Fiction

The Year that Changed Everything

Author: Cathy Kelly

Publisher: Hachette UK

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 400

View: 120

'Warm, witty and wise' Marian Keyes Three women, three birthdays, one year that will change everything... Ginger isn't spending her thirtieth the way she would have planned. Tonight might be the first night of the rest of her life - or a total disaster. Sam is finally pregnant after years of trying. When her waters break on the morning of her fortieth birthday, she panics: forget labour, how is she going to be a mother? Callie is celebrating her fiftieth at a big party in her Dublin home. Then a knock at the door mid-party changes everything... Treat yourself to the heartwarming and life-affirming new story from international bestseller Cathy Kelly *** Everyone loves Cathy Kelly: 'This book is full of joy - and I devoured every page of it gladly' - Milly Johnson 'Filled with nuggets of wisdom, compassion and humour, Cathy Kelly proves, yet again, that she knows everything there is to know about women' - Patricia Scanlan 'Packed with Cathy's usual magical warmth' - Sheila O'Flanagan 'A lovely story of life and change' - Prima 'Comforting and feel-good, the perfect treat read' - Good Housekeeping
Science

The Theory That Changed Everything

Author: Philip Lieberman

Publisher: Columbia University Press

ISBN:

Category: Science

Page: 210

View: 498

Few people have done as much to change how we view the world as Charles Darwin. Yet On the Origin of Species is more cited than read, and parts of it are even considered outdated. In some ways, it has been consigned to the nineteenth century. In The Theory That Changed Everything, the renowned cognitive scientist Philip Lieberman demonstrates that there is no better guide to the world’s living—and still evolving—things than Darwin and that the phenomena he observed are still being explored at the frontiers of science. In an exploration that ranges from Darwin’s transformative trip aboard the Beagle to Lieberman’s own sojourns in the remotest regions of the Himalayas, this book relates fresh, contemporary findings to the major concepts of Darwinian theory, which transcends natural selection. Drawing on his own research into the evolution of human linguistic and cognitive abilities, Lieberman explains the paths that adapted human anatomy to language. He demystifies the role of recently identified transcriptional and epigenetic factors encoded in DNA, explaining how nineteenth-century Swedish famines alternating with years of plenty caused survivors’ grandchildren to die many years short of their life expectancy. Lieberman is equally at home decoding supermarket shelves and climbing with the Sherpas as he discusses how natural selection explains features from lactose tolerance to ease of breathing at Himalayan altitudes. With conversational clarity and memorable examples, Lieberman relates the insights that led to groundbreaking discoveries in both Darwin’s time and our own while asking provocative questions about what Darwin would have made of controversial issues today, such as GMOs, endangered species, and the God question.
Business & Economics

The Turning Point That Changed Everything

Author: Wallace R. Pratt

Publisher: Xulon Press

ISBN:

Category: Business & Economics

Page: 240

View: 494

In every person's life, there comes a moment in time when circumstances or events require decisions and responses that greatly determine the future. This book has no design to be another volume on leadership techniques. Rather, it is a candid exploration of those unexpected turns birthed out of the experience of being confronted with a reversal of circumstances in the life of an individual. Frankly, it is a study about the drama of life. The intention of the author is to give a sincere and straightforward examination of why turnabouts often get high-jacked and fail to live up to people's expectations. Even more, individuals will find a plea for courage and faith when things do not occur as they once envisioned they would. Consequently, it is a clarion call for courage to go further than some would desire, but also a caution to impatient leaders to be watchful of their own intentions to push a change further than would be wise. In the end, some leaders must be willing to consider a more contemplative life built on valuing people above their own ideological mindset. Dr. Wallace R. Pratt is an administrator, minister, teacher, and writer. He lives in Salem, Oregon and has been married thirty-eight years to his wonderful wife Judy. They are blessed with two daughters, two great son-in-laws and five grandchildren. Dr. Pratt serves as a regional supervisor in the Northwest for his church organization, while also serving as an adjunct professor for Gordon-Conwell Theological Seminary. His leadership experience has included thirty-three years of pastoral ministry and approximately eighteen years of teaching in sixteen nations. He has been serving on the Doctrine and Polity Committee of his church organization for fourteen years and presently holds the position of chairman for this international body.
Fiction

