Fiction

The Mothers of Lovely Lane

Author: Nadine Dorries

Publisher: Head of Zeus Ltd

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 400

View: 699

A heartbreaking novel from the bestselling author of The Four Streets. Noleen Delaney is one of an army of night cleaners at St Angelus Hospital. Son Finn has done something unheard-of and passed his Eleven Plus exam. How on earth will they pay for his books, his grammar school uniform and shoes? Bronia Ryan has battled depression since her husband died and now one of her sons is in prison. Her youngest, Lorcan, wants no part of a life of crime, but how can he ever escape? Or protect his mother from her vicious eldest son? As usual, St Angelus is at the heart of things. Life and death, love and loss, jealousies, rivalries and betrayals are woven into a rich tapestry in Nadine's great series about poverty, sacrifice and community spirit in post-war Liverpool and the early days of the NHS. Can't wait for the next one? CHRISTMAS ANGELS is out now! What people are saying about THE MOTHERS OF LOVELY LANE: 'I have loved this series from the first book, and with each new book, I was never disappointed' 'So many powerful characters, especially the women' 'Good stories, believable characters that make you sad, happy and hopeful for them' 'Nadine Dorries has done it again - had me gripped from page one'
Fiction

The Children of Lovely Lane

Author: Nadine Dorries

Publisher: Head of Zeus Ltd

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 400

View: 215

The second gripping novel in the Lovely Lane series, from bestselling author Nadine Dorries. Perfect for fans of Dilly Court and Catherine Cookson. The nurses of Lovely Lane – Dana, Victoria, Pammy and Beth – are now in their second year and are about to face some truly harrowing and difficult times on the wards. St Angelus needs a new assistant matron, but the members of the Liverpool District Hospital Board have overruled Emily Haycock and Dr Gaskell in their choice. Enter the mysterious Miss Van Gilder from somewhere down south. The life of St Angelus is soon disrupted as her proposals turn the running of the hospital upside down and threaten the jobs of the domestics and porters. But Miss Van Gilder harbours a dark and dishonest secret, and the staff – who are used to looking after their own – set out to uncover it. Will they do so in time, before her meddling begins to affect the morale of the nurses and put the lives of their patients in danger? For one very sick little boy, especially, it will be touch and go. Can't wait for the next one? THE MOTHERS OF LOVELY LANE is out now! What people are saying about THE CHILDREN OF LOVELY LANE: 'Another fantastic book in this amazing series!' 'Nadine Dorries is fast becoming my favourite author. Once I start reading, her books are difficult to put down' 'So well written and the story line always keeps you wondering' 'There is nothing better than reading a Nadine Dorries book'
Fiction

The Lovely Lane Box Set

Author: Nadine Dorries

Publisher: Head of Zeus Ltd

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 992

View: 210

The first three heartbreaking Lovely Lane novels collected in one perfect box set, by bestselling author Nadine Dorries. Life and death, love and loss, jealousies, rivalries and betrayals are woven into a rich tapestry in Nadine's great series about poverty, sacrifice and community spirit in post-war Liverpool and the early days of the NHS. THE ANGELS OF LOVELY LANE. It is 1953 and five very different girls arrive at the nurses' home in Lovely Lane, Liverpool, to start their training at St Angelus Hospital. THE CHILDREN OF LOVELY LANE. The nurses of Lovely Lane are now in their second year and are about to face some truly harrowing times on the wards. THE MOTHERS OF LOVELY LANE. Bronia Ryan has battled depression since her husband died. Now one of her sons is in prison. Her youngest, Lorcan, is trying to escape a life of crime. As usual, St Angelus is at the heart of things.
Fiction

Snow Angels

Author: Nadine Dorries

Publisher: Head of Zeus Ltd

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 336

View: 618

Spend Christmas with the nurses of St Angelus Hospital. Christmas is coming, but will the doctors and nurses of St Angelus get a chance to enjoy it? Sister Emily Haycock and her husband are anxiously counting the days until the signing of final adoption papers for their precious baby Louis. But someone has got it in for them and Emily is about to get caught out in a dangerous lie. Nurse Victoria Baker is heavily pregnant. But as the snow begins to fall, has she made a big mistake about her dates and put the life of her unborn baby at risk? And who is the figure obsessively watching St Angelus from the shadows? Or the mystery woman who turns up one dark, windy evening, begging for a room? In Snow Angels only one thing is certain. Christmas will be anything but peaceful. Praise for the Lovely Lane series: 'As heart-warming as it is heartbreaking' Sunday Express. 'I adore the Lovely Lane series ... Some parts will bring a tear to the eye. Others will have you laughing' Rachel Bustin. 'A heartbreaking, poignant and emotional read which will stay in your heart for a very, very long time' The Writing Garnet. 'Fabulous characters ... Gorgeous sentences and sensational plotlines' With Love for Books. 'Moving, lovely historical fiction ... Absolutely beautiful' On My Bookshelf. 'Simply amazing. It will warm your heart and make you see the real angels in the world. Captivating, phenomenal and touching' 23 Review Street.
Fiction

The Angels of Lovely Lane

Author: Nadine Dorries

Publisher: Head of Zeus

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 352

View: 675

'As heart-warming as it is heartbreaking, this novel is unputdownable' Sunday Express. It is 1953 and five very different girls are arriving at the nurses' home in Lovely Lane, Liverpool, to start their training at St Angelus Hospital. Dana has escaped from her family farm on the west coast of Ireland. Victoria is running away from a debt-ridden aristocratic background. Beth is an army brat and throws her lot in with bitchy Celia Forsyth. And Pammy has come from quite the wrong side of the tracks in Liverpool. The world in which they now find themselves is complicated and hierarchical, with rules that must be obeyed. Everyone has their place at St Angelus and woe betide anyone who strays from it. But when an unknown girl is admitted, after a botched late abortion in a backstreet kitchen, a tragedy begins to unfold which will rock the world of St Angelus to its foundations. Can't wait for the next one? THE CHILDREN OF LOVELY LANE is out now! What people are saying about THE ANGELS OF LOVELY LANE: 'Nadine Dorries's writing is sparkling and vibrant, her books are a joy to read' 'The book was like a dream – difficult to put down' 'You feel as if you know the characters personally!' 'Enthralling read, can't wait to read more'

LIFE

Author:

Publisher:

ISBN:

Category:

Page: 140

View: 326

LIFE Magazine is the treasured photographic magazine that chronicled the 20th Century. It now lives on at LIFE.com, the largest, most amazing collection of professional photography on the internet. Users can browse, search and view photos of today’s people and events. They have free access to share, print and post images for personal use.

The Testament of Mariam

Author: Ann Swinfen

Publisher: Ann Swinfen

ISBN:

Category:

Page: 322

View: 883

Who is Mariam? Her family in Roman Gaul know her only as a refugee from far-off Judah, without other relatives or friends. For more than thirty years Mariam has herself turned her back on the past, but now a series of events forces her to confront it. In her final illness, that past begins to haunt her, as she looks back on a youth and early adulthood during the turbulent events of the first century ad under Roman occupation, and amongst a people who refused to accept the yoke of the Empire. Born in the north of Judah, in the rebellious territory known as the Galilee, Mariam grows up in a hard-working peasant community, mutinous, impatient, unwilling to accept the traditional role of women in her society. Running away from home - against all conventions and propriety - to follow her charismatic brother Yeshua and his best friend Yehuda, Mariam shares in the excitement, the fear and the mystery, but at the last witnesses the apparent betrayal of the one and the tragic and brutal death of the other.