Fiction

The Maiden Voyage of Victoria

Author: Willie Jackson

Publisher: iUniverse

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 258

View: 789

Intelligent life is discovered through a radio wave from a planet 400 light years away. Now Earth is in a race to beat their own radio waves to this planet before they discover that we exist. Through faster than light travel, a series of gateways are built and positioned between our sun and theirs, while the largest most highly advanced warship, the Victoria, is built and made ready for its maiden voyage and possible first contact mission. Captain Kristopher Freeman, takes his first command as the ships captain and as the youngest captain in Earth's history to ever be given such a high responsibility. The shakedown cruise turns into a real mission when one of Earth destroyers is unexpectedly destroyed in that far off system by another race Earth didn't know existed and wants to take this own world for their own. Can Captain Freeman and Victoria protect his world? Read it to find out!
Biography & Autobiography

Queen Victoria

Author: Paul Kendall

Publisher: Frontline Books

ISBN:

Category: Biography & Autobiography

Page: 280

View: 833

For almost 64 years, Queen Victoria reigned over Great Britain during a period which saw the country become the most powerful and prestigious in the world and one which experienced enormous social, political and industrial change. Those changes were embraced by Victoria, who became the first monarch to use the railway as a mode of transport, to use anaesthetic to alleviate pain, during childbirth, and to use a telephone. At the very start of her reign, she took an interest in politics, playing an active part in the machinations of government, and worked with ten prime ministers. She broke down barriers between sovereign and her subjects, ensuring that she was visible to the public. Victoria established the tradition of the white wedding, wearing a white bridal dress to ensure that her subjects could see her with the coronation route lengthened to maximise her exposure. She set the tradition of acknowledging her subjects from the balcony at Buckingham Palace during times of national celebration. She also paid regular visits to hospitals in England to visit wounded soldiers, and instigated the medal named after her which became the highest honour a man could receive fighting for his country. All aspects of Victoria’s life from Kensington Palace, her birthplace to Frogmore Mausoleum, are covered within this volume. Her personal life as well as her public persona are examined with illustrations of many of the places and palaces that were significant in her life – such as the site of the Fox & Crown public house on West Hill, Highgate, where, the landlord stepped out to halt the horses of Victoria coach which was careering out of control, or the point along Constitution Hill where the first assassination attempt was made on Victoria’s life. Equally displayed in this unique collection are fascinating artifacts that epitomise her reign, for example, the world’s first pre-paid adhesive postage stamp, the Penny Black which, of course, bore her image, and the gold enamelled brooch presented by Queen Victoria to Florence Nightingale in 1855 for her work in Crimea. Queen Victoria: Her Life and Legacy is a journey in gloriously-colored images through one of Britain’s greatest eras – the age of Victoria.
Transportation

High Tea on the Cunard Queens

Author: Paul Curtis

Publisher: The History Press

ISBN:

Category: Transportation

Page: 176

View: 312

THIS amusing insight into Cunard’s legendary liners begins more than fifty years ago when Paul Curtis joined the original Queen Mary as entertainments officer. Over a Cunard high tea in the Queens Room, Paul recounts the stories of these iconic ships. Then, over a drink in the Red Lion, he shares the tales of the antics of both passengers and crews. The facts are delivered in vivid detail – some of them things you should know and an occasional peep at things you shouldn’t. Simply turning these pages releases a sniff of the sea and a whiff of champagne. Paul has worked, travelled upon or photographed every Cunard Queen ever built. He has an offbeat sense of humour and a keen appetite for the ridiculous. A life at sea can do that to you.
Transportation

Royal Yachts

Author: Alan Major

Publisher: Amberley Publishing Limited

ISBN:

Category: Transportation

Page: 160

View: 142

A history of Royal Yachts and ships of state, both from Britain and abroad, from the Norman Conquest to the present day.
Transportation

The Final Voyage of the Princess Sophia

Author: Betty O'Keefe

Publisher: Heritage House Publishing Co

ISBN:

Category: Transportation

Page: 196

View: 440

October 25, 1918, is the day that goes down in history as the Inside Passage's worst maritime disaster. More than 350 people lost their lives and the CPR's British Columbia Coast Service was forever tarnished when the Princess Sophia went down off Vanderbilt Reef in Lynn Canal between Skagway and Juneau, Alaska. In this book, the authors relive the tragedy of the Princess Sophia and her last voyage and tackle questions that still linger. Was the sinking really just a "peril of the sea," as the inquiry concluded? This story explores the heroic efforts of those who answered the SOS and tried to save the passengers and crew but were later the ones to recover bodies instead.
Fiction

Touching the Stars

Author: Barbara Cartland

Publisher: Barbara Cartland Ebooks Ltd

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 140

View: 978

Historical romantic fiction
Fiction

A Maiden's Voyage

Author: Rosie Goodwin

Publisher: Bonnier Zaffre Ltd.

