Fiction

The Mill River Redemption

Author: Darcie Chan

Publisher: Ballantine Books

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 416

View: 950

New York Times bestselling author Darcie Chan returns to the enchanting town of Mill River in a heartwarming novel of family, self-discovery, and forgiveness. Perfect for fans of Maeve Binchy. Josie DiSanti is starting over. Recently widowed, she has fled her New York City home with her two young daughters—spirited Rose and shy Emily—in tow. She takes refuge in Mill River, Vermont, to live with her only remaining relative, Ivy Collard, the local bookstore owner and a woman Josie barely knows. There, the young mother and her girls build a new life for themselves—until a shocking tragedy tears the sisters apart. Years later, Josie’s still-estranged daughters return to the quiet town for the reading of their mother’s will, which stipulates that they must work together to locate a hidden key to a safe-deposit box containing their inheritance. Even from the great beyond, it seems Josie will do anything to bring about her daughters’ reconciliation. Having no choice but to go along with their mother’s final wishes, Rose and Emily move back to Mill River for the summer to begin the search—discovering that, in the close-knit community known for magic and miracles, an even greater treasure awaits them. Praise for The Mill River Redemption “Delving into the complicated roles of siblings, parents, and neighbors, [Darcie] Chan gives each Mill River character a powerful role in refining and influencing these dynamics.”—New York Journal of Books “Darcie Chan paints a vivid and loving portrait of the kind of small town we all wished we lived in. This layered tale of two estranged sisters brought together by a mother’s love will make you laugh, cry, cheer, hug your loved ones a little tighter. An enchanting storyteller, Chan is one of those rare authors who make you feel more fully alive.”—Elizabeth Letts, #1 New York Times bestselling author of The Eighty-Dollar Champion “Readers looking for a feel-good book about small towns and family bonds won’t be disappointed by Chan’s latest.”—Kirkus Reviews “An engrossing page-turner, reeling readers in further with each layer that’s revealed . . . a satisfying read with sympathetic and relatable characters that will be good for book group discussions and vacation reading.”—Library Journal “Charming . . . compelling . . . Slow reveals and dramatic twists proliferate.”—Booklist Look for special features inside. Join the Random House Reader’s Circle for author chats and more. From the Trade Paperback edition.
Fiction

The Mill River Recluse

Author: Darcie Chan

Publisher: Hachette UK

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 400

View: 424

Disfigured by the blow of an abusive husband, the widow Mary McAllister has spent almost sixty years secluded in a white marble mansion overlooking the town of Mill River, Vermont. Her links to the outside world are few: the mail, an elderly priest, and a bedroom window with a view of the town below. Most longtime residents of Mill River consider the marble house and its occupant peculiar, and few of them have ever seen Mary. But three newcomers - a police officer and his daughter and a new schoolteacher - are curious about the reclusive old woman. Only the town priest truly knows the Mill River recluse, and the secret she keeps . . . a secret that, once revealed, will change the town, and the lives of its residents, forever. In the tradition of Kim Edwards (The Memory Keeper's Daughter, The Lake of Dreams), The Mill River Recluse is a story of triumph over tragedy, one that reminds us of the value of friendship and the mysterious ways that love can come from the most unexpected places.
Fiction

The Promise of Home

Author: Darcie Chan

Publisher: Ballantine Books

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 416

View: 388

Writing in the tradition of Jan Karon and Maeve Binchy, New York Times bestselling author Darcie Chan returns readers to Mill River, the charming town whose residents experience surprises and sorrows, witness acts of goodwill and kindness, embrace family love and friendship—and uncover age-old secrets and heartaches. These days, Mill River, Vermont, is a hive of activity. Karen Cooper bids farewell to her husband, Nick, as he leaves for Saudi Arabia to work as a contractor. But when he goes missing, Karen turns to beloved nonagenarian Father O’Brien for counsel. Kyle Hansen and Claudia Simon blissfully prepare for their wedding—until a new acquaintance threatens their romance. Emily DiSanti, haunted by a tragedy that tore her world apart a decade ago, is renovating the old McAllister mansion, eager to restore its former beauty and to find peace in the intense workload. All these lives—and the lives of others in this small town—move forward, bump up against one another, and intertwine. And when a cache of letters is discovered, a powerful and unexpected secret comes to light—one rooted deeply in the childhood of the longtime priest who has touched the lives of everyone in Mill River. Praise for The Promise of Home “Chan has once again told a mesmerizing tale about how difficult yet beautiful navigating the river of life can be. This author is, quite simply, an amazing storyteller.”—Fredericksburg Free Lance–Star “Difficult to put down . . . [a] celebration of the healing power of community.”—Booklist “Who better to satisfy [summer] reader cravings than Darcie Chan. . . . Read on—and keep turning those pages [until you] find yourself looking forward to Darcie Chan’s next novel. Whew.”—Hudson Valley News “This serene backdrop is the perfect juxtaposition to the internal turmoil of Karen Cooper. Together the townsfolk make a well-rounded novel full of desperation, hope and redemption. This is a beautiful addition to the Mill River series, yet also reads well as a stand-alone novel.”—RT Book Reviews “[A] layered and heartwarming novel that intertwines a number of engaging contemporary storylines and intersperses them with . . . fascinating insights and historical details along the way. A light-handed affirmation of the power of love, faith, and community.”—Kirkus Reviews Look for special features inside. Join the Random House Reader’s Circle for author chats and more.
Comics & Graphic Novels

