather

Publisher: Simon and Schuster

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 464

View: 292

From New York Times bestselling author Jane Feather comes the first of a wonderful new trilogy, The Blackwater Brides, set in the sensually im-proper Georgian period, in which three noble brothers discover they will be forced to find brides under highly unusual circumstances. Jasper Sullivan, Earl of Blackwater, needs a prostitute. Not in the usual way, however. His wealthy uncle’s will promises to divide his huge fortune among his nephews if each rescues a fallen woman . . . by marrying her! And since Jasper’s estates were already mortgaged to the hilt before he inherited them, when he catches a pretty young prostitute trying to pick his pocket, he immediately makes his proposal. Clarissa Astley is not at all what Jasper believes. The orphaned daughter of a prosperous merchant, she is searching the seedier districts of London for her young brother, abducted by their evil guardian, who wants the little boy’s inheritance. But she needs powerful help, and the darkly handsome Earl of Blackwater is certainly that. So she pretends to be exactly what he assumed— a risky charade for an innocent virgin. But when passion flares between Jasper and Clarissa, the deception becomes even more difficult to handle. . . .
Fiction

Rushed to the Altar: Blackwater Brides

Author: Jane Feather

Publisher: Hachette UK

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 384

View: 802

If you love Poldark, you'll love Jane Feather's dazzling Georgian romantic trilogy, the Blackwater Brides, which begins with Rushed To The Altar. Perfect for fans of Eloisa James, Liz Carlyle and Stephanie Laurens. Jasper Sullivan, Earl of Blackwater, needs a prostitute. Not in the usual way, however. His wealthy uncle's will promises to divide his huge fortune among his nephews if each rescues a fallen woman...by marrying her. And since Jasper's estates were already mortgaged to the hilt before he inherited them, when he catches a pretty young prostitute trying to pick his pocket, he immediately makes his proposal. Clarissa Astley is not at all what Jasper believes. The orphaned daughter of a prosperous merchant, she is searching the seedier districts of London for her young brother, abducted by their evil guardian, who wants the little boy's inheritance. But she needs powerful help, and the darkly handsome Earl of Blackwater is certainly that. So she pretends to be exactly what he assumed - a risky charade for an innocent virgin. But when passion flares between Jasper and Clarissa, the deception becomes even more difficult to handle... Follow the captivating tales of the brothers as they each find their most unusual brides in A Wedding Wager and An Unsuitable Bride.
Fiction

Blackwater Brides: Rushed to the Altar, A Wedding Wager, An Unsuitable Bride

Author: Jane Feather

Publisher: Simon and Schuster

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 1200

View: 357

A boxed set that includes all three romantic tales in New York Times bestseller Jane Feather's sexy and scintillating Blackwater Brides trilogy. Includes Rushed to the altar, A Wedding Wager, An Unsuitable Bride, and an excerpt from Jane Feather's next novel!

Splinters

Author: Tony Sheppard

Publisher: Tony Sheppard

ISBN:

Category:

Page: 351

View: 358

An adult, fantasy thriller, whose concept tells of how memories of the dead affect the lives of the living. It's about the faith of one man, Michael Jobson, and follows the life of Esther (the most beautiful girl in the world, inside and out) as she grows up in a world of conflicting values.
Fiction

The Angry Man and the Weaver

Author: Alexander Mescavage

Publisher: AuthorHouse

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 290

View: 845

A wonderful re-telling of the Odyssey ! It is is captivating and culturally in tune. As the story unfolds the characters come alive bringing readers their worlds. The parallel narrations of Weaver and Angry Man create an empowering dynamic that keeps the reader hanging on to every last adventure. The bond that grows between the two is both captivating and heartbreaking as the gods play them as human pawns. A vividly written and entertaining piece that is a magnificent read. Genevieve Baranuk MSW- Lead Eating Disorder Therapist at the Recovery Village in Umitilla, Florida. This isnt the Odyssey you were forced to read in school! In their second novel, Alexander Mescavage and Eunice Taylor Beauchman offer a steamy and realistic reincarnation of one of the worlds first great works of literature. It shows life as it was in the Bronze Age; gritty, predatory, and full of wonder. Life is cheap. Capricious gods roam the earth and forcing their will upon mankind. The writers breathe life into the old classic and make it rip-roaring modern fiction at its very best! The yarn is visionary and yet true to the Iliad and the Odyssey. The authors have thoroughly studied Homers epics and Mycenaen Plays and have melded them into a comprehensive story between the myths. At the same time, they update the legend with searing archeological and historical exploration. The Word Politics and secrets of the Bronze Age are explored in detail and become terrifying portends of todays world. The reader is struck with how similar and yet how different the ancient people were. The Angry Man and the Weaver: Re-imagining the Odyssey is a thrilling, captivating, and a cant-put-down read. Beauchman and Mescavage easily enchant readers with their story, drawing them in from the very beginning. From the first page of the book to the last of the epilogue, the authors and characters bring readers directly into their world, packing the novel rich with education, excitement, and enjoyment.
Religion

Nelson's New Illustrated Bible Commentary

Author: Thomas Nelson

Publisher: Thomas Nelson

ISBN:

Category: Religion

Page: 1872

View: 214

A comprehensive verse-by-verse commentary for lay Bible students, fully highlighted by articles, maps, charts, and illustrations-all in one volume. Clear and Comprehensive: Annotations by leading evangelical scholars don't dodge tough issues; alternative views are presented fairly, but commentators make their positions clear. Attractively Designed: Graphics appeal to the sound-bite generation and others who aren't traditional commentary readers. Interesting and Revealing: Hundreds of feature articles that provide additional information or new perspectives on a topic related to Bible background. Visually Appealing: Maps, drawings, and photos illuminate the commentary and visualize important information.
History

A Throne in Brussels

Author: Paul Belien

Publisher: Andrews UK Limited

ISBN:

Category: History

Page: 490

View: 986

Offers a history of the monarchy of Belgium, a country artificially created in 1817. This book argues that the pan-European super-state resembles a 'Greater-Belgium' rather than a 'Greater-Switzerland'.