Bondage (Sexual behavior)

Taut

Author: J. A. Huss

Publisher:

ISBN:

Category: Bondage (Sexual behavior)

Page: 422

View: 816

Ford Aston is getting the f*ck out of Denver. He does not give a shit about blizzards, getting his old ass Bronco over the Rocky Mountains in one piece, or a girl knocking on his hotel door looking to be saved. Ford Aston is known for many things. Being an emotionless, messed up bastard, a freakishly smart social outcast, and a cold, domineering master who keeps "pets" instead of girlfriends. And after Rook broke his heart, he plans to keep it that way. ****** Ashleigh is getting the f*ck out of somewhere, but she's not quite sure where she's coming from, let alone where she's going. Ashleigh is known for nothing, and that's exactly what she's got going for her. She's broke, stranded in the mountains with a three month old baby, and Ford Aston is f*cking with her head. Big. Time. And she plans to f*ck with his right back. ****** It's a coy game at first, filled with flirting, and innuendo--but Ford soon realizes something is not quite right with Ashleigh. In fact, something is seriously, seriously wrong and the closer they get to their final destination, the closer Ford gets to the truth. One night of devastation, self-loathing, and emptiness turns into the best thing that ever happened to Ford Aston. But one day of in-your-face reality threatens Ashleigh's whole existence. Can Ford allow another woman into his heart and risk the possibility of being hurt, or will he walk away from Ashleigh just when she needs him most?
Fiction

History of Fire (A Dark Faerie Tale #5)

Author: Alexia Purdy

Publisher: Lyrical Lit. Publishing

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 296

View: 384

No one knows the secrets he keeps. No one knows of the worlds that exist right alongside ours. Benton is human, but he walks the line between two worlds: the mundane and the supernatural; the commonplace and the extraordinary. As a rare Fire Elemental Warlock, he finds himself in trouble more often than he cares to admit. It doesn’t help that his sister is a Faery Queen of the Summer Seelie Court. This is Benton’s story as he makes his way between the mortal world and a world where magic reigns. Do you dare follow? Do you dare see what lurks just beyond the edge of perception? Books in this series: Prequel: The Withering Palace Prequel: Evangeline Book 1: Ever Shade Book 2: Ever Fire Book 3: Ever Winter Book 3.5: The Cursed Book 4: Ever Wrath Book 5: History of Fire Book 5.5: Without Armor Book 6: Ever Dead Book 7: Legends of Fire Book 8: Guardians of Fire ~ Now Available!
Literary Criticism

Ford Madox Ford's Novels

Author: John A. Meixner

Publisher: U of Minnesota Press

ISBN:

Category: Literary Criticism

Page: 320

View: 250

Ford Madox Ford's Novels was first published in 1962. Minnesota Archive Editions uses digital technology to make long-unavailable books once again accessible, and are published unaltered from the original University of Minnesota Press editions. The name of Ford Madox Ford appears again and again in twentieth-century literature, in many different connections. He was especially renowned as a literary personality, as a brilliant editor, and as an encourager of talented and emerging writers—"the Only Uncle of the Gifted Young," as H G. Wells called him. But he was also a major novelist in his own right, a fact which has been increasingly recognized in recent years. In this book, Mr. Meixner, a former assistant professor of English at the University of Kansas, presents an illuminating study of Ford's novels: descriptive, analytic, and evaluative. In particular he has been concerned—since the novelist was a highly conscious craftsman—with elucidating the techniques by which Ford gave (or failed to give) an intality. The reputations of The Good Soldier and of Ford's Tietjens novels have steadily risen in the last decade. Mr. Meixner's appraisals of these works are the fullest and probably the most perceptive yet published. A shortened version of his Good Soldier essay evoked much critical interest when it appeared in The Kenyon Review under the title "The Saddest Story." Mr. Meixner also examines such interesting novels as the Fifth Queen trilogy, Ladies Whose Bright Eyes, Mr. Fleight, Mr. Apollo, A Call, and The Marsden Case. During his lifetime, from 1873 to 1939, Ford published 76 books, including not only novels but poetry, memoirs, history, travels, biography, and literary criticism. He collaborated on three novels with Joseph Conrad, was an early, constant champion of Henry James, introduced D. H. Lawrence to the literary world, and published the first sections of James Joyce's Finnegans Wake.He was editor of both The English Review and the transatlantic review (on which he appointed Ernest Hemingway as his assistant editor).
Reference

World Authors, 1980-1985

Author: H. W. Wilson

Publisher: New York : H.W. Wilson Company

ISBN:

Category: Reference

Page: 960

View: 462

Offers profiles of hundreds of modern authors, and includes brief descriptions of each writer's major works and their reception
Fiction

