Fiction

Tales Around The Campfire

Author: Sciantel Crista

Publisher: BookRix

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 117

View: 863

HERE IS 5 SHORT STORIES TO ENTICE AND MAYBE EVEN BRING A BIT OF FRIGHT IN THE DARK... This is book 1 of 2. 1. Heaven's Narrow Path: Meet a little boy who had it all, but misfortune soon sends him on a quest he didn't sign up for and has him even questioning his own existence... 2. M.D: Mark Tanner is a really good physician but he has no bedside manner and he could learn a lot from his patient. But can he in time? 3. Forgiven: What would you do if a serial killer took everything from you but he got it all in turn. Forgiveness. 4. Someone Else's Child: This is about two teens who collide into each other's world and at first cannot stand one another, but soon they find they have more in common than they think... 5. The Spider's Tangled Web: We'd all like to have a dad who would love and accept us. But in Zake's life that just isn't the case. No matter how hard he tries his dad just will not even hardly acknowledge his son or let alone believe he has real potential.
Juvenile Fiction

The Curse of the Campfire Weenies

Author: David Lubar

Publisher: Macmillan

ISBN:

Category: Juvenile Fiction

Page: 208

View: 443

A boy discovers the answer to one of the great urban mysteries: why are pigeons always pooping in parks? A second-grade class learns why they should always be nice to their math teacher....An ancient predator uses the internet to search out its prey... A young girl and her little brother escape a campfire weenie only to encounter something even more terrifying: a troupe of Girl Scouts singing campfire songs. For this, his third collection of warped and creepy "weenie" tales, critically-acclaimed author and master of the macabre David Lubar traveled deep into the shadowy corners of his mind, looking for new ways to amuse and terrify his readers. And in the tradition of In the Land of the Lawn Weenies and Invasion of the Road Weenies, he reveals the inspiration behind each of the thirty-five stories at the end of the book. At the Publisher's request, this title is being sold without Digital Rights Management Software (DRM) applied.
Young Adult Fiction

KATE DOUGLAS WIGGIN Ultimate Collection: 21 Novels & 130+ Short Stories, Fairy Tales and Poems (Illustrated)

Author: Kate Douglas Wiggin

Publisher: e-artnow

ISBN:

Category: Young Adult Fiction

Page: 4845

View: 236

This carefully edited collection has been designed and formatted to the highest digital standards and adjusted for readability on all devices. Table of Contents: Rebecca of Sunnybrook Series: Rebecca of Sunnybrook Farm New Chronicles of Rebecca The Flag-Raising Penelope Hamilton Series: Penelope's English Experiences Penelope's Experiences in Scotland Penelope's Irish Experiences Penelope's Postscripts The Homespun Trilogy: Rose o' the River The Old Peabody Pew Susanna and Sue Other Novels: A Summer in a Cañon: A California Story Polly Oliver's Problem: A Story for Girls The Birds' Christmas Carol The Romance of a Christmas Card Timothy's Quest Marm Lisa Mother Carey's Chickens The Diary of a Goose Girl A Cathedral Courtship The Story of Waitstill Baxter The Story of Patsy Short Stories: The Village Watch-Tower Tom O' the Blueb'ry Plains The Nooning Tree The Fore-Room Rug A Village Stradivarius The Eventful Trip of the Midnight Cry Ladies-in-Waiting Miss Thomasina Tucker The Turning-Point Huldah the Prophetess Two on a Tour Philippa's Nervous Prostration Anthologies: The Arabian Nights: Their Best Known Tales The Fairy Ring Tales of Wonder Every Child Should Know The Talking Beasts: A Book of Fable Wisdom The Story Hour: A Book for the Home and the Kindergarten Golden Numbers: A Book of Verse for Youth The Posy Ring: A Book of Verse for Children Pinafore Palace Other Works: The Girl and the Kingdom: Learning to Teach The Republic of Childhood: Froebel's Gifts Children's Rights: A Book of Nursery Logic Bluebeard: A Musical Fantasy The Girl Scouts: A Training School for Womanhood Kate Douglas Wiggin (1856-1923) was an American educator and author of children's stories, most notably the classic children's novel Rebecca of Sunnybrook Farm. She devoted her adult life to the welfare of children in an era when children were commonly thought of as cheap labor.
American poetry

