Humor

The Perfect Man

Author: Dean Buckhorn

Publisher: Andrews McMeel Publishing

ISBN:

Category: Humor

Page: 96

View: 881

Just when women were ready to give up on their collective quest for the perfect man, he surfaced in 1989. That year, The Perfect Man began as a successful poster series. Since then it's grown into a megasuccessful, multiproduct franchise that has sprung everything from mugs, key chains, and stickers to T-shirts, calendars, cookies, and now, for the first time, a hardcover book. This hilarious 96-page book features clever full-color photos topped with three surefire reasons why the man pictured is "the perfect man." "He's quiet. He's sweet. And if he gives you any grief, you can bite his head off." The Perfect Man-a gingerbread man. "He's young. He's cute. And he'll always come crawling back to you." This Perfect Man? Why, a baby, of course. "He's tall. He's thin. And if a cuter guy comes along, you can always leave him hanging." He's a hangman stick figure, alias the Perfect Man.
Fiction

The Perfect Man

Author: Naeem Murr

Publisher: Random House

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 468

View: 804

Winner of the Commonwealth Writers' Prize for Europe and South Asia. Winner of the 2008 PEN Beyond Margins Award. Identity, friendship, and a long-hidden crime lie at the heart of Naeem Murr’s captivating novel about five friends growing up in a small 1950s Missouri river town. A contender for the Man Booker Prize, this exhilarating story beautifully evokes the extreme joys, as well as the dark and shameful desires, of childhood. Young Rajiv Travers hasn’t had much luck fitting in anywhere. Born to an Indian mother who was sold to his English father for £20, Raj is abandoned by his relatives into the reluctant care of Ruth, an American romance writer living in Pisgah, Missouri. While his skin color unsettles most of the townsfolk, who are used to seeing things in black and white, the quick-witted Raj soon finds his place among a group of children his own age. While the friends remain loyal to one another through the years, it becomes clear that their paths will veer in markedly different directions. But breaking free of the demands of their families and their community, as well as one another, comes at a devastating price: As the chilling secrets of Pisgah’s residents surface, the madness that erupts will cost Raj his closest friend even as it offers him the life he always dreamed of. Taking us into the intimate life of small-town America, The Perfect Man explores both the power of the secrets that shape us and the capacity of love in all its guises to heal even the most damaged of souls.
Fiction

The Perfect Man

Author: Sheila O'Flanagan

Publisher: Hachette UK

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 300

View: 790

A captivating novel about family ties, romance and leaving the past behind - THE PERFECT MAN by No. 1 bestselling author Sheila O'Flangan. A perfect read for fans of Fern Britton and Veronica Henry. Brit doesn't believe in love. One painful mistake was all it took. So she's as surprised as anyone when her novel THE PERFECT MAN becomes a huge bestseller - how did she manage to write so convincingly about love if she really thinks it's a myth? Heartbreak has never stopped her sister Mia from being a hopeless romantic. She can't be with the love of her life, but she's never stopped hoping. They both need to let go of the past to stand a chance of being happy in the future. Could a Caribbean cruise be just what they need to open their hearts? What readers are saying about The Perfect Man: 'A soul-bearing story. Beautifully written as always. Two very different sisters at similar points in their lives' Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars 'A great read. The characters really came to life and I enjoyed it from start to finish. Excellent!' Amazon reviewer, 5 stars 'I absolutely loved it - the cover, the writing, the characters - it was all fabulous. It reads like a dream and you could imagine all of the beautiful locations described. I wholly recommend it!' Amazon reviewer, 5 stars
Fiction

The Perfect Man

Author: Lynn Dare

Publisher: Michelle MacQueen

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 300

View: 334

Welcome to Cape Kismet, where the neighbors are nosy, the bookstores offer an escape, and epic romances abound. A hot date? Try Five. Every time a perfect man shows up at my door, I swoon the proper amount and do my best not to stare at his chiseled features and firm… jaw. Yes, definitely his jaw. But I, Ellie Amore, have a problem. It’s big, gigantic, and not in the good way. None of these men are real. And that version of me? More fake than an author calling herself classy while drinking boxed wine in her yoga pants. Me, that author is me. I dream of hot men. Perfect men. Fictional men. These men go into my books, and it’s all I need for my messy cat-lady-living-above-a-bookstore life. Really. I don’t need my brother’s best friend checking up on me. The man who brings me tacos. The one who is decidedly not perfect—as his enemy cat would tell you—but somehow might just be perfect for me. I’m not sure how it all started or when he decided I was more than a favor to his friend. All I know is Cruz is not a man from my dreams. This time, it’s different. This time, he’s real. The Perfect Man is book one in the Perfect Man romantic comedy series. Dive in for plenty of swoons, lots of laughs, and a guaranteed HEA ending. ---- Similar Authors: Sophie Kinsella, Emma Hart, Lillian Monroe, Lauren Blakely, Meghan Quinn, Claire, Kingsley, Emma St. Clair, Avery Flynn Keywords: Small town romance, romantic comedy, best friends to lovers, brother's best friend, sweet romance books
Fiction