The Night That Changed Everything

Author: Laura Tait

Publisher: Random House

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 416

View: 167

Rebecca is the only girl she knows who didn't cry at the end of Titanic. Ben is the only man he knows who did. Rebecca’s untidy but Ben doesn’t mind picking up her pieces. Ben is laid back by Rebecca keeps him on his toes. They're a perfect match. Nothing can come between them. Or so they think. When a throwaway comment reveals a secret from the past, their love story is rewritten. Can they recover from the night that changed everything? And how do you forgive when you can’t forget? The Night That Changed Everything is a funny, feel-good and bittersweet story, told in alternate chapters by Laura Tait and Jimmy Rice.
Fiction

The List That Changed My Life

Author: Olivia Beirne

Publisher: Hachette UK

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 352

View: 286

Sometimes all you need is a little push... 'One of the most hilarious books I have read for a very long time. Olivia writes with great warmth and wit - a fantastically funny debut.' Emma Cooper, author of The Songs of Us Perfect for fans of Sophie Kinsella, Katie Marsh and Marian Keyes, Olivia Beirne's bestseller The List That Changed My Life takes its readers on an hilarious and heart-warming journey of a lifetime, showing us what it means to really be alive. Georgia loves wine, reality TV and sitting on the sofa after work. She does not love heights, looking at her bank account, going on dates, or activities that involve a sports bra. And she will never, ever take a risk. That is, until her braver, bolder, big sister finds out that she won't be able to tick off the things she wanted to do before turning thirty, and turns to Georgia to help her finish her list. With the birthday just months away, Georgia suddenly has a deadline to learn to grab life with both hands. Could she be brave enough to take the leap, for her sister? And how might her own life change if she did? Readers LOVE The List That Changed My Life... 'A heart-warming story of love, family and friendship showing how just how far you would actually go for people you love and care for...' Stardust Book Reviews 'It was a proper feel-good, heart-warming, very natural and relatable story which I thoroughly enjoyed reading.' Kim Nash (kimthebookworm) 'A gorgeous life-affirming read that will make you laugh and cry' Hayley's Book Blog 'What an absolutely fabulous debut novel!' Reader review 'This book is a feel good, funny, happy, romantic, lovely story that reaches through the pages, envelopes you in a big warm hug and leaves you smiling from ear to ear.' Reader review
Design

Fifty Fashion Looks that Changed the World (1960s)

Author: Design Museum Enterprise Limited

Publisher: Hachette UK

ISBN:

Category: Design

Page: 112

View: 419

The Design Museum and fashion guru Paula Reed present Fifty Fashion Looks that Changed the 1960s. The most exciting, influential and definitive looks of one of the most significant decades in fashion! The Design Museum's mission is to celebrate, enterain and inform. It is the world's leading museum devoted to contemporary design in every form from furniture to fashion, and carchitecture to graphics. It is working to place design at the centre of contemporary culture and demonstrates both the richness of the creativity to be found in all forms of design, and its importance. Building on the international success of the Design Museum Fifty series, including Fifty Shoes that Changed the World, Fifty Bags that Changed the World and Fifty Hats that Changed the World, this beautifully designed book - curated in the series by fashion guru Paula Reed - takes a fresh look at key fashion pieces from the 1960s. Featuring Mary Quant's miniskirts, Andre Courrèges' Moon Girls, denim-clad hippies and Celia Birtwell's Romantic Peasants, this book captures and explains every influential look of the decade. For anyone looking to buy vintage pieces to add to their wardrobes of contemporary items, this authoritative and inspiring book will prove to be an invaluable source of reference.
Fiction

A Wedding at the Comfort Food Cafe

Author: Debbie Johnson

Publisher: HarperCollins UK

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 384

View: 639

Return to the Comfort Food Cafe for the wedding of the year!
Fiction

Christmas at the Comfort Food Cafe

Author: Debbie Johnson

Publisher: HarperCollins UK

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 208

View: 647

‘Full of quirky characters, friendship and humour, you will devour this engaging and heartwarming novel in one sitting’ – Sunday Express