Encyclopedia of the New York School Poets

Author: Terence Diggory

Publisher: Infobase Publishing

ISBN:

Category: American poetry

Page: 560

View: 917

An A-to-Z reference to writers of the New York School, including John Ashbery, who is often considered America's greatest living poet. Examines significant movements in literary history and its development through the years.
Fiction

The Sick-a-Bed Lady

Author: Eleanor Hallowell Abbott

Publisher: The Floating Press

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 271

View: 213

Fans of charming domestic dramas in the vein of Louisa May Alcott's Little Women will love Eleanor Hallowell Abbott's short story collection The Sick-a-Bed Lady. Filled with industrious heroines, resilient families, and budding romance, these inspiring tales provide a delightful diversion for readers young and old.
Fiction

Ancient Sorceries and Other Weird Stories

Author: Algernon Blackwood

Publisher: Penguin

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 400

View: 774

By turns bizarre, unsettling, spooky, and sublime, Ancient Sorceries and Other Weird Stories showcases nine incomparable stories from master conjuror Algernon Blackwood. Evoking the uncanny spiritual forces of Nature, Blackwood's writings all tread the nebulous borderland between fantasy, awe, wonder, and horror. Here Blackwood displays his best and most disturbing work-including "The Willows," which Lovecraft singled out as "the single finest weird tale in literature"; "The Wendigo"; "The Insanity of Jones"; and "Sand." For more than seventy years, Penguin has been the leading publisher of classic literature in the English-speaking world. With more than 1,700 titles, Penguin Classics represents a global bookshelf of the best works throughout history and across genres and disciplines. Readers trust the series to provide authoritative texts enhanced by introductions and notes by distinguished scholars and contemporary authors, as well as up-to-date translations by award-winning translators. From the Trade Paperback edition.
Young Adult Fiction

The Curiosities

Author: Brenna Yovanoff

Publisher: Carolrhoda Lab ™

ISBN:

Category: Young Adult Fiction

Page: 304

View: 150

From acclaimed and New York Times best-selling YA authors Maggie Stiefvater, Tessa Gratton, and Brenna Yovanoff comes The Curiosities: A Collection of Stories. • A vampire locked in a cage in the basement, for good luck. • Bad guys, clever girls, and the various reasons why the guys have to stop breathing. • A world where fires never go out (with references to vanilla ice cream). These are but a few of the curiosities collected in this volume of short stories by three acclaimed practitioners of paranormal fiction. But The Curiosities is more than the stories. Since 2008, Maggie, Tessa, and Brenna have posted more than 250 works of short fiction to their website www.merryfates.com. Their goal was simple: create a space for experimentation and improvisation in their writing—all in public and without a backspace key. In that spirit, The Curiosities includes the stories and each author's comments, critiques, and kudos in the margins. Think of it as a guided tour of the creative processes of three acclaimed authors.
Juvenile Fiction

The Battle of the Red Hot Pepper Weenies

Author: David Lubar

Publisher: Macmillan

ISBN:

Category: Juvenile Fiction

Page: 192

View: 887

A girl doesn't have a date for the school dance—until her dad makes one for her in his lab. "Lily—meet Stitchy." A family enjoys a nice Thanksgiving dinner—until they are interrupted by a torrent of turkeys out for revenge. A princess meets a pea-brained suitor. And the battle of two red hot pepper weenies ends in flames. Critically-acclaimed author and master of the macabre David Lubar returns from a journey into the darkest depths of his brain with thirty-five more warped and creepy tales. And in the tradition of the three previous Weenie collections—In the Land of the Lawn Weenies, Invasion of the Road Weenies, and The Curse of the Campfire Weenies—he reveals the inspiration behind each story at the end of the book. Don't be a weenie. Read these stories...if you dare! At the Publisher's request, this title is being sold without Digital Rights Management Software (DRM) applied.