Psychology

Tell Me What Happened

Author: Michael E. Lamb

Publisher: John Wiley & Sons

ISBN:

Category: Psychology

Page: 344

View: 456

Represents a scholarly and ambitious attempt to improve the quality of interviews received by the courts and minimize the risks of miscarriages of justice, for victims and defendants This book updates the previous review of research on children’s testimony—reexamining and readdressing how the quality of information provided by young witnesses is affected by the way they are questioned. Drawing upon both experimental and field studies conducted in different countries, it summarizes evidence supporting the effectiveness of the National Institute for Child Health and Human Development (NICHD) Protocol and showcases the Protocol’s superiority over other current interviewing techniques for eliciting detailed and forensically useful content from child complainants. Written with both child protection professionals and researchers in mind, Tell Me What Happened: Questioning Children About Abuse offers advice and opinions drawn from actual investigative interviews as well as academic research. Its insightful chapters cover: children’s testimony; interview and questioning strategies; how investigators typically interview alleged victims; the NICHD Investigative Interview Protocols; the impact that following the Protocol has on interviews and children’s responses; interviewing victims under the age of six; interviewing children with developmental disabilities; using tools and props to complement the Protocol; training and maintaining good interviewing practices; and more. Provides a primary source of guidance practitioners and professionals involved in child protection Updates guidance for interviewers by adding consideration of emotional and motivational factors to better understand children’s behavior during interviews Integrates the substantial body of research published over the last decade and reflects upon questions that the field should continue to address Tell Me What Happened: Questioning Children About Abuse deserves to be read by all practitioners involved in child protection, whether as investigators, interviewers, judges, or lawyers.
Psychology

Tell Me What Happened

Author: Michael E. Lamb

Publisher: John Wiley & Sons

ISBN:

Category: Psychology

Page: 345

View: 225

Investigation of child abuse is often hampered by doubts about the reliability of children as only sources of information. Over the last decade, consensus has been reached about children's limitations and competencies. New for the Wiley Series in the Psychology of Crime, Policing and Law, Tell Me What Happened summarizes key research on children's memory, communicative skills and social tendencies, describes how it can be incorporated into a specific structured interview technique and reviews evidence involving more than 40,000 alleged victims.
Health & Fitness

Tell Me What to Eat If I Have Celiac Disease

Author: Kimberly A. Tessmer

Publisher: Red Wheel/Weiser

ISBN:

Category: Health & Fitness

Page: 208

View: 781

Provides a basic overview of celiac disease, discussing its symptoms, diagnosis, and treatment, and offers advice on how to choose the proper foods to control the condition as well as dozens of gluten-free recipes and tips on grocery shopping and dining out.
Health & Fitness

Tell Me What to Eat If I Have Irritable Bowel Syndrome, Revised Edition

Author: Elaine Magee

Publisher: Red Wheel/Weiser

ISBN:

Category: Health & Fitness

Page: 160

View: 537

Irritable Bowel Syndrome is one of the most common reasons for a visit to the doctor in the United States, Europe, and other parts of the Western world. Even so, the majority of patients who have IBS do not seek medical care, which may be because of fear, embarrassment, or the lack of effective treatments. IBS affects both genders and all races. Recent data shows that 14 to 24 percent of women and 5 to 19 percent of men in the United States and Great Britain have IBS. If you have IBS, you are undoubtedly familiar with the link between your condition, your comfort, and what you eat or drink. Elaine Magee gives you positive advice about what foods you should eat almost every day, and whether you suffer from IBS constipation, IBS diarrhea predominant, or the type of IBS that includes both conditions. Easy-to-use tables list what foods are good for diarrhea, and for constipation, and which foods cause bloating or gastrointestinal distress. This new edition of Tell Me What to Eat If I Have Irritable Bowel Syndrome contains an updated review of all the possible causes of IBS, including hormones and certain medications. It also includes nuggets of wisdom from Dr. Christine Frissora, MD, associate professor of gastroenterology at New York Presbyterian Hospital. Also included are practical tips such as “The 5 Quickest Ways to 25 Grams of Fiber;” dozens of healthful, mouth-watering recipes; and practical supermarket and “eating out” advice from someone who has suffered from IBS for more than 20 years—the author.
Cooking

Tell Me What to Eat if I Have Acid Reflux

Author: Elaine Magee

Publisher: The Rosen Publishing Group, Inc

ISBN:

Category: Cooking

Page: 170

View: 109

Discusses the physiological causes of acid reflux, available treatments, and the dietary implications of the disease, and offers recipes and restaurant and supermarket tips.
Philosophy

Tell Me Something I Don't Know: Dialogues in Epistemology

Author: Michael Veber

Publisher: Broadview Press

ISBN:

Category: Philosophy

Page: 335

View: 620

Tell Me Something I Don’t Know is a collection of original dialogues in epistemology, suitable for student readers but also of interest to experts. Familiar problems, theories, and arguments are explored: second-order knowledge, epistemic closure, the preface paradox, skepticism, pragmatic encroachment, the Gettier problem, and more. New ideas on each of these issues are also offered, defended, and critiqued, often in humorous and entertaining ways.
Fiction

Tell Me You Love Me

Author: Gill Sanderson

Publisher: Accent Press Ltd

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 200

View: 146

Another captivating medical romance from best-selling author Gill Sanderson! Perfect for fans of Mia Faye, Laura Scott, Helen Scott Taylor, Grey's Anatomy and ER. Readers ADORE Gill's gripping medical romances! 'A truly gifted writer with an enormous amount of talent and sensitivity' 5* author review 'This book has all it takes... romance, thrills, high adventure...' 5* reader review '... it's a joy to lose yourself in such an interesting book' 5* reader review Abbey Fraser was the new doctor in charge of a team of divers working off the Scottish coast. It was fascinating work, at times dangerous. Perhaps more dangerous was her relationship with John Cameron, the Dive Master. She was attracted to the man and knew he was attracted to her. How could there be a future for them? John was a dedicated wanderer. Then came the most horrific coincidence possible. She discovered it was possible that John had been responsible for the underwater death of her husband! There would be more danger in a storm at sea before the two of them managed to sort out their problems. Don't miss Gill Sanderson's enthralling medical romances, including the A Lakeland Practice and the Good, Bad and Ugly series.