Survival of the Lingerie Girls

Author: Rose Burke

Publisher: CreateSpace

ISBN:

Category:

Page: 266

View: 682

A sexy chick lit novel about a douchebag, a naive college dropout, & her new career! You won't be able to put it down! Received New York Book Festival Honorable Mention in 2014 Eva Palmer is a new escort. It seemed to be her only option after her boyfriend, bitterly identified as [The Douchebag], cunningly packed up and abandoned their shared Long Island apartment, leaving her broke and on the brink of homelessness. Nyani, Eva's alluring new companion, portrays her escorting club as an effortless lifestyle of luxury and designer apparel. She's a lifesaver when she offers Eva a place to crash if she gives the club a chance. With a blossoming career to go with a gifted assortment of lingerie and cocktail dresses, Eva, now known as 'Hannah', finds herself inventing a new persona to go with it all. Each chapter describes Eva's unique thirty-eight day journey as she battles with her identity, financial misery, and overwhelming desire for vengeance on those who have wronged her. A sexy thriller that has it all, now available in paperback and eBook! "This book was awesome! Unexpected twists and details to perfection. Loved it. As raunchy as it grows the author keeps a sweetness to the main character the entire time." - Amazon Review"
Fiction

The Big Girl's Guide to Buying Lingerie

Author: Amie Stuart

Publisher: Amie Stuart

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page:

View: 467

PRAISE FOR THE BIG GIRL'S GUIDE TO BUYING LINGERIE: "Upon reading the last page of The Big Girl's Guide To Buying Lingerie, I clutched my iPad to my chest and sighed. I wanted to read it all over again. It was that good." - Deb (Xtreme Delusions Book Reviews) "Jade and Rowdy's relationship is fabulous. And by fabulous I mean the push and pull, the love and hate is addictive and so freaking realistic I, again, felt as if I was a part of the book, not just reading along." - Danielle (A Cup and a Book Reviews) "... a funny and amazing book that I think everyone should read, especially women as it shows that it doesn't matter what size you are, it matters about what is on the inside and how you show it..." 23 Street Reviews. "This book was incredibly smart and funny!!!" - Book Reviewer *** “Redneck Casanova” After a disastrous marital near-miss Jade Ballard retreats to San Antonio, cutting herself off from the world in general and more specifically her family’s country club lifestyle, which she no longer wants any part of. She takes comfort in food and eventually, the safety of an internet love affair. “Miss Snooty Pants” Rowdy Yates is a semi-reformed womanizer who’s leery of long-term entanglements. Until Jade, he never seriously considered anything beyond a “Wife-For-A-Night.” After months of flirting on the internet the couple meets, only to discover they already know one another. Rowdy has always mistaken Jade’s shy reserved nature for snobbishness, and Jade has always viewed the woman-loving Rowdy as a Redneck Casanova. But the months they spent getting to know one another formed an attraction neither can fight. Warning: This book contains cookie consumption, shopping, rants about bras, lost bras, stolen bras, a fake engagement, hawt sexy times, and a snooty plus-sized chick who falls hard for her Redneck Casanova.
Fiction

The Geography of Friendship

Author: Sally Piper

Publisher: Legend Press Ltd

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 240

View: 528

Women’s Weekly Book Club Great Read When three women set off on a hike through the wilderness they are anticipating the adventure of a lifetime. Over the next five days, as they face up to the challenging terrain, it soon becomes clear they are not alone. Lisa, Samantha and Nicole have known each other since school. Lisa is a fighter, Samantha a peacekeeper and Nicole a rule follower. United they bring out the best in one another. Only once it is too late for them to turn back do they appreciate the danger they are in. Their friendship is tested, and each of them must make a choice that will change their lives forever. What Reviewers and Readers Say: ‘The atmosphere is so charged, I often found myself clenching my jaw and getting goosebumps as I read. The descriptions of the Australian bush are so vibrant and evocative... The bush feels alive in this book – vast, daunting and full of lurking dangers... Heartbreakingly honest and fiercely emotional... a remarkable book that is bound to appeal to fans of Jane Harper and Liane Moriarty’ Honey ‘Piper gloriously demonstrates how to hook your readers and make them desperate to know the ending... Piper’s novel is an exploration of how the past can come to define ourselves, and a testament to the bonds of complicated friendship and to the relentless, isolating and utterly terrifying nature of the Australian bush’ Books + Publishing Review ‘There’s a little bit of Big Little Lies about this deft and powerful study of female friendships under pressure... this lyrical Queensland-based author has a style and tone all of her own which sucks you in and holds you in its seductive embrace, almost unable to breathe... a page-turner... a book dripping in the raw beauty of the Australian landscape’ Women’s Weekly Australia ‘Piper has achieved that glorious, decisive moment in any great novel where the reader becomes desperate to know the ending. If you loved Jane Harper’s Force of Nature, prepare yourself for another page-turning adventure’ Readings Monthly ‘An ambitious novel’ Weekend Australian
Social Science

