Sports & Recreation

The Inner Art of Karate

Author: Kenji Tokitsu

Publisher: Shambhala Publications

ISBN:

Category: Sports & Recreation

Page: 181

View: 128

A master martial artist and scholar of the works of the legendary samurai Miyamoto Musashi explains the philosophy of karate while examining concepts the author identifies as essential for developing a strategic mind in accordance with those of true martial artists. Original.
Religion

Spiritual Kaizen

Author: Grant Hagiya

Publisher: Abingdon Press

ISBN:

Category: Religion

Page: 154

View: 667

Leaders aren't born. They're made, one step at a time.
Architecture

The Urban Improvise

Author: Kristian Kloeckl

Publisher: Yale University Press

ISBN:

Category: Architecture

Page: 256

View: 148

A book for architects, designers, planners, and urbanites that explores how cities can embrace improvisation to improve urban life The built environment in today’s hybrid cities is changing radically. The pervasiveness of networked mobile and embedded devices has transformed a predominantly stable background for human activity into spaces that have a more fluid behavior. Based on their capability to sense, compute, and act in real time, urban spaces have the potential to go beyond planned behaviors and, instead, change and adapt dynamically. These interactions resemble improvisation in the performing arts, and this book offers a new improvisation-based framework for thinking about future cities. Kristian Kloeckl moves beyond the smart city concept by unlocking performativity, and specifically improvisation, as a new design approach and explores how city lights, buses, plazas, and other urban environments are capable of behavior beyond scripts. Drawing on research of digital cities and design theory, he makes improvisation useful and applicable to the condition of today’s technology-imbued cities and proposes a new future for responsive urban design.
Sports & Recreation

Karate The Art of "Empty-Hand" Fighting

Author: Hidetaka Nishiyama

Publisher: Tuttle Publishing

ISBN:

Category: Sports & Recreation

Page: 256

View: 811

Master the techniques and theory of Japanese Karate with this easy-to-follow, illustrated martial arts guide. Karate: The Art of "Empty-Hand" Fighting has inspired hundreds of thousands of karateka, and it remains one of the finest texts available on the technique, art, and spirit of karatedo. This definitive volume is a systematic presentation of the art of traditional Japanese karate. An easily accessible martial arts manual illustrated with more than 1,000 photographs, this comprehensive karate book gives step-by-step explanations and thorough analysis of all the basic movements and techniques of karate. Topics of Karate the Art of "Empty-Hand" Fighting" include: The history of Karate The theories and principle of Karate The best training and exercise methods Karate techniques like stance, blocking and attacks Defenses against weapons
Fiction

Winter Raven

Author: Adam Baker

Publisher: Canelo

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 288

View: 743

One rogue Samurai will sacrifice everything – apart from his honour As Japan’s factions head to war, this extraordinary new historical fiction series takes us into the heart of life as a Samurai Japan’s warlords are on the march and nothing is as it appears. After a failed assassination attempt on the Emperor, an anonymous samurai is coerced into a suicide mission that will test his skills to the limit. He must face this challenge for his young charge, a girl who is the last remainder of his duty. The samurai and the girl must journey to a far and impregnable mountain fortress, fighting off threats and dangers on the way. The girl, knowing no other life, hopes to learn all she can of the ways of the warrior. But they do not travel alone. The hunters are also the hunted. In Winter Raven, the first in an epic and engrossing new historical series, written in spare and precise prose, we are transported to an incredible time and place in history. Brutal, tense and action-packed, Winter Raven is sure to appeal to readers of James Clavell, Bernard Cornwell and Ben Kane. Path of the Samurai Winter Raven Raven's Sword
Self-Help

The Power and Art of Living

Author: Teddy Smith

Publisher: iUniverse

ISBN:

Category: Self-Help

Page: 236

View: 524

Theodore (Teddy) Smith is no stranger to extraordinary experiences. As a teacher, educator, trainer, on-air personality, and martial arts black belt, he's learned plenty of lessons over the years many of them difficult and soul-wrenching. Yet each one has helped him navigate life's tough road and has given him the knowledge to turn life's everyday experiences into profound insight. Part autobiography and part self-help guide, The Power and Art of Living shares Smith's inspiring journey through past and present creating a blueprint of how to successfully live your life. Through reflection, meditation, proper physical activity, mental stimulus, and spiritual outreach, reaching a place of enlightenment is not only possible, but essential to discovering the keys to inner growth, strength and maturity. If you embrace self-reflection and have an open mind, Smith believes you will find the ability to learn from your own daily experiences and be able to awaken previously overlooked ideas and attitudes. Along with like-minded friends, Smith encourages you to question preconceived values, beliefs, and goals and then use the answers to help reshape the quality of your life. The Power and Art of Living combines principles from the East and the West to help you create a road map to living a successful, fulfilling life!
Sports & Recreation

Secrets of the Samurai

Author: Oscar Ratti

Publisher: Tuttle Publishing

ISBN:

Category: Sports & Recreation

Page: 400

View: 610

Secrets of the Samurai is the definitive study of the martial arts of feudal Japan, explaining in detail the weapons, techniques, strategies, and principles of combat that made the Japanese warrior a formidable foe. The work begins with a panoramic survey of the tumultuous early struggles of warlords contending for political ascendancy and then outlines the relentless progression of the military class toward absolute power. In addition to illustrating actual methods of combat, the authors discuss in detail the crucial training necessary to develop a warrior's inner power and to concentrate all his energies into a single force. Secrets of the Samurai is an essential text for anyone with an interest in Japanese combat techniques, weaponry, or military history. This edition also contains a new foreword by Adele Westbrook and numerous previously unpublished illustrations by Oscar Ratti. Chapters include: The Bushi The Heimin The Centers of Martial Instruction Armed Bujutsu Unarmed Bujutsu Control and Power Strategic Principles Morality of Bujutsu

Creating Kata

Author: David Nielsen

Publisher: Lulu.com

ISBN:

Category:

Page: 83

View: 869

Discusses how Karate Masters from the past created the many Kata practiced today and shows the reader how to create their own Kata in the traditional manner verses the sports manner of today.
Sports & Recreation

The Anatomy of Martial Arts

Author: Lily Chou

Publisher: Simon and Schuster

ISBN:

Category: Sports & Recreation

Page: 128

View: 160

THE ULTIMATE TRAINING SUPPLEMENT FOR MARTIAL ARTISTS With detailed anatomical drawings, this book precisely illustrates the inner workings of your body during key martial arts moves. Its color drawings, helpful photos and clear text make it easy to identify the specific muscles you need to train for maximum speed, power and accuracy. More than just an anatomy book, each section is accompanied by exercises and stretches to strengthen muscles, prevent injury and improve form. •Kicks •Strikes •Takedowns •Throws The Anatomy of Martial Arts is designed for a variety of disciplines, including: •Hapkido •Jiujitsu •Judo •Karate •Kendo •Kung Fu •Muay Thai •Taekwando
Martial arts

Martial Arts of the World: A-Q

Author: Thomas A. Green

Publisher: ABC-CLIO

ISBN:

Category: Martial arts

Page: 894

View: 104

"Did you know that the martial arts include such former Western pursuits as dueling, gunfighting, and gladiatorial combat? Nearly 100 articles by scholars discuss specific martial arts, countries, and concepts such as religion and spiritual development common to martial arts traditions of the world. Definitions of unfamiliar terms and an index that notes the historical figures and classic texts dicussed within articles help to make this set a scholarly corrective in an area often informed by the movies."--"Outstanding Reference Sources," American Libraries, May 2002.