Juvenile Fiction

The Collected Works of Gretchen Oyster

Author: Cary Fagan

Publisher: Tundra Books

ISBN:

Category: Juvenile Fiction

Page: 176

View: 215

Who is Gretchen Oyster? The discovery of a series of mysterious handmade postcards distracts Hartley from trouble at home. A poignant novel for fans of Rebecca Stead and Holly Goldberg Sloan. Hartley Staples, near-graduate of middle school, is grappling with the fact that his older brother has run away from home, when he finds a handmade postcard that fascinates him. And soon he spots another. Despite his losing interest in pretty much everything since Jackson ran away, Hartley finds himself searching for cards in his small town at every opportunity, ignoring other responsibilities, namely choosing a topic for his final project. Who is G.O. and why are they scattering cards about the town?
Juvenile Fiction

Water, Water

Author: Cary Fagan

Publisher: Tundra Books

ISBN:

Category: Juvenile Fiction

Page: 160

View: 882

One morning Rafe wakes up to discover his bedroom is floating in a vast sea of water. An unforgettable middle-grade novel with elements of James and the Giant Peach meets Waterworld and The Road. One morning Rafe wakes up to discover his bedroom is floating in a vast sea of water. Alone with only his dog for company, Rafe adapts to this strange new world by fishing cans of food out of the water and keeping watch. Boxes float by, as does a woman, playing her cello. Then, one day, Rafe fishes out a young girl, who joins him in his room -- they don't speak the same language, but together they will face this uncertain future together.
Education

Teaching Tough Topics

Author: Larry Swartz

Publisher: Pembroke Publishers Limited

ISBN:

Category: Education

Page: 166

View: 513

Teaching Tough Topics shows teachers how to lead students to become caring citizens as they read and respond to quality children’s literature. It focuses on topics that can be challenging or sensitive, yet are significant in order to build understanding of social justice, diversity, and equity. Racism, Homophobia, Bullying, Religious Intolerance, Poverty, and Physical and Mental Challenges are just some of the themes explored. The book is rooted in the belief that by using picture books, novels, poetry, and nonfiction, teachers can enrich learning with compassion and empathy as students make connections to texts, to others, and to the world.
Boats and boating

Motor Boat

Author:

Publisher:

ISBN:

Category: Boats and boating

Page:

View: 662