Girls in Trouble with the Law

Author: Laurie Schaffner

Publisher: Rutgers University Press

ISBN:

Category: Social Science

Page: 257

View: 167

Looks at female detention centers in the United States and explores the worlds of the young women of who are incarcerated.
Humor

The Scream Queen's Survival Guide

Author: Meredith O'Hayre

Publisher: Simon and Schuster

ISBN:

Category: Humor

Page: 224

View: 661

Horror movie fans know: danger lurks around every corner, locker room, and strange new neighbor. And as every slasher addict knows, the last known survivor is always The Scream Queen. In this guide, youÆll learn 150 life-or-death lessons that Jamie Lee, Neve, and Jennifer Love learned on screen--without the pain of dismemberment. You owe it to yourself to master the scream queenÆs rules of survival, including: Be wary of days that begin "much like any other" (itÆs all downhill from there) Keep that playlist light (no one ever got axed while cuttinÆ Footloose) Reconsider that roadtrip (or else end up at the mercy of a creepy tow truck driver) Keep away from small-town law enforcement (the rent-a-cop always dies) Featuring little-known trivia and favorite moments from dozens of the most well-known and scariest movies of all time, this is one survival guide horror fans are sure to die without.
Performing Arts

The Actor's Life

Author: Jenna Fischer

Publisher: BenBella Books

ISBN:

Category: Performing Arts

Page: 252

View: 364

Jenna Fischer's Hollywood journey began at the age of 22 when she moved to Los Angeles from her hometown of St. Louis. With a theater degree in hand, she was determined, she was confident, she was ready to work hard. So, what could go wrong? Uh, basically everything. The path to being a professional actor was so much more vast and competitive than she’d imagined. It would be eight long years before she landed her iconic role on The Office, nearly a decade of frustration, struggle, rejection and doubt. If only she’d had a handbook for the aspiring actor. Or, better yet, someone to show her the way—an established actor who could educate her about the business, manage her expectations, and reassure her in those moments of despair. Jenna wants to be that person for you. With amusing candor and wit, Fischer spells out the nuts and bolts of getting established in the profession, based on her own memorable and hilarious experiences. She tells you how to get the right headshot, what to look for in representation, and the importance of joining forces with other like-minded artists and creating your own work—invaluable advice personally acquired from her many years of struggle. She provides helpful hints on how to be gutsy and take risks, the tricks to good auditioning and callbacks, and how not to fall for certain scams (auditions in a guy’s apartment are probably not legit—or at least not for the kind of part you’re looking for!). Her inspiring, helpful guidance feels like a trusted friend who’s made the journey, and has now returned to walk beside you, pointing out the pitfalls as you blaze your own path towards the life of a professional actor.
Business & Economics

Urban Survival

Author: Ruth Sidel

Publisher: U of Nebraska Press

ISBN:

Category: Business & Economics

Page: 180

View: 658

Although conditions have vastly improved since the days of sweatshops, the working woman is still likely to be underpaid, overworked, and without adequate resources. In Urban Survival eight working-class women of different ages and races speak with pride and independence about their daily reality, their hopes and fears. Ruth Sidel’s new introduction shows that although she interviewed the women in the late seventies, their concerns are still current. Now, as then, the working woman worries about obtaining needed childcare, healthcare, and social services; about being the last hired and first fired; about welfare, drugs, and violence. The oral histories in Urban Survival reveal a vivid picture of the struggle for survival in today’s cities.
Young Adult Nonfiction

Underneath It All

Author: Amber J. Keyser

Publisher: Twenty-First Century Books ™

ISBN:

Category: Young Adult Nonfiction

Page: 96

View: 139

For most of human history, the garments women wore under their clothes were hidden. The earliest underwear provided warmth and protection. But eventually, women's undergarments became complex structures designed to shape their bodies to fit the fashion ideals of the time. In the modern era, undergarments are out in the open, from the designer corsets Madonna wore on stage to Beyoncé's pregnancy announcement on Instagram. This feminist exploration of women's underwear reveals the intimate role lingerie plays in defining women's bodies, sexuality, gender identity, and body image. It is a story of control and restraint but also female empowerment and self-expression. You will never look at underwear the same way again.
Performing Arts

Video Sourcebook

Author: Thomson Gale

Publisher: Gale Cengage

ISBN:

Category: Performing Arts

Page: 4000

View: 801

From classroom aids to corporate training programs, technical resources to self-help guides, children's features to documentaries, theatrical releases to straight-to-video movies, The Video Source Book continues its comprehensive coverage of the wide universe of video offerings with more than 130,000 complete program listings, encompassing more than 160,000 videos. All listings are arranged alphabetically by title. Each entry provides a description of the program and information on obtaining the title. Six indexes -- alternate title, subject, credits, awards, special formats and program distributors -- help speed research.