The Perfect Man

Author: Carla Fredd

Publisher: Kimani Press

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 256

View: 856

Alexandria, Renee and Danielle are three very different women with one thing in common: their late husband! Even a woman blessed with a genius IQ can make a dumb mistake, and for Renee Foster, marrying Marc was exactly that. Although she's eager to forget her past, first Renee needs Marc's brother, FBI agent Chris Foster, to help her locate a missing necklace. It seems like a simple plan, yet Renee soon realizes that nothing about Chris is simple. Unlike other men, he's not intimidated by her intelligence, and he sees past her aloof manner to the home-loving, passionate person she truly is. But Chris refuses to settle down—and Renee won't settle for less than she needs, even if that means walking away from the perfect man.…
Biography & Autobiography

The Perfect Man

Author: David Waller

Publisher: Victorian Secrets

ISBN:

Category: Biography & Autobiography

Page: 283

View: 968

Eugen Sandow (1867-1925) was a Victorian strongman who was colossally famous in his day and possessed what was deemed to be the most perfect male body. He rose from obscurity in Prussia to become a music-hall sensation in late Victorian London, going on to great success as a performer in North America and throughout the British Empire. He was a friend to King Edward VII and was appointed Professor of Physical Culture to King George V. His physical culture system was adopted by hundreds of thousands around the world. He lost his fortune at the time of the First World War and he ended up being buried in an unmarked grave in Putney Vale Cemetery. There is lively interest in him on the web where his dumbells or chest-extenders sell for hundreds of pounds and an autographed photograph for thousands. Written with humour and insight into the popular culture of late Victorian England, Waller's book argues that Sandow deserves to be resurrected as a significant cultural figure whose life, like that of Oscar Wilde, tells us a great deal about sexuality and celebrity at the fin de siecle.
Self-Help

The Perfect, Man Handbook

Author: Paul M. Onischuk

Publisher: AuthorHouse

ISBN:

Category: Self-Help

Page: 188

View: 243

Although there is no such thing as a perfect man, significant benefits are to be realized by defining and subsequently emulating such person (even to the slightest extent). Unfortunately, such effort has not yet been successfully achieved; while men’s behavior continues to vary wildly. The Perfect, Man Handbook addresses this concern by defining such individual as kind, confident, strong, ambitious (not to acquire or achieve more personally but for the benefit of others), and accommodating. Further, by mapping such characteristics according to what men are comprised of (i.e. their disposition, their relationships, and their presence), The Perfect, Man Handbook appropriately directs men’s attention, exchanges information in a clear and easily understandable manner, and provides a ready reference. Enjoy!
Religion

THE PERFECT MAN (1913)

Author: REV. R. T. WILLIAMS

Publisher: Lulu.com

ISBN:

Category: Religion

Page: 148

View: 263

This is a classic reprint of a 1913 Christian publication (Pentecostal Church of the Nazarene). It's a broad ranging character building treatise that includes various topics, and the Contents page headings provide the following: THE PERFECT MAN, INDUSTRIAL LIFE, EDUCATIONAL LIFE, SOCIAL LIFE, POLITICAL LIFE, and RELIGIOUS LIFE.
Social Science

Houdini, Tarzan, and the Perfect Man

Author: John F. Kasson

Publisher: Hill and Wang

ISBN:

Category: Social Science

Page: 288

View: 987

A remarkable new work from one of our premier historians In his exciting new book, John F. Kasson examines the signs of crisis in American life a century ago, signs that new forces of modernity were affecting men's sense of who and what they really were. When the Prussian-born Eugene Sandow, an international vaudeville star and bodybuilder, toured the United States in the 1890s, Florenz Ziegfeld cannily presented him as the "Perfect Man," representing both an ancient ideal of manhood and a modern commodity extolling self-development and self-fulfillment. Then, when Edgar Rice Burroughs's Tarzan swung down a vine into the public eye in 1912, the fantasy of a perfect white Anglo-Saxon male was taken further, escaping the confines of civilization but reasserting its values, beating his chest and bellowing his triumph to the world. With Harry Houdini, the dream of escape was literally embodied in spectacular performances in which he triumphed over every kind of threat to masculine integrity -- bondage, imprisonment, insanity, and death. Kasson's liberally illustrated and persuasively argued study analyzes the themes linking these figures and places them in their rich historical and cultural context. Concern with the white male body -- with exhibiting it and with the perils to it --reached a climax in World War I, he suggests, and continues with us today.