Sports & Recreation

The Inner Art of Karate

Author: Kenji Tokitsu

Publisher: Shambhala Publications

ISBN:

Category: Sports & Recreation

Page: 181

View: 918

A master martial artist and scholar of the works of the legendary samurai Miyamoto Musashi explains the philosophy of karate while examining concepts the author identifies as essential for developing a strategic mind in accordance with those of true martial artists. Original.
Religion

Spiritual Kaizen

Author: Grant Hagiya

Publisher: Abingdon Press

ISBN:

Category: Religion

Page: 154

View: 296

Leaders aren't born. They're made, one step at a time.
Sports & Recreation

Karate The Art of "Empty-Hand" Fighting

Author: Hidetaka Nishiyama

Publisher: Tuttle Publishing

ISBN:

Category: Sports & Recreation

Page: 256

View: 593

Master the techniques and theory of Japanese Karate with this easy-to-follow, illustrated martial arts guide. Karate: The Art of "Empty-Hand" Fighting has inspired hundreds of thousands of karateka, and it remains one of the finest texts available on the technique, art, and spirit of karatedo. This definitive volume is a systematic presentation of the art of traditional Japanese karate. An easily accessible martial arts manual illustrated with more than 1,000 photographs, this comprehensive karate book gives step-by-step explanations and thorough analysis of all the basic movements and techniques of karate. Topics of Karate the Art of "Empty-Hand" Fighting" include: The history of Karate The theories and principle of Karate The best training and exercise methods Karate techniques like stance, blocking and attacks Defenses against weapons
Fiction

Winter Raven

Author: Adam Baker

Publisher: Canelo

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 288

View: 751

One rogue Samurai will sacrifice everything – apart from his honour As Japan’s factions head to war, this extraordinary new historical fiction series takes us into the heart of life as a Samurai Japan’s warlords are on the march and nothing is as it appears. After a failed assassination attempt on the Emperor, an anonymous samurai is coerced into a suicide mission that will test his skills to the limit. He must face this challenge for his young charge, a girl who is the last remainder of his duty. The samurai and the girl must journey to a far and impregnable mountain fortress, fighting off threats and dangers on the way. The girl, knowing no other life, hopes to learn all she can of the ways of the warrior. But they do not travel alone. The hunters are also the hunted. In Winter Raven, the first in an epic and engrossing new historical series, written in spare and precise prose, we are transported to an incredible time and place in history. Brutal, tense and action-packed, Winter Raven is sure to appeal to readers of James Clavell, Bernard Cornwell and Ben Kane. Path of the Samurai Winter Raven Raven's Sword
Health & Fitness

Broke Strength Training Guide

Author: Owen Johnston

Publisher: Owen Johnston

ISBN:

Category: Health & Fitness

Page:

View: 320

It is possible to get in shape for free, as you can train with just your own bodyweight. You don't need gym memberships or expensive, specialized equipment; many exercises only require floor space! You can train in your own home, yard, at a local park, out in nature, or while traveling. Bodyweight training is the primary focus of the guide, but creative uses of the environment, and DIY equipment are also covered. It is possible to construct your own training gear on a non-existent budget, if you know where to look. General fitness advice, a few example workouts, and more, are included.
Sports & Recreation

Secrets of the Samurai

Author: Oscar Ratti

Publisher: Tuttle Publishing

ISBN:

Category: Sports & Recreation

Page: 400

View: 868

Secrets of the Samurai is the definitive study of the martial arts of feudal Japan, explaining in detail the weapons, techniques, strategies, and principles of combat that made the Japanese warrior a formidable foe. The work begins with a panoramic survey of the tumultuous early struggles of warlords contending for political ascendancy and then outlines the relentless progression of the military class toward absolute power. In addition to illustrating actual methods of combat, the authors discuss in detail the crucial training necessary to develop a warrior's inner power and to concentrate all his energies into a single force. Secrets of the Samurai is an essential text for anyone with an interest in Japanese combat techniques, weaponry, or military history. This edition also contains a new foreword by Adele Westbrook and numerous previously unpublished illustrations by Oscar Ratti. Chapters include: The Bushi The Heimin The Centers of Martial Instruction Armed Bujutsu Unarmed Bujutsu Control and Power Strategic Principles Morality of Bujutsu

Creating Kata

Author: David Nielsen

Publisher: Lulu.com

ISBN:

Category:

Page: 83

View: 997

Discusses how Karate Masters from the past created the many Kata practiced today and shows the reader how to create their own Kata in the traditional manner verses the sports manner of today.
Martial arts

Martial Arts of the World: A-Q

Author: Thomas A. Green

Publisher: ABC-CLIO

ISBN:

Category: Martial arts

Page: 894

View: 320

"Did you know that the martial arts include such former Western pursuits as dueling, gunfighting, and gladiatorial combat? Nearly 100 articles by scholars discuss specific martial arts, countries, and concepts such as religion and spiritual development common to martial arts traditions of the world. Definitions of unfamiliar terms and an index that notes the historical figures and classic texts dicussed within articles help to make this set a scholarly corrective in an area often informed by the movies."--"Outstanding Reference Sources," American Libraries, May 2002.
Sports & Recreation

The Complete Guide to American Karate & Tae Kwon Do

Author: Keith D. Yates

Publisher: Blue Snake Books

ISBN:

Category: Sports & Recreation

Page: 201

View: 295

"Covers the development of the arts of karate and tae kwon do in the United States"--Provided by publisher.