Juvenile Fiction

The Darkdeep

Author: Ally Condie

Publisher: Bloomsbury Publishing USA

ISBN:

Category: Juvenile Fiction

Page: 272

View: 889

"This book left me breathless!" --R. L. Stine, #1 New York Times bestselling author of Goosebumps and Fear Street "Move over, Stranger Things. . . The Darkdeep will pull you into an irresistibly eerie world beyond your wildest dreams--and nightmares." --Melissa de la Cruz, #1 New York Times bestselling author of the Descendants series New York Times bestselling authors Ally Condie and Brendan Reichs team up to co-author this thrilling first book in a darkly suspenseful middle grade series. Everyone in Timbers knows Still Cove is off-limits, with its creepy Beast sightings and equally terrifying legends. But when a bullying incident sends twelve-year-old Nico Holland over a cliff and into Still Cove's icy waters, friends Tyler and Emma--and even Opal Walsh, who usually runs with the popular kids--rush to his rescue . . . and discover a mysterious island hiding in the murky, swirling mists below. Though the island appears uninhabited, the kids can't shake a feeling that something about it is definitely not right. Their suspicions grow when they stumble upon an abandoned houseboat filled with all sorts of curiosities: odd-looking weapons, unnerving portraits, maps to unknown places, and a glass jar containing something completely unidentifiable. And in its lowest depths churns a dark, deep secret. As the group delves deeper into this mysterious new clubhouse, their lives begin to intertwine in weird and dangerous ways. For something ancient has awakened . . . and it can detect not only their wishes and dreams, but also their darkest, most terrible imaginings. Do they have what it takes to face the shadowy secrets lurking within their own hearts? Told from alternating points of view, this pulse-racing tale from bestselling duo Ally Condie and Brendan Reichs is the start of a high-stakes, thrilling series about friendship and believing in yourself--and each other.

The Darkdeep

Author: Allyson Braithwaite Condie

Publisher:

ISBN:

Category:

Page: 261

View: 811

Middle-schoolers Nico, Tyler, Ella, and Opal discover a hidden island in a forbidden cove that appears uninhabited, but something ancient has awakened knowing their wishes, dreams, and darkest secrets.
Juvenile Fiction

The Torchbearers

Author: Ally Condie

Publisher: Bloomsbury Publishing USA

ISBN:

Category: Juvenile Fiction

Page: 272

View: 444

"This book left me breathless!" - R. L. Stine, #1 New York Times bestselling author of Goosebumps and Fear Street, on The Darkdeep "Everything you could want in a series." - Soman Chainani, New York Times bestselling author of The School for Good and Evil, on The Beast The blockbuster middle-grade series by New York Times bestselling authors Ally Condie and Brendan continues in this edge-of-your-seat adventure that's Stranger Things meets The Goonies. After the events of Dark Halloween, the town of Timbers is in a full-blown monster panic, making life for the Torchbearers--Opal, Nico, Tyler, Emma, and Logan--extremely difficult. Nico is investigating the Rift and the strange natural phenomena that continue to occur, all while worrying about his dad's potential work transfer. Opal has her hands full researching the founding Torchbearer, Yvette Dumont, and deciphering clues from another realm sent by the mysterious Thing In a Jar. Emma's wildly popular YouTube show has brought her new-found fame, but also earned her some enemies. Logan is trying to unlock secrets in his own family history that might shed light on how the Torchbearer Order began, while Tyler, as the self-proclaimed Beastmaster, strives to commune with--and not be eaten by--the mercurial and deadly alien sea creature living in Still Cove. But that's not all. Something cryptic has surfaced from within the Darkdeep. Questions arise, and the five friends find themselves suddenly at odds. The stakes climb even higher when an enigmatic new girl comes to town, with an agenda of her own. As the Torchbearers discover shocking secrets about their houseboat hangout, the Rift, and the Darkdeep itself, signs point to new realms beyond the ones they know, putting their friendships to the test as never before . . . Told from alternating POVs, this thrilling next book from bestselling duo Ally Condie and Brendan Reichs will once again have readers sleeping with the lights on.
Juvenile Fiction

The Beast

Author: Brendan Reichs

Publisher: Pan Macmillan

ISBN:

Category: Juvenile Fiction

Page:

