Fiction

The Dollmaker

Author: Harriette Arnow

Publisher: Simon and Schuster

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 624

View: 122

The Dollmaker was originally published in 1954 to immediate success and critical acclaim. In unadorned and powerful prose, Harriette Arnow tells the unforgettable and heartbreaking story of the Nevels family and their quest to preserve their deep-rooted values amidst the turmoil of war and industrialization. When Gertie Nevels, a strong and self-reliant matriarch, follows her husband to Detroit from their countryside home in Kentucky, she learns she will have to fight desperately to keep her family together. A sprawling book full of vividly drawn characters and masterful scenes, The Dollmaker is a passionate tribute to a woman's love for her children and the land.
Fiction

The Dollmaker

Author: Marilyn Land

Publisher: iUniverse

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 216

View: 630

Although born into privilege, Ayna Landau marries Karl Adler in 1924 and opens the door to a world of opportunities that propel her husband's company to the height of success in the porcelain doll industry of interwar Germany. As she basks in the glory of her triumphs, her idyllic life is interrupted by Adolph Hitler's meteoric rise to power in the 1930s as head of the Nazi Party. While the chaos the Nazis create throughout Europe culminates in World War II, Ayna and her family risk everything they have worked for to secure the safety and freedom of not only their family and friends, but strangers who seek their help, as well. Struggling to survive the depths of personal tragedy that befall her by the war's end, she abandons the Adler Doll Works and their beautiful villa to flee Germany mere days ahead of the approaching Russian army, determined to be reunited with her children in Switzerland. Ayna's perseverance and resolve to restore the Adler name to the prominence it once held becomes her final mission, in an effort to bequeath its legacy to her children, grandchildren, and all future Adlers.
Fiction

The Dollmaker

Author: Amanda Stevens

Publisher: Harlequin

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 400

View: 527

In Terrebonne Parish, Louisiana, a terrible secret is about to be uncovered by a woman whose daughter vanished seven years ago without a trace… And now a new clue has surfaced…a doll that is the spitting image of Claire Doucett's missing child, right down to the tiny birthmark on the girl's left arm. A chance sighting of the eerily lifelike doll in a French Quarter collectibles shop leaves Claire shaken to her core…and more determined than ever to find out what happened to her beloved Ruby. When the doll is snatched and the store's owner turns up dead, Claire knows the only person she can turn to is ex-husband Dave Creasy, a former cop who has spent the past seven years imprisoned by his own guilt and despair. He let Claire down once when she needed him the most. Can she make him believe the doll really exists? She'll have to if they're to survive an encounter with a brutal psychopath—the dollmaker—who stole their future to feed an obsession that will never die.
Fiction

The Dollmaker

Author: Nina Allan

Publisher: Hachette UK

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 400

View: 539

EWA CHAPLIN WASN'T AFRAID TO MAKE DOLLS THAT WEREN'T COMFORTING. SHE SEEMED TO KNOW THAT DOLLS ARE PEOPLE, JUST LIKE US. THE BEWITCHING NEW NOVEL FROM THE AWARD-WINNING GUARDIAN FRESH VOICES AUTHOR 'A fantastic book' Andrew O'Hagan 'Wholly original - worthy of a modern Grimm' Andrew Caldecott, author of Rotherweird 'A masterful and multi-layered haunted toyshop of a novel' Tony White, author of The Fountain in the Forest Stitch by perfect stitch, Andrew Garvie makes exquisite dolls in the finest antique style. Like him, they are diminutive, but graceful, unique and with surprising depths. Perhaps that's why he answers the enigmatic personal ad in his collector's magazine. Letter by letter, Bramber Winters reveals more of her strange, sheltered life in an institution on Bodmin Moor, and the terrible events that put her there as a child. Andrew knows what it is to be trapped; and as they knit closer together, he weaves a curious plan to rescue her. On his journey through the old towns of England he reads the fairytales of Ewa Chaplin - potent, eldritch stories which, like her lifelike dolls, pluck at the edges of reality and thread their way into his mind. When Andrew and Bramber meet at last, they will have a choice - to remain alone with their painful pasts or break free and, unlike their dolls, come to life. A love story of two very real, unusual people, The Dollmaker is also a novel rich with wonders: Andrew's quest and Bramber's letters unspool around the dark fables that give our familiar world an uncanny edge. It is this touch of magic that, like the blink of a doll's eyes, tricks our own . . .
Juvenile Fiction