Heroes of Ravenford Books 1 - 3: Ruins on Stone Hill, Serpent Cult, Dark Monolith

Author: F. P. Spirit

Publisher: F. P. Spirit

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 1321

View: 166

Ruins on Stone Hill What do you get when you mix a novice wizard, a reckless warrior, a sharp-tongued thief, & a saintly cleric? Swords, sorcery, & sarcasm. Glolindir thought he knew all about magic until he came face to face with his very first monster. He only survived thanks to his new friends: a gallant warrior as talented as he is reckless, a mysterious halfling whose knives are nearly as sharp as his tongue, and a saintly gnome whose very touch can heal. Unfortunately, that was just the beginning of their troubles. Strange things have been happening around the little town of Ravenford. Before they know it, they are up to their necks in monsters and worse. From eerie ruins to underground caves to a ghostly forest devoid of life, they encounter the forces of darkness. Can they overcome their faults and work together to save the town, or will they die trying? Serpent Cult An army of darkness. A group of young heroes. A town hanging in the balance. "You'll be sorry... they'll enthrall... you all..." Voltark's shade had threatened. The mage had been part of a cult that practices the darkest of arts. For reasons shrouded in mystery, the group has set its sights on the little town of Ravenford. With new threats cropping up in and around the town, Glolindir and friends are faced with an impossible task: protect Ravenford from an army of monsters, assassins, and black magic. From the depths of the sea to the spires of Ravenford keep, the young heroes follow a twisted trail of intrigue and death. Surrounded on all sides and vastly outnumbered, do they even stand a chance against such overwhelming odds? Dark Monolith A cult of black mages and demons. The secret to the Thrall Masters’ terrifying power. A desperate race to find it before they do. “They’ll be able to make… golems that haven’t been seen… since the Thrall Masters walked the earth…” Tevlar’s corpse had warned. A hundred and fifty years have passed since the Thrall Masters nearly destroyed the land of Thac. Now the secret to their terrifying power has been found and the Serpent Cult is after it. To stop them, Glolindir and friends must seek out an ancient monolith hidden somewhere in the depths of the mysterious Darkwoods. Yet first they must deal with accusations of treason. They have been branded traitors and must prove themselves in trial by combat or be banished forever. From the tournament fields of Ravenford Keep to the depths of the Darkwoods, the young heroes face deadly traps, fierce monsters, and cunning demons. Can they reach the Dark Monolith before the cult? And if so, what terrifying magical force awaits them there? Enter a world of magic and adventure in this fun tale of heroes in the making. Perfect for fans of Lord of the Rings and Dungeons and Dragons.
Architecture

Architectural Theory of Modernism

Author: Ute Poerschke

Publisher: Routledge

ISBN:

Category: Architecture

Page: 242

View: 424

Architectural Theory of Modernism presents an overview of the discourse on function-form concepts from the beginnings, in the eighteenth century, to its peak in High Modernism. Functionalist thinking and its postmodern criticism during the second half of the twentieth century is explored, as well as today's functionalism in the context of systems theory, sustainability, digital design, and the information society. The book covers, among others, the theories of Carlo Lodoli, Gottfried Semper, Eugène-Emmanuel Viollet-le-Duc, Louis Sullivan, Frank Lloyd Wright, Hannes Meyer, Adolf Behne, CIAM, Jane Jacobs, Robert Venturi and Denise Scott Brown, Charles Jencks, William Mitchell, and Manuel Castells.
Fiction

Let Me Be Frank With You

Author: Richard Ford

Publisher: Bloomsbury Publishing

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 288

View: 849

Richard Ford returns with four deftly linked Christmas stories narrated by the iconic Frank Bascombe. Now sixty-eight, Frank resides again in the New Jersey suburb of Haddam, and has thrived – seemingly but not utterly – amidst the devastations of Hurricane Sandy. The desolations of Sandy, which left countless lives unmoored, are the perfect backdrop for Ford – and Bascombe. With a flawless comedic sensibility and unblinking intelligence, these stories range over the full complement of universal subjects: ageing, race, loss, faith, marriage, the real estate debacle – the tumult of the world we live in.
Fiction

Rock Springs

Author: Richard Ford

Publisher: A&C Black

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 256

View: 737

In these ten stories, Ford mines literary gold from the wind-scrubbed landscape of the American West - and from the guarded hopes and gnawing loneliness of the people who live there. A refugee from justice driving across Wyoming with his daughter; an unhappy girlfriend and a stolen Mercedes; a boy watching his family dissolve in a night of tragicomic violence; two men and a woman swapping hard-luck stories in a frontier bar as they try to sweeten their luck. Rock Springs is a masterpiece of taut narration, cleanly chiselled prose, and empathy so generous that it feels like a kind of grace.