History

Shattered Sword

Author: Jonathan Parshall

Publisher: Potomac Books, Inc.

ISBN:

Category: History

Page: 640

View: 338

Many consider the Battle of Midway to have turned the tide of the Pacific War. It is without question one of the most famous battles in history. Now, for the first time since Gordon W. Prange s bestselling "Miracle at Midway," Jonathan Parshall and Anthony Tully offer a new interpretation of this great naval engagement. Unlike previous accounts, "Shattered Sword" makes extensive use of Japanese primary sources. It also corrects the many errors of Mitsuo Fuchida s "Midway: The Battle That Doomed Japan," an uncritical reliance upon which has tainted every previous Western account. It thus forces a major, potentially controversial reevaluation of the great battle. The authors examine the battle in detail and effortlessly place it within the context of the Imperial Navy s doctrine and technology. With a foreword by leading WWII naval historian John Lundstrom, "Shattered Sword" will become an indispensable part of any military buff s library. Winner of the 2005 John Lyman Book Award for the "Best Book in U.S. Naval History" and cited by "Proceedings" as one of its "Notable Naval Books" for 2005."
Fiction

The Shattered Web: The Sword of Peace

Author: Bardic Web Writers

Publisher: Lulu Press, Inc

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page:

View: 140

Book Three of the Shattered Web Trilogy. A heavy gravity planet in a binary solar system... The peoples of Corin and S'Hea have lived in peacae for millennia now, humans and elves co-existing in harmony. It has been centuries since anyone has heard from the Demon Mage, longer still since he seized the Kingdom of Corin and ruled with a tyrannical hand. Yet, a prophecy is about to ring true, and the strength of nations and a chosen few will be tested. When Dragon's Heart is slain, The Sword of Peace shall rise. Surging Souls will scatter With Fading Emerald Eyes. The Weeper's tears will fall, through the eyes of Light, as Hope holds back the tide, through the flame of night. Sudden flight of ravens, Shattered Web and broken strands, Shadows stir and whisper, as darkness stalks the lands. Note: You can find the proper reading order for our novels on our website under the Bardic Web Book Store.

Open and Unabashed Reviews on Shattered Sword

Author: John Stubbs

Publisher: Lennex

ISBN:

Category:

Page: 44

View: 122

In this book, we have hand-picked the most sophisticated, unanticipated, absorbing (if not at times crackpot!), original and musing book reviews of "Shattered Sword: The Untold Story of the Battle of Midway." Don't say we didn't warn you: these reviews are known to shock with their unconventionality or intimacy. Some may be startled by their biting sincerity; others may be spellbound by their unbridled flights of fantasy. Don't buy this book if: 1. You don't have nerves of steel. 2. You expect to get pregnant in the next five minutes. 3. You've heard it all.
History

The Battle of Midway

Author: Craig L. Symonds

Publisher: Oxford University Press

ISBN:

Category: History

Page: 464

View: 771

"First issued as an Oxford University Press paperback, 2013"--Title page verso.

The Shattered Sword

Author: Alayne Anderson

Publisher:

ISBN:

Category:

Page: 60

View: 261

My NaNoWriMo Young Writer's Program Novel from 2011.
Eureka Stockade (Ballarat, Vic.)

Barracks, Bivouacs, and Battles

Author: Archibald Forbes

Publisher: Createspace Independent Publishing Platform

ISBN:

Category: Eureka Stockade (Ballarat, Vic.)

Page: 328

View: 949

Contains reprints of fictional pieces written by Forbes regarding British military life and various military campsigns?

The Shattered Sword

Author: Hans Bezdek

Publisher:

ISBN:

Category:

Page: 208

View: 963

Without the winged one at their helm, the lands of Yaerna will fall to evil for eternity... It's been several years since Reimar Pinespell ran away from his previous employer. While that wouldn't be a big deal for most people, most people didn't have a psychotic guild leader as their old boss. Since escaping, he's had to manage living a life in the shadows with an eye always over his shoulder. All he cares about is making it to the next day.Things change when he meets a less-than-friendly elven woman. Reimar learns that she is on a quest to find the mythical Shattered Sword, an item he believes to be just that: mythical. Content to leave her once they make it to town, things escalate when he realizes a bounty hunter is hot on his trail. To make matters worse, they run into a seer who won't stop going on and on about the destruction of Yaerna and the decimation of the humans, dwarves, and elves. As if that would ever happen... right?Reimar and Cassandra are on a journey that will take them places they've never heard of, to old enemies and new ones, and will reveal the truth of a dark uprising. The fate of the world is in their hands, whether they realize it or not.
Fiction

Secret Of The Slaves

Author: Alex Archer

Publisher: HarperCollins UK

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 352

View: 683

When archaeologist Annja Creed is hired to find the lost city of Promise in Brazil, she is more than intrigued. Legends abound of a magical place where slaves were rumored to have discovered the secret to eternal youth and life. But strangers are not welcome in Promise.
South Carolina

Katharine Walton

Author: William Gilmore Simms

Publisher:

ISBN:

Category: South Carolina

Page: 186

View: 156

Works

Author: William Gilmore Simms

Publisher:

ISBN:

Category:

Page:

View: 128

Simms' Works

Author: William Gilmore Simms

Publisher:

ISBN:

Category:

Page:

View: 461

Shattered Sword

Author: T. J. Reynolds

Publisher:

ISBN:

Category:

Page: 446

View: 283

A broke gamer. A deadly online world. Can Dahlia level up fast enough to keep the debt collectors at bay?Dahlia has to pay off her dead father's bills or risk her life in the lithium mines. Which... no thank you. Besides, the world is run by tech, and this gamer girl is determined to explore the virtual world her father was so obsessed with and get rich while she's at it. So, she sells everything and rents a premium VR pod to play Eternal Online. Enter the toughest realm available? Check.Discover the fastest way to loot without dying?... in progress. But when Dahlia finds an epic quest chain that others have overlooked, she thinks she's struck gold. What she doesn't expect is to make friends with two deadly warriors and one powerful creature, or find a world boss gunning for them all. Experience the start of an Epic LitRPG adventure perfect for fans of Travis Bagwell, Carrie Summers, Outspan Foster.Also available on Audible, narrated by Andrea Parsneau (The Wandering Inn, Swing Shift).
History

Naval Power and Expeditionary Wars

Author: Bruce A. Elleman

Publisher: Routledge

ISBN:

Category: History

Page: 242

View: 215

This book examines the nature and character of naval expeditionary warfare, in particular in peripheral campaigns, and the contribution of such campaigns to the achievement of strategic victory. Naval powers, which can lack the massive ground forces to win in the main theatre, often choose a secondary theatre accessible to them by sea and difficult for their enemies to reach by land, giving the sea power and its expeditionary forces the advantage. The technical term for these theatres is ‘peripheral operations.’ The subject of peripheral campaigns in naval expeditionary warfare is central to the British, the US, and the Australian way of war in the past and in the future. All three are reluctant to engage large land forces because of the high human and economic costs. Instead, they rely as much as possible on sea and air power, and the latter is most often in the form of carrier-based aviation. In order to exert pressure on their enemies, they have often opened additional theaters in on-going, regional, and civil wars. This book contains thirteen case studies by some of the foremost naval historians from the United States, Great Britain, and Australia whose collected case studies examine the most important peripheral operations of the last two centuries. This book will be of much interest to students of naval warfare, military history, strategic studies and security studies.