Fiction

The Palace Of Tears

Author: Alev Croutier

Publisher: Random House

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 192

View: 202

'This is an enchanting tale of love: a man dreams of a woman, while she dreams of a man who is dreaming of her...Soft and poetic, like music in a Turkish garden' ISABEL ALLENDE On a golden autumn afternoon in Paris, Casimir de Châteauneuf, a successful vintner, wanders through the hollow arcades of the Palais Royal. He stops to browse in an Oriental shop, and past the hookahs, turbans and daggers his eyes are drawn to a miniature portrait of an enchanting woman, skin like ivory, with one eye blue and one yellow. That night, the painting by his bedside, Casimir dreams he is lost in a city of domes and slim minarets. Alone in a shadowy courtyard a woman sits sobbing, her tears filling an empty fountain. A man possessed, Casimir abandons his wife, family, country, everything, to journey across the sea and desert in search of his vision, a journey that finally leads him to Constantinople. As East meets West, two people whose worlds are impossibly far apart are destined to meet and discover a love beyond even their wildest dreams. 'A tale of dreams, magic, forbidden passion and enchantment in 1860s Istanbul. Setting her story in this ancient city of mystery and secrets allows Croutier to explore the inexplicable rules of love with language as rich and evocative as frankincense. Each chapter glows like a precious jewel' WASHINGTON POST BOOK WORLD
Fiction

Palace of Tears

Author: Julian Leatherdale

Publisher:

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 560

View: 655

A sweltering summer's day, January 1914: the charismatic and ruthless Adam Fox throws a lavish birthday party for his son and heir at his elegant clifftop hotel in the Blue Mountains. Everyone is invited except Angie, the girl from the cottage next door. The day will end in tragedy, a punishment for a family's secrets and lies. In 2013, Fox's granddaughter Lisa, seeks the truth about the past. Who is this Angie her mother speaks of: "the girl who broke all our hearts?" Why do locals call Fox's hotel the "palace of tears?" Behind the grandeur and glamour of its famous guests and glittering parties, Lisa discovers a hidden history of passion and revenge, loyalty and love. A grand piano burns in the night, a seance promises death or forgiveness, a fire rages in a snowstorm, a painter's final masterpiece inspires betrayal, a child is given away. With twist upon twist, this lush, strange mystery withholds its shocking truth to the very end.
Fiction

Palace of Tears

Author: Anna King

Publisher: Canelo

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 300

View: 157

Can love survive the ravages of war? When Emily Ford’s kindly employers decide to escape the Zeppelin raids that bedevil Hackney in 1916, the pretty housemaid is delighted to return to her parents for an unexpected break. But the holiday proves anything but peaceful. If finding her mother Nellie in hospital after a savage beating from her husband wasn’t enough, Emily’s plight deepens when she yields to the advances of Tommy, a young soldier, and becomes pregnant with his child. Not for nothing is Victoria station nicknamed the ‘palace of tears’. As trainloads of men leave for the Western Front, and Emily says goodbye to Tommy, she is left contemplating the life of a single mother. Yet amidst the devastation, happiness still lies within her grasp... A classic saga of World War One, Palace of Tears is a perfect read for fans of Carol Rivers, Sally Warboyes, and Annie Murray.
Fiction

The Palace of Tears

Author: Alev Lytle Croutier

Publisher: Dell Publishing Company

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 171

View: 422

In 1868 Paris, Casimir de ChGteauneuf, a successful vinter, becomes obsessed with a disturbing but beautiful dream and begins to search for the woman from his subconscious whose eyes captured his heart. 25,000 first printing.
Fiction

Stone of Tears

Author: Terry Goodkind

Publisher: RosettaBooks

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 996

View: 380

The Seeker of Truth embarks on his perilous training in wizardry in the 2nd novel of the #1 New York Timesbestselling author’s epic fantasy series. In Wizard’s First Rule, forest guide Richard Cypher becomes a Seeker of Truth in order to defeat the tyrannical Wizard Darken Rahl—only to discover that he is in fact Darken’s son. Now, with Darken vanquished, Richard and the beautiful Kahlan Amnell head back to the Mud People to be married. But their adventures are far from over. As the wedding day approaches, Richard is visited by three Sisters of Light who insist on bringing him to the Palace of the Prophets to be trained as a Wizard. Meanwhile, the veil to the underworld has been torn, and the Stone of Tears has passed through. According to prophecy, the only person who has a chance at closing the veil is the one bonded to the blade, the one born true.