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 400

View: 458

From the Sunday Times bestselling author of The Blessed Child; perfect for fans of Dilly Court, Katie Flynn and Catherine Cookson. 'Goodwin is a master of her craft. The perfect book for a cold winter's evening' Lancashire Evening Post 'Goodwin is a fabulous writer' Worcester Evening News 'A vibrant page-turner with entrancing characters' Margaret Dickinson 'Rosie writes such heartwarming sagas' Lyn Andrews Thursday's child has far to go . . . 1912, London. Eighteen-year-old Flora Butler is going up in the world. She has the prized position of lady's maid to young Constance Ogilvie, and is able to provide for her beloved parents and four younger siblings. She has even fallen in love, and though she does not feel quite ready to marry the charming Jamie Branning, her future seems clear. But Flora's life is turned upside down when her mistress's father dies in a tragic accident. Connie is forced to move to New York to live with her aunt until she comes of age, and begs Flora to go with her. Flora has never left the country before, and now faces a difficult decision - give up her position, or leave her family behind. But when her beau lets her down, her mind is made up. Soon Connie and Flora head for Southampton to board the RMS Titanic ... A Maiden's Voyage is the fifth book in Rosie Goodwin's Days of the Week Collection. Why not try the rest, Mothering Sunday, The Little Angel, A Mother's Grace, The Blessed Child, A Precious Gift and Time to Say Goodbye?
Fiction

Victoria's Challenge

Author: M.K. Eidem

Publisher: Turtle Point Publishing, Inc

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 529

View: 123

Victoria Lynn Chamberlain at two, she was abducted by an alien race, the Regulians. At nine, her world literally exploded when the Regulians returned, destroying Earth. She and her aunt were the only survivors thanks to another alien race, the Carinians. Now she’s eighteen, a new graduate from their top medical school, and is ready to claim her life mate, Lucas. The handsome Carinian pilot that saved her all those years… cycles ago. Major Lucas Matthew Zafar was decorated pilot for the Coalition, who has worked hard for every promotion and earned every decoration, despite his father being High Admiral. Nine cycles ago, he crashed on an alien world and discovered his life mate, a nine-cycle girl with flame-red hair and sparkling, green eyes. She captivates everyone around her with her strength and determination. She is his world or will be once she grows up. When he’s injured in an explosion, he discovers that his wait is finally over for Victoria has more than grown up. Together they discover what it truly means to be life mates. That it is about doing what is best for the other even if it is not the best for you. That you have to do more than just love, you have to trust and be willing to sacrifice the things you never thought you would. Moreover, if you are lucky, and the ancestors are watching over you, you just might get everything you’ve ever dreamed of.
History

Imperial Vancouver Island

Author: J. F. Bosher

Publisher: Xlibris Corporation

ISBN:

Category: History

Page: 839

View: 406

"During the century 1850-1950 Vancouver Island attracted Imperial officers and other Imperials from India, the British Isles, and elsewhere in the Empire. Victoria was the main British port on the north-west Pacific Coast for forty years before the city of Vancouver was founded in 1886 to be the coastal terminus of the Canadian Pacific Railway. These two coastal cities were historically and geographically different. The Island joined Canada in 1871 and thirty-five years later the Royal Navy withdrew from Esquimalt, but Island communities did not lose their Imperial character until the 1950s."--P. [4] of cover.
Biography & Autobiography

Following Nellie Bly

Author: Rosemary J Brown

Publisher: Pen and Sword History

ISBN:

Category: Biography & Autobiography

Page: 202

View: 459

Intrepid journalist Nellie Bly raced through a ‘man’s world’ — alone and literally with just the clothes on her back — to beat the fictional record set by Jules Verne’s Phileas Fogg in Around the World in 80 Days. She won the race on 25 January 1890, covering 21,740 miles by ocean liner and train in 72 days, and became a global celebrity. Although best known for her record-breaking journey, even more importantly Nellie Bly pioneered investigative journalism and paved the way for women in the newsroom. Her undercover reporting, advocacy for women's rights, crusades for vulnerable children, campaigns against oppression and steadfast conviction that 'nothing is impossible' makes the world that she circled a better place. Adventurer, journalist and author, Rosemary J Brown, set off 125 years later to retrace Nellie Bly’s footsteps in an expedition registered with the Royal Geographical Society. Through her recreation of that epic global journey, she brings to life Nellie Bly’s remarkable achievements and shines a light on one of the world's greatest female adventurers and a forgotten heroine of history.