THE WEDDING GARDEN

Author: Linda Goodnight

Publisher: Harlequin / SB Creative

ISBN:

Category: Comics & Graphic Novels

Page:

View: 774

Annie, a nurse, runs into her onetime lover Sloan, who vanished twelve years ago, at work. He’s there to see her sick aunt. He used to be a rebel, but now he’s a handsome man who runs a successful business. Annie, who always dreamed of marrying Sloan in a beautiful garden, is itching to know why he left town without a word all those years ago, but she has her own secret to keep…?
Fiction

Finding Her Way Home

Author: Linda Goodnight

Publisher: Steeple Hill

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 224

View: 769

Welcome To Redemption, Oklahoma The idyllic little town Cheyenne Rhodes has chosen for her fresh start is almost too welcoming. After all, she's come here to hide from her past—not to make new friends. But single dad Trace Bowman isn't about to let Cheyenne hide away her heart. He can't ignore the special way she has with his daughter, Zoey— or how she's reminded him of the power of real love. Now he needs to convince Cheyenne that Redemption is more than a place to hide—it's also a way to be found….
Fiction

Current River Redemption

Author: Carol June Stover

Publisher: Publishamerica Incorporated

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 204

View: 875

Fifteen-year-old Amy Blackwell leads a lonely life that's hard to endure. It's 1917 in rural Arkansas, and she's being raised by her strict grandfather, a Bible-thumping preacher and his sinister wife whom town folks call "nuts." Their pious demands doom her to guilt-ridden failure and "thou shalt" hypocrisy, and a dark family secret rules their home. Amy struggles to keep up a smiling facade. When all efforts to please her grandparents fall short, she plots to run away with her sister. Instead, her teenage passion prevails and she marries at sixteen to leave home. Amy's journey is exciting at first, but turns sobering with a string of calamities -- including death and disease. Even worse, now she's trapped by the high expectations of two families. When her grandmother's dark secret unravels, Amy is devastated but must find the strength to go on. With determination that most adults couldn't muster, she brings love and hope back into her life.
Etats du Sud (Etats-Unis)

The South's Redemption

Author: Richard Hathaway Edmonds

Publisher:

ISBN:

Category: Etats du Sud (Etats-Unis)

Page: 63

View: 655

Fiction

The Boat to Redemption

Author: Su Tong

Publisher: Random House

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 480

View: 295

Disgraced Secretary Ku has been banished from the Party - it has been officially proved he does not have a fish-shaped birthmark on his bottom and is therefore not the son of a revolutionary martyr, but the issue of a river pirate and a prostitute. Mocked by the citizens of Milltown, Secretary Ku leaves the shore for a new life among the boat people on a fleet of industrial barges. Refusing to renounce his high status, he maintains a distance - with Dongliang, his teenage son - from the gossipy lowlifes who surround him. One day a feral little girl, Huixian, arrives looking for her mother, who has jumped to her death in the river. The boat people, and especially Dongliang, take her to their hearts. But Huixian sows conflict wherever she goes, and soon Dongliang is in the grip of an obsession for her. He takes on Life, Fate and the Party in the only way he knows . . .
Agriculture

Report

Author: Queensland. Department of Agriculture and Stock

Publisher:

ISBN:

Category: Agriculture

Page:

View: 566

Law reports, digests, etc

Connecticut Reports

Author: Connecticut. Supreme Court

Publisher:

ISBN:

Category: Law reports, digests, etc

Page:

View: 700

Law reports, digests, etc

Massachusetts Reports

Author: Massachusetts. Supreme Judicial Court

Publisher:

ISBN:

Category: Law reports, digests, etc

Page:

View: 114

Law reports, digests, etc

Connecticut Reports

Author: Connecticut. Supreme Court of Errors

Publisher:

ISBN:

Category: Law reports, digests, etc

Page:

View: 506