A Queen of Tears: Caroline Matilda, Queen of Denmark and Norway and Princess of Great Britain and Ireland (Complete)

Author: William Henry Wilkins

Publisher: Library of Alexandria

ISBN:

Category:

Page: 355

View: 698

Caroline Matilda, Queen of Denmark and Norway, Princess of Great Britain and Ireland (a sister of George III.), was born at Leicester House, London, on Thursday, July 22, 1751. She was the ninth and youngest child of Frederick Prince of Wales and of his wife Augusta of Saxe-Gotha, and came into the world a little more than four months after her father’s death. There is a Scandinavian superstition to the effect that children born fatherless are heirs to misfortune. The life of this “Queen of Tears” would seem to illustrate its truth. Caroline Matilda inherited many of her father’s qualities, notably his warm, emotional temperament, his desire to please and his open-handed liberality. Both in appearance and disposition she resembled her father much more than her mother. Some account of this Prince is therefore necessary for a right understanding of his daughter’s character, for, though she was born after his death, the silent forces of heredity influenced her life. Frederick Prince of Wales was the elder son of George II. and of his consort Caroline of Ansbach. He was born in Hanover during the reign of Queen Anne, when the prospects of his family to succeed to the crown of England were doubtful, and he did not come to England until he was in his twenty-second year and his father had reigned two years. He came against the will of the King and Queen, whose cherished wish was that their younger son William Duke of Cumberland should succeed to the English throne, and the elder remain in Hanover. The unkindness with which Frederick was treated by his father had the effect of driving him into opposition to the court and the government. He had inherited from his mother many of the graces that go to captivate the multitude, and he soon became popular. Every cast-off minister, every discontented politician, sought the Prince of Wales, and found in him a ready weapon to harass the government and wound the King. The Prince had undoubted grievances, such as his restricted allowance and the postponement of his marriage to a suitable princess. For some years after Frederick’s arrival in England the King managed to evade the question of the marriage, but at last, owing chiefly to the clamour of the opposition, he reluctantly arranged a match between the Prince of Wales and Augusta, daughter of the reigning Duke of Saxe-Gotha.
Juvenile Fiction

The Palace of Glass

Author: Django Wexler

Publisher: Random House

ISBN:

Category: Juvenile Fiction

Page: 368

View: 822

For Alice, danger threatens from inside the library as well as out. Having figured out the role her master and uncle, Geryon, played in her father's disappearance, Alice turns to Ending – the mysterious, magical giant feline and guardian of Geryon's library – for a spell to incapacitate Geryon. But, like all cats, Ending is adept at keeping secrets and Alice doesn't know the whole story. Once she traps Geryon with Ending's spell, there's no one to stop the other Readers from sending their apprentices to pillage Geryon's library. As Alice prepares to face an impending attack from the combined might of the Readers, she gathers what forces she can – the apprentices she once thought might be her friends, the magical creatures imprisoned in Geryon's library – not knowing who, if anyone, she can trust.
Fiction

The Fountain of Tears

Author: Stephanie De Montalk

Publisher: Victoria University Press

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 240

View: 524

1821. Alexander Pushkin is in exile in Bessarabia, Russia. Restless and depressed, he is spending a month in Odessa on leave. He recalls a visit, the previous year, to the palace of the Tatar khans where he saw a Fountain of Tears: a khan's monument to Maria Potocka, a Polish countess who died before he could persuade her to love him, and to the khan's own perpetual grief. Pushkin will soon immortalise Maria, the khan and the Fountain of Tears in his poema. The interwoven stories of the captive countess and the exiled poet take place on a day in Bakhchisary and Odessa respectively.
Fiction

Arabian Nights' Entertainments

Author: Robert L. Mack

Publisher: Oxford University Press

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 976

View: 608

The stories contained in this "store house of ingenious fiction" initiate a pattern of literary reference and influence which today remains as powerful and intense as it was throughout the eighteenth and nineteenth centuries. Sinbad, Ali Baba, Aladdin: all make their appearance here. This edition reproduces in its entirety the earliest English translation of the French orientalist Antoine Galland's Mille et une Nuits (1001 Nights), which remained for over a century the only English translation of the story cycle, influencing an incalculable number of writers. In addition, it offers the complete text or the tales supplemented by extensive explanatory notes and plot summaries, which are particularly vital as these expansive stories are complex and interwoven. About the Series: For over 100 years Oxford World's Classics has made available the broadest spectrum of literature from around the globe. Each affordable volume reflects Oxford's commitment to scholarship, providing the most accurate text plus a wealth of other valuable features, including expert introductions by leading authorities, voluminous notes to clarify the text, up-to-date bibliographies for further study, and much more.
Fiction

The Story of the Stone: The Debt of Tears

Author: Cao Xueqin

Publisher: Penguin UK

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 400

View: 256

The Story of the Stone (c. 1760), also known by the title of The Dream of the Red Chamber, is the great novel of manners in Chinese literature. Divided into five volumes, of which The Debt of Tears is the fourth, it charts the glory and decline of the illustrious Jia family (a story which closely accords with the fortunes of the author's own family). The two main characters, Bao-yu and Dai-yu, are set against a rich tapestry of humour, realistic detail and delicate poetry, which accurately reflects the ritualized hurly-burly of Chinese family life. But over and above the novel hangs the constant reminder that there is another plane of existence - a theme which affirms the Buddhist belief in a supernatural scheme of things.