The Dollmaker of Krakow

Author: R. M. Romero

Publisher: Delacorte Books for Young Readers

ISBN:

Category: Juvenile Fiction

Page: 336

View: 436

In the vein of The Boy in the Striped Pajamas and Number the Stars, this fusion of fairy tales, folklore, and World War II history eloquently illustrates the power of love and the inherent will to survive even in the darkest of times. In the land of dolls, there is magic. In the land of humans, there is war. Everywhere there is pain. But together there is hope. Karolina is a living doll whose king and queen have been overthrown. But when a strange wind spirits her away from the Land of the Dolls, she finds herself in Kraków, Poland, in the company of the Dollmaker, a man with an unusual power and a marked past. The Dollmaker has learned to keep to himself, but Karolina’s courageous and compassionate manner lead him to smile and to even befriend a violin-playing father and his daughter—that is, once the Dollmaker gets over the shock of realizing a doll is speaking to him. But their newfound happiness is dashed when Nazi soldiers descend upon Poland. Karolina and the Dollmaker quickly realize that their Jewish friends are in grave danger, and they are determined to help save them, no matter what the risks.
Fiction

The Dollmaker's Daughters

Author: Dilly Court

Publisher: Random House

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 528

View: 565

A powerful saga set in turn-of-the-twentieth-century London from the Sunday Times bestselling author. For Ruby and Rosetta Capretti life in the slums of the East End holds little promise. Although very similar in looks they dream of very different futures. Coquettish, flamboyant Rosetta is desperate to leave the claustrophobic confines of the sewing sweatshop to follow in her wayward aunt's footsteps and work under the bright lights of the music hall. Ruby, quieter and more modest, has always longed to train as a nurse, a pipe-dream for a girl from her humble background. And then, by the side of their father's grave, they meet handsome Jonas Crowe. But little do they know how much one man will affect both their lives for ever.
Juvenile Fiction

Goldie the Dollmaker

Author: M. B. Goffstein

Publisher: Sunburst

ISBN:

Category: Juvenile Fiction

Page: 64

View: 627

Goldie, the dollmaker, created each doll with great love and sincerity, and the pleasure from this and her acquisition of a lamp whose maker was equally careful made her poverty and loneliness bearable.
FICTION

The Dollmaker

Author: Mary Burton

Publisher:

ISBN:

Category: FICTION

Page: 342

View: 202

Dr. Tessa McGowan teams up with her estranged husband to find out who's kidnapping women and altering their faces to resemble life-size dolls.
Poetry

The Dollmaker's Ghost

Author: Larry Levis

Publisher: Carnegie Mellon Classic Contem

ISBN:

Category: Poetry

Page: 72

View: 406

A reissuing of The Dollmaker's Ghost, poetry by Larry Levis.
History

An American Vein

Author: Danny Miller

Publisher: Ohio University Press

ISBN:

Category: History

Page: 400

View: 648

"...this impressive collection of essays provides an important, though too long neglected, part of American literary history. This book effectively gives Appalachian literature the serious attention it deserves." ---Sandra L. Ballard, editor of Appalachian Journal and Listen Here: Women Writing in Appalachia ****An American Vein: Critical Readings in Appalachian Literature is an anthology of literary criticism of Appalachian novelists, poets, and playwrights. The book reprises critical writing of influential authors such as Joyce Carol Oates, Cratis Williams, and Jim Wayne Miller. It introduces new writing by Rodger Cunningham, Elizabeth Engelhardt, and others. Many writers from the mountains have found success and acclaim outside the region, but the region itself as a thriving center of literary creativity has not been widely appreciated. The editors of An American Vein have remedied this, producing the first general collection of Appalachian literary criticism. This book is a resource for those who teach and read Appalachian literature. What's more, it holds the promise of introducing new readers, nationally and internationally, to Appalachian literature and its relevance to our times. ****ABOUT THE EDITORS----Danny L. Miller is the chair of the Department of Literature and Language at Northern Kentucky University. He is the author of Wingless Flights: Appalachian Women in Fiction. Sharon Hatfield is an independent writer and editor whose interests include Appalachian history, literature, and media. Her book Never Seen the Moon: The Trials of Edith Maxwell is forthcoming from University of Illinois Press. Guerney Norman is a novelist and short story writer. He is the director of the creative writing program at the University of Kentucky. His books include the short story collection Kinfolks: The Wilgus Stories. He coedited Backtalk: Stories from an American Region.