Fiction

The Mothers of Lovely Lane

Author: Nadine Dorries

Publisher: Head of Zeus Ltd

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 400

View: 728

A heartbreaking novel from the bestselling author of The Four Streets. Noleen Delaney is one of an army of night cleaners at St Angelus Hospital. Son Finn has done something unheard-of and passed his Eleven Plus exam. How on earth will they pay for his books, his grammar school uniform and shoes? Bronia Ryan has battled depression since her husband died and now one of her sons is in prison. Her youngest, Lorcan, wants no part of a life of crime, but how can he ever escape? Or protect his mother from her vicious eldest son? As usual, St Angelus is at the heart of things. Life and death, love and loss, jealousies, rivalries and betrayals are woven into a rich tapestry in Nadine's great series about poverty, sacrifice and community spirit in post-war Liverpool and the early days of the NHS. Can't wait for the next one? CHRISTMAS ANGELS is out now! What people are saying about THE MOTHERS OF LOVELY LANE: 'I have loved this series from the first book, and with each new book, I was never disappointed' 'So many powerful characters, especially the women' 'Good stories, believable characters that make you sad, happy and hopeful for them' 'Nadine Dorries has done it again - had me gripped from page one'
Fiction

The Children of Lovely Lane

Author: Nadine Dorries

Publisher: Head of Zeus Ltd

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 400

View: 188

The second gripping novel in the Lovely Lane series, from bestselling author Nadine Dorries. Perfect for fans of Dilly Court and Catherine Cookson. The nurses of Lovely Lane – Dana, Victoria, Pammy and Beth – are now in their second year and are about to face some truly harrowing and difficult times on the wards. St Angelus needs a new assistant matron, but the members of the Liverpool District Hospital Board have overruled Emily Haycock and Dr Gaskell in their choice. Enter the mysterious Miss Van Gilder from somewhere down south. The life of St Angelus is soon disrupted as her proposals turn the running of the hospital upside down and threaten the jobs of the domestics and porters. But Miss Van Gilder harbours a dark and dishonest secret, and the staff – who are used to looking after their own – set out to uncover it. Will they do so in time, before her meddling begins to affect the morale of the nurses and put the lives of their patients in danger? For one very sick little boy, especially, it will be touch and go. Can't wait for the next one? THE MOTHERS OF LOVELY LANE is out now! What people are saying about THE CHILDREN OF LOVELY LANE: 'Another fantastic book in this amazing series!' 'Nadine Dorries is fast becoming my favourite author. Once I start reading, her books are difficult to put down' 'So well written and the story line always keeps you wondering' 'There is nothing better than reading a Nadine Dorries book'
Fiction

The Lovely Lane Box Set

Author: Nadine Dorries

Publisher: Head of Zeus Ltd

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 992

View: 461

The first three heartbreaking Lovely Lane novels collected in one perfect box set, by bestselling author Nadine Dorries. Life and death, love and loss, jealousies, rivalries and betrayals are woven into a rich tapestry in Nadine's great series about poverty, sacrifice and community spirit in post-war Liverpool and the early days of the NHS. THE ANGELS OF LOVELY LANE. It is 1953 and five very different girls arrive at the nurses' home in Lovely Lane, Liverpool, to start their training at St Angelus Hospital. THE CHILDREN OF LOVELY LANE. The nurses of Lovely Lane are now in their second year and are about to face some truly harrowing times on the wards. THE MOTHERS OF LOVELY LANE. Bronia Ryan has battled depression since her husband died. Now one of her sons is in prison. Her youngest, Lorcan, is trying to escape a life of crime. As usual, St Angelus is at the heart of things.
Religion

From Meetinghouse to Megachurch

Author: Anne C. Loveland

Publisher: University of Missouri Press

ISBN:

Category: Religion

Page: 307

View: 243

"The authors begin by focusing on the meetinghouses of the Protestant dissenters of the seventeenth and early eighteenth centuries and the revival structures used by itinerant evangelists in the antebellum period. They proceed to the urban auditorium churches created by evangelicals during the nineteenth and early twentieth centuries: the gospel tents, tabernacles, and temples built by fundamentalists, holiness people, and pentecostals in the late nineteenth and early twentieth centuries: and even the modern churches constructed by liberal, mainline Protestants during the mid-twentieth century." "Illustrated with more than 150 images, From Meetinghouse to Megachurch fills a significant gap in the historiography of evangelical religion in the United States. Church leaders, students of cultural and material history, church architects, or anyone interested in evangelism will find this book of great value."--BOOK JACKET.
Art

Maryland history in prints, 1743-1900

Author: Laura Rice

Publisher:

ISBN:

Category: Art

Page: 404

View: 905

A stunning visual accompaniment to the history of the state with 330 full color reproductions from the glory days of Maryland printmaking, with accompanying essays.
Fiction

Christmas Angels

Author: Nadine Dorries

Publisher: Head of Zeus Ltd

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 400

View: 139

The perfect read for Christmas 2018, from bestselling author Nadine Dorries. 1950s Liverpool. Christmas is the most harrowing time of year for the nurses of St Angelus Hospital. A brilliant nurse secretly battling a fatal illness over Christmas... A starving baby boy abandoned in the freezing cold... A cruel, controlling mother, determined to block her daughter's nursing career at all costs... In the run up to Christmas, nurses Pammy and Beth are aiming to win the coveted national decorating competition for the St Angelus children's ward, but drama after drama threatens to upset their plans. Amid the hardship and poverty of 1950s Liverpool, only the humour and community spirit of nurses and patients will get the Angels through their toughest Christmas yet. What people are saying about CHRISTMAS ANGELS: 'It had everything from laughing out moments, to those times where tears were not far away' 'Nadine Dorries is an excellent story teller and her characters are so well written... Not many authors have that effect on me' 'I have enjoyed all The Lovely Lane series so far but for me this is the best one yet' 'In my opinion she can do no wrong and this latest book is just wonderful, such a heart warming story!'
Architecture

Houses of God

Author: Peter W. Williams

Publisher:

ISBN:

Category: Architecture

Page: 321

View: 827

Houses of God is a fascinating look at how Americans shape their places of worship into multifaceted reflections of their culture, beliefs, and times. Peter Williams divides the nation into seven distinctive regions - New England, the Mid-Atlantic states, the South, the Old Northwest, the Great Plains and Mountains, the Spanish Borderlands, and the Pacific Rim - and traces the historical development of and geographic influences on religious building in each. Beautifully illustrated with over 100 photographs - some by extremely well known photographers such as Walker Evans and Dorothea Lange - this handsome book is the first to provide a broad survey of American religious architecture. It is a deeply interdisciplinary study in which Williams examines the influences of immigration and internal population movements; landscape and stylistic changes in architecture; and "secular, " liturgical, and theological influences. Accessible to the general reader as well as to the scholar, this volume will be welcomed by students of American social history, religion, and American studies, as well as by travelers and those who find religious architecture fascinating.
Reference

Religious sites in America

Author: Mary Ellen Snodgrass

Publisher: Abc-Clio Inc

ISBN:

Category: Reference

Page: 508

View: 978

Lists religious centers and holy places throughout the United States, giving location, origin, history, size, accessibility, purpose, and influence, and covers beliefs ranging from Native American religions to modern evangelism.