View: 974

From bestselling authors Ally Condie and Brendan Reichs comes The Beast, the second book in the darkly suspenseful middle-grade Darkdeep series. Nico, Opal, Tyler, Emma, and Logan survived their worst fears come to life and saved their town from a monstrous figment invasion. Now they want to keep their heads down, enjoy Halloween, and explore the secrets of their mysterious houseboat clubhouse. And also figure out their new Torchbearer responsibilities as keepers of the Darkdeep, an ancient whirlpool hidden in Still Cove that can make both dreams and nightmares into reality. But when a dangerous new breed of figments start appearing on their own, and the very environment around them begins to spiral out of control, the friends realize they have no idea what they are doing – or how they're supposed to restrain the Darkdeep . . .
Juvenile Fiction

The Beast

Author: Ally Condie

Publisher: Bloomsbury Children's Books

ISBN:

Category: Juvenile Fiction

Page: 272

View: 530

"Thrilling, intense, with pulse-pounding chills . . . Everything you could want in a series." --Soman Chainani, New York Times bestselling author of The School for Good and Evil New York Times bestselling authors Ally Condie and Brendan Reichs co-author another edge-of-your-seat adventure in this darkly suspenseful middle grade series. After Nico, Opal, Tyler, Emma, and Logan survived their worst nightmares come-to-life, they hoped things would go back to normal in Timbers, their sleepy northwestern town. They have school, their secret houseboat hang-out, and important responsibilities to uphold. Because unbeknownst to anyone else, they're the Torch Bearers--keepers of the Darkdeep, an ancient whirlpool that makes dreams and nightmares come true. But when an even more dangerous threat surfaces, the friends realize they have no idea how to stop it or control the Darkdeep. With no other options, they must uncover the whirlpool's origins as well as those of that freaky Thing in a Jar. But getting answers won't be easy, thanks to a YouTube “mythbusters” series that has invaded Timbers intent on finding its own creature feature star. As the series goes viral and closes in on the Darkdeep, loyalties are put to the test as the friends struggle to guard their secrets, defeat their enemies, and save themselves and all they love. Told from alternating points-of-view, this chilling series sequel from bestselling duo Ally Condie and Brendan Reichs is perfect for fans of Stranger Things.
Fiction

The Dark, Deep Down

Author: Maynard Hartman

Publisher: iUniverse

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 56

View: 214

"The Dark, Deep Down" is derived from the random thoughts and ideas exposed in the daylight, but fostered in the darker, sublime, realms of the mind. Don't be surprised if you go looking for sunshine within these pages, and discover that none can be found. Or if the pickets on the white fence are just a little too sharp. This collection uses the backdoor of the mind to explore some of the less-traveled paths to fear, sadness, and myth.
Sports

Outing

Author: Poultney Bigelow

Publisher:

ISBN:

Category: Sports

Page:

View: 495

Young Adult Fiction

Matched

Author: Ally Condie

Publisher: Penguin

ISBN:

Category: Young Adult Fiction

Page: 416

View: 604

Cassia has always trusted the Society to make the right choices for her: what to read, what to watch, what to believe. So when Xander's face appears on-screen at her Matching ceremony, Cassia knows with complete certainty that he is her ideal mate . . . until she sees Ky Markham's face flash for an instant before the screen fades to black. The Society tells her it's a glitch, a rare malfunction, and that she should focus on the happy life she's destined to lead with Xander. But Cassia can't stop thinking about Ky, and as they slowly fall in love, Cassia begins to doubt the Society's infallibility and is faced with an impossible choice: between Xander and Ky, between the only life she's known and a path that no one else has dared to follow. Look for CROSSED, the sequel to MATCHED, in Fall 2011! Watch a Video
Literary Criticism

Narrative Unbound

Author: Donald D. Ault

Publisher: Clinamen Studies

ISBN:

Category: Literary Criticism

Page: 517

View: 340

Narrative Unbound is the first full-scale interpretation of the verbal text of Blake's most complex long poetic prophecy, The Four Zoas. Never engraved or published in the poet/artist's lifetime, the poem remains in a single manuscript, apparently unfinished and heavily revised, and yet is widely celebrated as one of Blake's most powerful narrative works. Ault challenges the view that the poem is intrinsically incomplete and flawed, arguing instead that the famous difficulties of the text are aspects of Blake's transformative narrative strategies. By respecting the integrity of Blake's work, taking every written mark on the page as potentially functional, Ault shows how the intricate interweaving of narrative patterns and interruptions are instrumental to conscious reading. The poetic intent is nothing less than a complete renovation of the reading experience, the potential of which is the realization of what Blake has called Four-fold vision. Ault's approach serves as a guide both to reading The Four Zoas and to participating in a radical poetic method.
Songs, Bengali

Songs of Tagore

Author: Rabindranath Tagore

Publisher:

ISBN:

Category: Songs, Bengali

Page: 139

View: 883

Songs, without musical notation.